Chevron Left
Back to Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course by Duke University

4.8
stars
1,806 ratings
464 reviews

About the Course

How can we create nano-structures that are 10,000 times smaller than the diameter of a human hair? How can we “see” at the nano-scale? Through instruction and lab demonstrations, in this course you will obtain a rich understanding of the capabilities of nanotechnology tools, and how to use this equipment for nano-scale fabrication and characterization. The nanoscale is the next frontier of the Maker culture, where designs become reality. To become a Nanotechnology Maker pioneer, we will introduce you to the practical knowledge, skills, and tools that can turn your nanotechnology ideas into physical form and that enable you to image objects at the nano-scale. This course has been developed by faculty and staff experts in nano-fabrication, electron beam microscopy, and nano-characterization through the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network (RTNN). The RTNN offers training and use of the tools demonstrated in this course to schools and industry through the United States National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure program. The tools demonstrated in this course are available to the public through the RTNN....

Top reviews

RM

May 22, 2020

Highly informative..Nan Jokerst , you are the best teacher .Amazing team work with proper theory as well as practical knowledge. I gained my interest in Nanotech. Thankyou for the wonderful sessions.

M

May 28, 2020

In my undergrad I have learned about fabrication in the VLSI course, now I have got the gest of cooking. thank you for such a course, hope I will get some further help from rtnn.org & RTNN team.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 463 Reviews for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

By Indumathy. B

Jul 04, 2020

It is very useful course for research purpose. All the classes were designed in such a manner that the student can easily understand the basic concepts . All demo classes were very useful. Thank uou for your initiative RTNN.

By Naresh A

May 03, 2020

The course was useful to get the information on Nanomaterial measurement and analysis. Process of nano Electronics fabrication like thin film deposition process, Atomic layer deposition and etching process are well explained.

By KARTHIKEYAN S

May 23, 2020

This is a great course to learn by getting virtual hands on like experience of most of the high end characterizing, depositing, lithography and etching devices. Thanks to the instructors for sharing their knowledge and labs.

By KATANGURU L

May 31, 2020

very well explained and demonstrated the techniques very clearly and wad feeling as i am in the laboratory .

thanks to all the professors for giving this wonderful oppurtunity of learning

thankyou once again

DR.Laxmi Katanguru

By Pavithra V

May 25, 2019

This course has exposed me to the various methods by which nanomaterials can be fabricated. The lectures were very intriguing and the topics were explained very clearly.

Looking forward to doing more courses like this!

By Rakesh

Jun 20, 2020

It was excellent to see most of the lectures and the practical demonstrations being conducted by female staff and students. A strong message against the STEM stereotype that we all are familiar with. Excellent work.

By Sheik M

May 13, 2020

Thanks to Prof.Nan Jokerst, Dr. Carrie Donley and Dr. Jacob Jones for making us nanomakers by explaining with all practical demo experiments in a very simple and understandable manner. Thanks to RTNN and Coursera.

By Arghavan A

Jun 22, 2020

I learned a lot. I loved Na's passion for the subject and the way she teaches and I believe that this course will help me to prepare for a job in the semiconductor industry. I just wish the forum was more active.

By Suresh B

May 05, 2020

Hi

I am teaching foundations of Nano-Electronics for Final year B.Sc. Students.

This course has enriched my knowledge in the field of Nanotechnology.

Course content is really good.Thanks to Coursera and RTNN Labs.

By Raúl M S

Aug 20, 2018

Es un curso excelente, me ha dado la oportunidad de conocer mucho de la NANOTECNOLOGIA, espero la oportunidad de continuar con estos cursos en niveles mas avanzados. Gracias por darme la oportunidad de aprender

By Piyush P J

May 11, 2020

The course is well organized with the proper demonstration of all Synthesis and characterization methods. Involvement of PhD faculty to Graduate students is very impacting.

Thank You for Organizing this course.

By Brendan U A

Jan 04, 2019

Thank you for making this course available online, I really do appreciate what you guys have done, this has really helped me a lot as such courses aren't available yet in my country, thank you all once again.

By Sabīne T

Jun 20, 2020

A very interesting and informative course about various techniques used for making/imaging nanosized structures. I learned a lot of useful information which I hope I can use in my future scientific works.

By venkataratnam k

Aug 08, 2020

It's an excellent course to learn methods used in the characterisation of nanomaterials in a practical way. My sincere thanks to all members of RTNN, NCSU who explained different concepts in the course.

By nayab a k

Feb 12, 2019

it is one the best course I have enrolled in. brief and comprehensive explanation of different techniques with demonstration. I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about nanotechnology.

By Ivan H T V

Oct 30, 2017

Es una gran experiencia, en torno a sumergirse en el mundo de la Nanotecnología. Entrando a reconocer recursos tecnológicos, procesos y metodologías que permiten generar innovaciones, por estos tiempos.

By Dr. H T

Aug 11, 2020

Anyone who is willing to learn nanotechnology must go through this course once. Great work by the Professors and others who were involved in making such content. I bow down to them.

Dr. Hansnath Tiwari.

By Shirish B

Jul 14, 2020

Prof. Nan Jokerst is an outstanding faculty. She made this course interesting and outstanding among all other faculties.

Thank You so Much Prof. Nan Jokerst Making Nanotechnology Interesting course.

By Riya m

May 22, 2020

Highly informative..Nan Jokerst , you are the best teacher .Amazing team work with proper theory as well as practical knowledge. I gained my interest in Nanotech. Thankyou for the wonderful sessions.

By Md. S I

May 28, 2020

In my undergrad I have learned about fabrication in the VLSI course, now I have got the gest of cooking. thank you for such a course, hope I will get some further help from rtnn.org & RTNN team.

By Carlos E N C

Jul 15, 2020

Great course! it gives you the basics of nanocharacterization and thin film fabrication techniques. I would have liked the course focuses not only on thin films but also on other nanosystems

By Shreya J

Jun 11, 2020

Extremely dedicated teachers!

High levels of engagement, clear explanations and high quality teaching!!

All demonstrations are well demonstrated and explained.

Truly helped a beginner like me.

By Angela S

Aug 23, 2020

Hello everyone,

I want to thank you all for giving me the opportunity to learn about nanotechnology from the best. The course was very interesting and I really enjoy it. Thank you very much!

By Ирина С

May 06, 2020

I recommend this fantastic course to everyone who is interested in nanoworld, especially to beginners, because it allows to comprehend basic processes within a short period of time. Thanks!

By Iftikhar A

Mar 07, 2020

I am very glad and much satisfied to complete this course. Actullay at this time i am not able to purchase cetificate due to financail issues but i am glad to learn much from this course.