Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
8,657 ratings
2,099 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 09, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

YT

Sep 18, 2015

This is one of the best and enlightening MOOC I have taken and I already start reaping the benefit. I encourage everyone who is serious about his/her career to consider this course!\n\nYannick Kounga

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,075 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Jose F A J

Oct 17, 2016

As an outside salesman I believed my negotiation skills to be somewhat polished. Boy was I wrong! While through experience I've begun to use a minor amount of techniques taught in the course there was a vast amount of new information for me to pour over and learn. The systematic approach to negotiation also very helpful and has provided me a mental framework from which to become a better negotiator.

By Numfor T N

Mar 22, 2020

Our daily life requires better decisions and we often miss out because of lack of knowledge (my people perish because of lack of knowledge), this has brought more light to my personal and career development. I encourage everyone to dive into this skills for the world needs better negotiators like you doubting the relevance. Yes, of course you need it and its boldly written Successful Negotiation.

By Sharon S

Jan 13, 2019

A profound and stretching course that expects participants to challenge themselves and their assumptions, and ultimately raises their negotiation's capabilities. Immensely practical and potentially transformational. Prof Seidel teaching style is friendly, approachable and humorous (but requires some patience as he develops his arguments at a certain pace). You will enjoy and learn from it. A lot.

By Karen

May 04, 2020

I have taken the course and passed the final exam. To tell the truth it was great experience to take it. I got a knowledge and skills I had not got before. Now I feel more prepared to start negotiations not only in business, but also in politics. Many thanks to professor Siedel, Michigan University staff, and Coursera for having this wonderful opportunity to participate and take this course.

By Anant S

May 19, 2020

Thank You Coursera, University of Michigan team and the great instructor Sir George Siedel. It was a wonderful course.This course taught me a lot of things which would help me in life.

I recommend this course to everyone who wants to be a perfect negotiator.

Some suggestions - the only suggestion which i would give is if there are more negotiation assessments like "The House on Elm Street" .

By Juan R

Jun 11, 2017

Really interesting, changed my point of view on negotiations, i had never taken a course like this, and it gave me a big panorama about all the tools that can be used, and how to get a better result while doing a negotiation. Even though is a 20 hrs course (more or less) you feel prepared to identify the tools used by the counterparts in the negotiation and how to get things on your favor.

By Roland E R

Nov 14, 2016

This course has been very enlightening and thought provoking. There are so many things we think we did right as we made ourselves to feel we had impeccable skills but after completion of this course i realize how much i had lost in previous negotiations although i walked out of the negotiation as the smiling guy!

Thanks to MOOC, University of Michigan and the especially to Professor Siedel.

By Joshua C

Aug 18, 2015

For a while I was a professional salesmen in the solar industry and this course helped me greatly to close more deals. Understanding the fundamentals of negotiation are a necessary skill for any entrepreneur, businessman, or anyone who is looking to take their communication skills to the next level. I highly suggest this course for anyone who wants to make an income over six figures.

By Cecilia F S

May 20, 2020

FIrst of all I want to thank professor George Siedel.

The course is very well structured and all the strategies and skills are all very interesting and useful. This course has provided me with more new knowledge and has given me a real liking for the challenge and a genuine desire. It has given me a new perspective on how to focus every negotiation.

It has given me self-confidence.

By Noura A

Mar 14, 2019

First, I want to say thank you for Coursera for the gold chance! You are doing a great job in the world how they make learning in our hands from worldwide!

For Mr. George Siedel Thank you so much for your teaching us you make a big difference in me. Now I can practice negotiation, really thank you I'll always remember who teaching me this course. I'm so grateful.. God bless you

By Ashish S

Nov 09, 2019

An exceptional course on negotiation skills, I am very honored to have had the opportunity to study such a key subject in becoming a great entrepreneur. The videos were extremely helpful and the reading material was to the point. The teacher was very engaging and no video felt too long. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to master their negotiation skills

By Anne K N

Jun 24, 2019

I absolutely love my learning experience from this course. I am usually stunned at the twists and turns on issues I thought I knew how I to handle! The materials shared were great reads and loaded with lifelong learning nuggets. I'm really grateful for the strategies and skills of negotiation I have learned through this course. I am committing to Mastery. Highly recommended.

