Chevron Left
Back to Negotiation Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Negotiation Fundamentals by ESSEC Business School

4.7
stars
891 ratings
263 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you access to negotiation practical tools and best practices gathered by Professor Aurélien Colson & his team from assignments in more than seventy countries and in a wide set of sectors, be they services, industry, high tech, or public organizations. In an interactive manner, this course will help you, among other topics: get prepared for any negotiation; avoid traps; know how to prompt value-creating partnerships; structure an effective negotiation sequence; bargain in an efficient and respectful manner; overcome deadlocks; and much more! Indeed, negotiation is not simply about deciding who gets what now – it is first and foremost about creating productive, fair, and therefore long-term partnerships. This course guides you through innovative and proven approaches – “win-win…but not at any price”. Together with its specialization, this course will lead you towards high impact and sustainable negotiations at all levels, whether finding solutions to people management issues, sealing a deal on a sales package, or entering into high-level strategic or political negotiations involving multi-party stakeholders....

Top reviews

SF
May 20, 2020

Aurelien is literally an excellent instructor. Also, the video design, clarity, organization of material, is perfect. Besides, quizzes and assignments composition are entirely matched with the course

MG
Jan 28, 2021

This course is extremely helpful for resolving the issues of daily life. I really enjoyed this course, it has helped me to guide many other to resolve their disputes in a better and productive way.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 260 Reviews for Negotiation Fundamentals

By Akshaya

Aug 21, 2020

The course was good, informative, but the area of development can be the quizzes and the peer assignments as they were not up to the mark. Overall, a good learning experience.

By David R

May 16, 2020

Really clear and well explained. Keeping it simple, right on the issues and useful while keeping it nice.

Great job, thank you to all the production team, specially Mr. Colson.

By Thais B

Jun 19, 2020

I liked the course. Basic level. The material was well organized and presented in short lessons. Easy to follow. Nice content and a really enjoyable/interesting homework.

By Daniel Y S

Sep 13, 2018

Great course - great lecturer - great content. Only the Quizzes seem to be a little confusing. Never the less - great experience.

By Hiba J J J

Oct 20, 2018

The course is very informative, however the quizzes are not always clear and sometimes the content has not been learned.

By Toure T b w

Dec 19, 2020

très beau cours qui nous apprend beaucoup sur la négociation. Merci pour votre travail excellent Coursera

By Fabio C

Oct 7, 2019

Very effective course. I appreciated the very structured way of explaining the basics of the negotiation.

By Javier C

May 22, 2018

Ce serait bien que les devoirs soient notés à la fin ou au moins commentés par les enseignants du MOOC

By PIAT

Jan 22, 2019

le cours est intéressant, il manque quelques supports permettant de faciliter son apprentissage.

By Amanda M

Mar 9, 2020

Course was easy to understand and quizzes tested rational thinking along with notes provided.

By Himanshu M

Mar 11, 2019

Brings a logical perspective and well defined approach to the a negotiation process.

By Lorraine S

Aug 17, 2020

Interesting. The lists are well constructed. More concrete exemples would help.

By Carlos F C

May 20, 2018

Muy interesante para entender los conceptos básicos detrás de una negociación

By Rodrigo A R F

Jul 21, 2020

It really is the escentials to negotiation. Quality information.

By Vishnu V

Aug 26, 2020

The final graded test dint show the correct answers.

By Fernando B

Aug 7, 2019

very practical and usefull

By Udi A

Jul 26, 2017

Great course.

By Satyadip B

Feb 1, 2021

good

By Roberto L E

Jul 29, 2019

G

By Johannes J

May 16, 2020

The substance is very good; interesting, insightful and useful. Prof. Colson has a smooth, easy delivery and is a pleasure to listen to/watch. The ten elements are easy to remember and an extremely useful guide for preparing for/thinking through a negotiation. Purely on substance of the lectures, I would give this course a 5. Some downsides:

(A) It is not clear what the written materials are. Prof. Colson sometimes refers to them in his lectures, but it's not clear whether they are optional or required, where to get them etc. And then, in the quizzes, suddenly there are questions/responses that he DEFINITELY has not covered in his lecture (see below), so I wonder if those questions/responses are from the written materials.

(B) The quality of the quizzes is VERY, VERY poor. It doesn't seem like anyone has thought about the questions or edited them or made sure they link back to the lectures. There are grammatical/syntax errors, so that the questions are hard to understand; there are answers that are non-sensical, indistinguishable from one another or straight-out conflicting with what he told us during lecture. For example, one question (I believe #9 on the last practice quiz) asked: what is involved in active listening? The correct answer turned out to be "taking notes of everything that is said". INCORRECT answers included: "re-phrasing questions"; "clarifying questions"; and "checking via questions on non-verbal impressions gained". All of those are wrong?? Really?? And active listening consists of writing everything down? Surely, that CANNOT be correct!! Also, the questions often refer to the lectures verbatim, which in and of itself is not a particularly creative way of testing a student's understanding, but fine; but then suddenly, about 1/4 f of the questions refer to terms that were NOT covered in the lectures. I don't mind if questions require us to think for ourselves and come up with responses that weren't explicitly mentioned in the lectures, but when it's just terms of art, basically definitions, and they haven't been explained, then it's an annoying (and pedagogically useless) way of making the questions "difficult". The quality of the quizzes REALLY needs to be revisited as a matter of priority.

(C) The technology is not very helpful. My main complaint is that it is not possible to take notes simultaneously to listening to the lectures. One can only highlight the text from the lecture and then add notes to that excerpt, but not take freehand notes (on the web page, I mean; I can obviously do so by hand (which is what I've had to do) or on another computer/screen). This seems like a very obvious and easy feature; why is it not possible? Did I just miss something? Would be great if this feature could be added.

By Kristopher R

Apr 27, 2019

I found the instructions for the case studies very limited, even after I posted a discussion forum on it. Also, it was hard to find reviewers. It would be nice to be able to contact staff at some point if discussion questions aren't answered. The exam questions didn't always reflect what was in the video lessons, so we had to guess several times. I feel like I have walked away with some new skills and am thankful for that.

By Nina G

Nov 9, 2020

No reading materials or printable charts provided.

Difficult sometimes to understand the speaker.

The Final exam was very poorly constructed...not helpful in that it did not state exactly what was correct or incorrect. That is, if you got 3/4 answers correct you still got a zero...so you didn't have a way to know what was right and as such it ended up being a frustrating ans useless guessing game.

By Gion S

Apr 17, 2020

I liked the course in itself and have learned a lot. However, it was too enterprise focused in my opinion. It didn't focus enough on situations outside of that world. Also, it would've been nice to have a real-world example and review of a negotiation so we can see what actions a negotiator would take in a certain situation.

By Gabriel F H

Oct 19, 2017

It is a good course but I could have more real examples. It would be great to have simulations people on the videos.

By Danilo B

Sep 23, 2019

poor resources available

no reference to extra curricula reading (apart from the book by the teacher of the course)