Chevron Left
Back to Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course by Duke University

4.8
stars
2,327 ratings
595 reviews

About the Course

How can we create nano-structures that are 10,000 times smaller than the diameter of a human hair? How can we “see” at the nano-scale? Through instruction and lab demonstrations, in this course you will obtain a rich understanding of the capabilities of nanotechnology tools, and how to use this equipment for nano-scale fabrication and characterization. The nanoscale is the next frontier of the Maker culture, where designs become reality. To become a Nanotechnology Maker pioneer, we will introduce you to the practical knowledge, skills, and tools that can turn your nanotechnology ideas into physical form and that enable you to image objects at the nano-scale. This course has been developed by faculty and staff experts in nano-fabrication, electron beam microscopy, and nano-characterization through the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network (RTNN). The RTNN offers training and use of the tools demonstrated in this course to schools and industry through the United States National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure program. The tools demonstrated in this course are available to the public through the RTNN....

Top reviews

HC
Apr 4, 2021

It's a wonderful course for anybody looking to gain some good insights on Nanotechnology along with practical exposure. Nan Jokerst, you are an amazing teacher.\n\nWould highly recommend this course!

RM
May 21, 2020

Highly informative..Nan Jokerst , you are the best teacher .Amazing team work with proper theory as well as practical knowledge. I gained my interest in Nanotech. Thankyou for the wonderful sessions.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 604 Reviews for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

By Camila G

Oct 7, 2020

top

By Shafiu A

Nov 17, 2021

E

By malavika d

Sep 5, 2021

By reem j s

Jun 29, 2021

y

By Sudipto S

Jun 19, 2020

The course would be a nice start for a beginner in the field of nanofabrication. The course mostly contains very basic definitions and a rough overview of the common fabrications techniques of classrooms. However, this course does not provide any detailed theoretical background or details about the hands-on experience about the techniques. So, I would say, if you are an absolute beginner in the cleanroom, go for the course to get a very basic overview of what happens inside a cleanroom.

By María P A M

Jun 3, 2021

Excelente como presentan de forma resumida el funcionamiento de las técnicas de fabricación y caracterización de nanomateriales, mostrando lo más importante de estas y dejando muy claro como se llevan a cabo. Me gustó mucho que mostraran los equipos y los lugares donde estas se realizan, dejando más clara la idea que quieren plasmar. Es una forma muy interesante y entretenida de aprender.

By LAKSHMIPRASAD M

Nov 18, 2019

Good self - paced course. Starting with the very basics, the course takes us in - depth. Some completely alien topics may take 3 - 4 time repetition of videos for better understanding. Other than that, course is interesting with good practical demos simultaneously. Feels great to see the state of art facilities involved in fabrication of devices at such small scale. Thank you.

By Ashwin S

Apr 20, 2020

It's a very comprehensive course giving you an overview of the basics of fabrication and characterisation. It doesn't delve too deeply to be intimidating, and the delivery of content is just right, with engaging lab demonstrations to give context to theory. However, this is only an introductory course and it does a great job of you giving you a feel for the domain.

By Bibi H

Jan 14, 2020

I loved this course , this was very helpful and interesting and it is very easy to access and it was very informative and lecturers were fantastic , they covered all important topics and assignments are the best thing in this course i really enjoyed solving it and thank you to all lectures and coursera community.

By HORNG Y T

Apr 10, 2021

Very interesting course with theoretical explanation by professors followed by practical demonstrations by students. This reinforces the key messages. The variety of presenters make the videos more interesting. Some presenters are speaking a bit fast but overall i've enjoyed the course!

By Ayah h

Jul 18, 2021

the course was very and informative, its basically a general introduction to various process to produce nano-sized materials. it had given me the advantage of understanding the basics of such a complicated branch of size that is the Nano-materials. Thank you very much!

By Stephen G

Jun 18, 2018

The basic knowledge presented is a great starting point but often not much detail is provided. I would have enjoyed a more rigorous course regarding many of the topics. Once again, it was a good introduction though.

By Tan W H

Jul 9, 2020

The course provides a general overview of the different processes and equipment involved in fabricating and manipulating nanomaterials. However, the mentioning of RTNN at the end of each week is too redundant.

By Syed M B F

Mar 23, 2018

I am still confused about RTNN thing, I mean, if I am abroad how can I get access (hands on - in fact) to equipment? Otherwise the course is good with less lecture hours. Great to learn more in less time.

By Jay G

Mar 8, 2018

This Course is really useful if you want to work on characterization of material. This course give brief information of every characterization technique as well as basic information of lithography also.

By Ahmed S

Nov 7, 2018

An amazing course which gives both of the practical and theoretical parts of whatever equipment explained and gives the needed information for the usage without filling unnecessary deep concepts.

By Raja F G

Jul 24, 2020

Although basic but very interesting course. If you want to learn, revise or improve your knowledge about the Nanotechnology fabrication, you must invest some time into this course.

By Maayan F

Mar 12, 2020

High quality information. Not too deep, good for general information. Some tests are better than others, most are too simple but allow a smooth transition through the course

By ASWATHY r n

Sep 14, 2020

excellent course.This course does give a deep insight into basics as well as advanced understanding of technology used in nano-fields.Kudos to the maker's of this course

By deep t

May 29, 2020

amazing demonstration about practical usage of variety of equipment.

nano scale processes are well explained and are really interesting for new learners in this field.

By Md. R H M

Apr 17, 2020

Well outlines course. Provides a brief of the fabrication process. The best thing is direct familiarization with the lab instruments and environments.

By Manukrishna M

Jul 9, 2020

I got to know many basics about Nanotechnology from my home and had a glimpse of expensive robust and complex instruments through the demonstrations.

By Anil K

Oct 28, 2019

I was really searching for such course to understand the fabrication process. I am glad to complete this course withing 3 days with utmost interest .

By Deleted A

Feb 21, 2020

This course is overall easy to follow and well-organized. In some sections, more animations would be helpful to illustrate the process more clearly.

By Dnyaneshwari P

May 25, 2020

It was a good course. Every thing was given in detail. I liked the instrumentation videos to prepare various films by using different techniques