Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,520 ratings
1,085 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,077 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Valery L

Jan 22, 2020

Can strongly recommend this course to everyone who is willing to become better negotiator and understand need and expectation of other side. :-)!

By Anuscheh N

Apr 16, 2017

Fun course, detailed and high level at the same time, and although finding people to team up with an be hard, these assignments are a lot of fun.

By Luca A

May 11, 2020

the first course at Coursera and the best course I've ever taken. Practical, interactive, exciting and very very useful in daily life. Well done

By Rafael O

Nov 16, 2018

Best course I have ever taken on coursera, by far and large. Animations, great case studies, supplemental material, a great teacher, you name it

By Roberto G

Jun 12, 2020

Great, challenging, and involving course. Take advantage of every single lecture and try to get the most out of it and you will truly enjoy it.

By Roman v A

Oct 28, 2020

Superb. Great instructor/teacher. Quality videos and exercises and overall a very enjoyable and most of all useful course. Highly recommended.

By Francisca

Sep 4, 2019

I'm grateful of the opportunity of learning this principles. I just think that the approch to female and male way to negotiate is a bit sexist

By Nidhin T A

Nov 17, 2017

This course taught me a lot of the fundamentals of Negotiation. Barry is an amazing professor and I would recommend this course to my friends.

By Alan K G

Jun 23, 2020

To the point video lectures, well deliberated assignments. Makes tutee ponder deep. Good mix n match of negotiation principles n mathematics.

By Dhruvil s

May 20, 2020

THE COURSE WAS REALLY GREAT AND PRACTICAL!

THE BEST PART WAS CASES STUDIES AND A LOT OF EXPERTS TEACHING IN THIS COURSE!

THANK YOU BARRY SIR!

By Timothy T R

May 12, 2020

A really great course with heaps of interesting bits. Very interactive with three actual negotiations to be performed to complete the course.

By Charalampos C

May 1, 2020

Very well prepared, an essential course to get the basics of negotiation. I can say that it is the best online course I have attended so far!

By Bernardita G

Jan 20, 2020

Thank you so much for the course. It was pleasant to watch the videos, a very good teacher and very good examples to illustrate each content.

By Vasiliy S

Dec 1, 2019

Great class, something really new. Very different from the Harvard approach, If you learning how to negotiate I'd definitely take this class.

By Sergio M

Sep 28, 2020

It is a very nice course with a very engaging approach. All the material is very constructive with easy to follow and interesting examples.

By Florian W

Jan 30, 2020

This is an outstanding chance to learn principles of negotiation that can be translated to every part of your private and professional life.

By Deleted A

Jun 10, 2017

Very happy with this course, interactive and informative. Would recommend for those who deal with negotiations in their life (=for everyone)

By Rajiv S

Apr 24, 2017

Exceptionally good and very very relevant to the world of negotiation. I can see myself using some of the techniques outlined in the course.

By WF W I

Oct 27, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Professor Nalebuff was an absolute pleasure to watch. I appreciated the delivery as much as the content!

By Steward C

Aug 4, 2020

Great course. Helped me to gain insight in dealing with tension in negotiation and also how critical planning is in negotiation. Thank you!

By angela a

May 21, 2020

It was difficult but when try again, you can made it ! I recommend this course if you want to learn more how to negotiate. Thank you Yale !

By Michelle A

May 14, 2020

Such a fun course and extremely informative. I learned a lot and will definitely be able to apply it to my industry in film and television.

By P R M

May 5, 2020

Excellent insight provided for involving in a principled and persuasive negotiation with proficiency in Game theory and strategic approach.

By Minh D D

Jun 30, 2017

One of the best courses I have ever taken either online or in classrooms. Thank you Professor for putting together such a wonderful course!

By Eva M

Apr 6, 2016

Insightful content, great animated lectures, very valuable group work and very interesting guest lecturers. I enjoyed the course very much.