Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,135 ratings
1,294 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,290 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Oleksandra

Dec 20, 2015

This course is very helpful. I enjoyed doing all the negotiation assignments with the fellow students. I think there could be even more of those because the most important part of becoming a better negotiator is practice practice practice!

By Pietro V

Jan 30, 2021

Great, great, great corse! I learned so much and I also had a lot of fun during the negotiations that i had the opportunity to carry out, but also with the lessons that are full of contents but also somehow lightweight. Super reccomended!

By Alexandre L B

Jul 2, 2020

Negotiation is not only about the added value of the individual ingredients to make the pie, it's how you cook it and divide it. This is a must course in life, to live with no regrets on your past decision and anticipate your futurs ones.

By Tammy G

Jun 25, 2020

I ended up learning so many things to help me in everyday life that it did not matter that I took the course thinking it was something else completely. It was easy to follow along, and the videos were short enough to keep your attention.

By Philipp H

Jun 6, 2020

Weeks 1 to 5 are absolutely excellent. I liked the structure: It really helped providing the theoretical fundation first and establishing principles. And then doing the actual negotiations in week 3, 4 and 5. I definitely learned a lot.

By Antiao X

Jan 27, 2021

It is a great course for someone who is new to Negotiation. It reminds you of the principles of negotiation which you might easily forget. Also, I really like that Dr. Barry brings in more negotiation experts to share their techniques.

By Marya D

Dec 13, 2017

I highly recommend this course to everyone - regardless of what your role is, what your career path looks like, this is a great course to really understand how to effectively communicate with others and negotiate anything and everything.

By Shikhar P S

Jul 21, 2020

Love the way Professor Nalebuff kept giving small subsets of each concept which compiled beautifully into this meaningful "Negotiation" package in the end. Would be glad to learn something from Mr. Nalebuff in person. Thanks Coursera!

By PAULINA

Mar 8, 2021

Barry, your course is well structured, I loved the cases and the different ways to become cooperative and thinking more strategically, I would have loved to have you as my professor. You really put your heart on it. Wish you the best.

By Manuel E A

Sep 5, 2020

This course provides applicable and solid tools that will expand your toolbox in negotiations. As a corporate lawyer with more than two decades of experience, I was humbled and I am grateful to have learned much of what I was missing.

By Vlasiuk O

Jul 13, 2020

Very nice course, sometimes is difficult due to lots of maths. After you will receive certificate, continue learning, there is more practical and interesting insights ahead! Thank you fir the humour and good examples and infographics!

By Satish K B

Apr 23, 2020

Excellent course having both content and presentation. I recommend every professional irrespective of the verticle or company he or she works for should go for this course. It is one of the best courses I have learned during my life.

By Hajar L

May 28, 2020

I learned how to be persuasive, how to calculate the amount that we want to go for, and know what is the least we cas accept of selling or Buying. So muchs tools that we can use in our bussines work and also in our everyday matters.

By Amanda T

Apr 19, 2020

This was my first course through this program and I really enjoyed the instructor and the graphics used. It pushed me out of my comfort zone to connect with people from around the world, but that was very valuable. It was excellent!

By Vidushi R S

Sep 1, 2020

i loved the examples. and really appreciate the effort that's been put into planning out the sessions. it was never too much or too little and I feel much more comfortable about potentially having to negotiate things in my life. :)

By MARIIA B

Dec 17, 2018

I greatly enjoyed this course. First one to finish on the Coursera and huge success! All the recommended readings and extra assignments were fun and interesting, and helped to get a taste of what negotiations are about. Thank you!

By Meraj A F

Sep 9, 2018

This is an amazing course that will change the way you think and operate. The key words here are "Principled and Persuasive" which means that you can get what you want without becoming a used car salesmen :) . Highly Recommended!!

By Julia F

Apr 9, 2020

I think this course is great to get started on negotiation. It is full of quality and engaging content.

The professor is also very good, the way he teaches makes you feel that the time you spend doing the course is well invested.

By Marion S

Jun 30, 2021

The teacher is passionate about negociation and so we. We can learn a lots of tools to be a better negociator - how to calculate how much is at stake, and how to convince the other party that a fair split is the better solution.

By Victor P

Jul 30, 2020

I really enjoyed from the great combination of theory, practical discussions and my personal engagement as a student that were created by just the right quizzes and practical exercises. It was very refreshing and opened my mind.

By Chirag D

Jul 23, 2020

Undoubtedly a must-do course for everyone in the sales role. The way things have been explained, it can't be more simpler than this plus the most important of ideas are communicated in the simplest of ways possible. Hats off !!

By Bruno B G

May 18, 2020

The course is very complete and the final videos with Herb's comments are excelent. It brings several insights on how we negotiate and discuss things every day. Excellent course, totally worth the time and the energy. Congrats!

By Robert M " C

Jul 8, 2018

Challenging and intuitive course with an entertaining and well versed professor. Highly recommend for Purchasing professionals. I've been in Purchasing for 26 years and my eyes were opened to new logic and ideas in this course.

By Kasama M

Apr 25, 2020

I don't know why this course is free! It can arm me with some negotiation skill that I never think I would have in my life. I want to say thank you to Mr.Barry Nalebuff and his colleague for what they have done in this course.

By Emma P

Apr 21, 2020

This is an excellent course. Very well thought and executed. Assignments, tests and negotiations with other participants allow you to get a real feel for whether you understand the material even if you are auditing the course.