By YUE G

Mar 27, 2016

Basically, I'm interested in this area of learning related to negotiation. Besides, I really love this course, not that theoretical or confusing like what I had before. The examples and small tips could be useful in logical thinking and in real life. I suppose that these knowledge and skills would be applied to my study and business later. Moreover, our professor is so nice.

By Iris Z

Aug 10, 2016

Es muy bueno, y el profesor es un encanto, el curso no es nada si el, muy metódico y con una mentalidad muy ágil, se explica muy bien, hace una conexión emocional de la teoría con los casos ejemplos. No es fácil hallar profesores con los que te sientas cómodo y nutrido teóricamente, este curso me gusta, llena mis expectativas, me estimula incluso me estimula a aprender mas.

By Alaa a m

Dec 14, 2017

coursera team really you are make my dreams come true

thank you very much Mr. George Siedel it was very important and fruitful course for me i will use what i learnt in this practical course like the psychological tools and contract information, how creating BATNA ,Calculating zopa

thank very much coursera for supporting us and i'm looking for great future with you

By Sumit S

Apr 28, 2020

As I have come across this course ilearn different and various negotiation skills and strategies as negotiation is helpful in day today life as well as in professional life it is very important to understand various negotiation skills and this course is perfect for this job by doing this one can easily learn various Strategies and skills for successful negotiation

By Barun P M

Apr 22, 2020

Professor George Siedel is absolutely mesmerizing. I have tried online courses earlier but lost patience while watching lecture videos. Here I got captivated in the Introduction lecture itself and has to go on for binge watch all lectures, completed the course within a week. Will try to absorb the concepts more deeply by reading his book "Negotiating for Success"

By Alin F

Feb 05, 2020

Thank you so much for this course. The development and design of the content makes clear to understand a fearful topic that certainly by studying it can lead to success for the ones involved on any kind of negotiations.

I feel very lucky and grateful of having learned about negotiation matters on this course developed by University of Michigan and George Siedel.

By Roberto O G

Jan 18, 2018

The professor truly has knowledge about the topics reviewed in this course and inspires one to learn the content on the course. His charisma and enthusiasm gives this course an extra value for the students. He uses simple real life examples for complex topics that makes it easy for one to understand the concepts even without a previous background in these topics.

By Ana M

Aug 16, 2015

I'm an undergraduate student from Serbia and I liked this course very much. Professor is great, he gives examples all the time and perfectly summarizes every lecture. It is noticeable how much effort is put into making this course possible. I learned a lot of new things that I can use not only in my future career, but in everyday life. Thank you!

Ana, 22 years old

By Ebele O

Mar 05, 2020

I had an amazing experience taking this course. I am an Attorney so I thought I was already a good negotiator but this course made me realize I had a lot to learn and I did. I am so happy and looking forward to using the knowledge I have acquired in real life situations. I must also mention that the tutor was amazing. Thank you so much Professor George Siedel!!!

By Mbongeni Z

Nov 13, 2016

This was an excellent course - really well explained and filled with lots of practical examples and opportunities to reinforce your learning. I also happen to think that the format of the exam was structured such that one couldn't simply guess their way through it which means that it ultimately encouraged a level of understanding that many other MOOCs do not.

By thomas k

Apr 09, 2020

Good class, good topic for all to have exposure to. I did find the book and the videos too repetitive. Would highly recommend you pick up another book on negotiation to read along with the video's if you, like me, need the repetition of ideas but hate to feel like you are just reliving the video. I used Leigh Thompson "the truth about negotiation"

By M S A

Jan 28, 2017

Professor George is really impressive. He has worked with quite big names in this field and this course is like learning from the best person available. It is a good choice of course.

His teaching methods are engaging. I am very busy person but I would ask no matter how much busy you are you have to look into this course if you are doing negotiation.

By juan i p d c

Apr 10, 2016

El curso me ha parecido brillante en su planteamiento y ejecución, y magnífico tanto por su contenido como por la forma en que se ha desarrollado por parte del profesor. Además, no se ha echado de menos que no hubiera sido presencial, dando la sensación de estar en todo momento delante del profesor, a su lado. Desde luego, es un curso que invita a