Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
8,799 ratings
2,135 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 09, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

YT

Sep 18, 2015

This is one of the best and enlightening MOOC I have taken and I already start reaping the benefit. I encourage everyone who is serious about his/her career to consider this course!\n\nYannick Kounga

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,104 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Irina H

May 18, 2020

Little did I know that I knew absolutely nothing about the negotiation processes before. Not only was I able to look back and evaluate some of my life situations and their outcomes, now I feel prepared and confident to enter negotiations!

Thank you Professor Siedel from the bottom of my heart!

irina Hott

By Milton K

Oct 19, 2015

This is a terrific course and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who feels he is not a very good negotiator. In particular, I believe that people in the technology fields would most benefit from this course as they are typically weaker in the soft skills departments than other people in other fields.

By Charles C

May 12, 2020

This was an excellent course, I learned things that I wish I'd know 20 years ago. I struggled a bit with the final exam and would have liked the option for an answer key to help with a few of the problems that I had trouble with. That said, the student forums were very helpful in resolving my questions.

By Douglas Z D N

Oct 22, 2015

As a administration professional, this course improved my career in global sphere of negotiation. Teaching keys, tactics and many others ways to achieve what the best alternative to conduct situations.

I have no doubt about this awesome learning method.

Thank you Coursera!

Thank you Mr. George Siedel!

By Robert " S

Aug 30, 2016

Very much enjoyed the class, well organized, presented the material very well and concepts were easy to understand and even to apply. What was very enjoyable was the negotiation scenario where you were able to use what you learned and get feedback how well you were able to apply the lessons learned.

By Kumar G G

Apr 02, 2020

I was fortunate enough to learn negotiation skills from Professor George Siedel , as his explanation for these topics is in so simple and practical way , you are not lost in details but reach your end goal with ease. I would also thank Coursera & University Of Michigan for designing such course.

By 姚雅婷

Mar 07, 2016

Very practical and useful on the real case. You can take a retrospective view of previous negotiation and finding the weakness and the blind point. Also you will have new perspectives on different negotiation. It is very enlightened course on my future negotiations. Thanks Professor George Siedel.

By Jorge A Á H

Sep 08, 2016

It is incredible how Proffesor Siedel manage to turn a MOOC into a really dynamic and practical course. Every topic is explained with daily life examples which makes easier to understand the concepts.

Now I feel more prepared to perform negotiations and eager to continue developing my weak spots!

By Alan S

May 04, 2020

First time completing a MOOC, and perhaps the best education from a MOOC I can get. Professor Siedel surely made the course easy to understand and intercept it with stories that make it interesting. I felt I have expanded in person after taking this course. Thank you UoM/Coursera and Dr. Siedel!

By Jatinder S

Oct 19, 2015

One of the best MOOC I've experienced.Narration has been wonderful and straight from the heart.

Examples so relevant and memorable so as to make an everlasting impression.It is undoubtedly on of the best ever MOOC ever commissioned by Coursera. Thanks Dr Siedel , thanks Michigan.

J Singh

Bangalore

By Юлия

Oct 24, 2018

Курс очень практический, многие знания можно применять в реальной жизни, на работе, всевозможных сделках. Педагог - профессионал с большой буквы, очень многое знает, но при этом все доступно и легко объясняется. Лекции "живые", нет желания уснуть, хорошие видео-нарезки. Обязателен к изучению!

By 张舒婷

Dec 02, 2015

Really impressive! I've benefitted a lot from just taking the course because it's a realm that I've never encountered before, yet I haven't done some spcific real-life pratice.I bet this mind-changlleging course will continue to boarden my horizen and equip me with a big negotiation picture.

By Felix S A

Aug 25, 2015

I have learnt a lot from this course. I thought negotiation should be a natural thing for you to know if you are in business or deal with people but now I have come to know that it is more than 'dragging' who will win/lose. But now I know better. Thank you very much for the knowledge gained.

By Saqib J

Apr 30, 2017

course content was extremely good but week 7 exam was not up to the mark. I attempted the exam twice to came to know that "two of the above" means first and 2nd option not 3rd and last option. Also, some of the questions were very confused hard to understand. Test needs very much betterment

By Manav S

Apr 03, 2020

Brilliant course. The practice exercise in the end truly was an eye opener, and made me re think my approach to any negotiation. Furthermore, throughout the course, George kept sharing intriguing examples that even standalone are such valuable lessons. Thoroughly satisfied with the course!

By Dmytro S

Jul 10, 2017

Professor Siedel makes great work of shattering lots of common logical fallacies that we use daily when we enter negotiations or avoid them. Negotiations is a universally applicable tool for a successful career and life in general. Don't hesitate to enroll, this was a pleasant ride for me.

By Christine R

Feb 25, 2019

Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills is an excellent course that provides useful information on the most important principles of negotiation. The course is well-paced, and well taught by Prof. Seidel. His delivery is understandable yet thorough. Great course all around!

By Fernando G B

Aug 27, 2019

Very good and engaging approach to negotiation, delivered by an outstanding professor. The course covered a broad number of topics, using great examples and an excellent unique final negotiation activity. Highly recommended to everyone who wishes to strengthen their negotiation skills.

By Leencol L

Jan 14, 2016

Cool course! It's simple and easy to understand. It is highly recommended not only to professionals, lawyers, agents and businessmen but also to other average persons.

A round of applause for George Siedel, "Negotiation Team" and Coursera! I hope many people will enroll on this course.

By Štefan S

Jun 17, 2018

One of the best courses I've ever done. The material is very interesting, well prepared and easy to follow. I've never realised how much I wanted to learn about negotiating until I've started to dig deeper into this course. For me that's the hallmark of a superb learning experience.

By Mikhail K

May 01, 2020

Like many, for a well-known reason, I decided to try courses online. This was the first experience at Coursera.

Very interesting and useful course for everyone who wants to improve their negotiation skills and learn new about negotiation strategies

Thanks for this great opportunity

By Aldo P

Apr 11, 2020

In my job (and real life) i negotiate almost every day, this course gave me important tips and tools in order to manage future negotiation.

Dr. Seidel is a great teacher, i really admire his way of explaining and i hope i have an opportunity to follow some others lessons by him.

By Chuck S

Nov 06, 2016

The class provided tools and resources for negotiations I have not been exposed to before. It helped me understand the techniques available to become more successful in the negotiation process. Dr. Siedel is excellent at delivering the content in an easy to understand method.

By Berezina K V

Apr 27, 2020

Thanks a lot to all people who worked on this course!

I should say that this was my first experience, the first time I took part in an online courses. I was pretty happy!

Thank you very much for your knowledge and useful negotiation tactics, they will definitely be useful to me!

By Biljana M

Apr 16, 2020

Very helpful course. Easy to follow even for people with scientific background and no previous knowledge in business and law. Prof. Siedel is a great lecturer, keeping the interest level always high with samples and problem-solving exercises. I have learned a lot! Thank you!