Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,456 ratings
1,070 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 31, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 1,062 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Santiago W

Feb 06, 2020

Excellent course. Throughout it, I could learn several negotiation principles and strategies in a very dynamic and fun way.

By Son A D

Nov 23, 2015

Prof. NaleBuff is awesome, funny and thorough with his explanation in the course. Challeging so far, but I really enjoy it.

By ALEJANDRA B S

Sep 26, 2020

I've been taken eight courses in Coursera, definitely, it's the best, I enjoyed it a lot, the professor is so clearly. :)

By Martin V

Jun 11, 2020

Loved the content and the animation made it interactive. That the lecturer had street credentials was the highlight for me

By Maja B

Apr 09, 2018

Awesome course! The knowledge gained during the course is completely applicable to business life and every day situations.

By Tal I

May 21, 2020

Great course! The explanations were very easy to understand and the cases and examples were interesting and fun to watch.

By Julien C

May 04, 2020

Very effective to imrpove negotiations skills, being convincing and persuasive in arguments zhen negotiating with people.

By Soraia A

Apr 22, 2020

Great class and teaches us a lot of new ways to think and strategize when negotiating. Great course & highly recommended!

By Yazmín G A

Aug 18, 2020

It is a very interesting and enjoyful course. You can learn a lot from the teacher and he explains everything very well.

By Daniela H

Aug 08, 2020

Me encantó la metodología del curso, la guía continua de los tutores y el manejo de los casos prácticos.

muy recomendado.

By Agustina L

Mar 30, 2017

A really different approach to negotiation, very practical, and they even make you practice!! Great material and videos.

By Sergio M T

Feb 03, 2016

I am a PhD student from Spain, I loved your course. I expect it will be really useful in my future. Thank you very much!

By SAIF

Sep 18, 2015

This is a fantastic course. Barry Nalebuff teaches with a tremendous flair and keeps this course interesting throughout.

By Karin J

Aug 01, 2020

This was a very well presented course. Questions and assignments were great and tested your knowledge and understanding

By Debadarsan B

May 08, 2020

Very insightful. Negotiation is so necessary for every aspect of life. It keeps all the parties happy if not too happy

By Erich K

May 02, 2020

I loved the assignments, which connects you with students all over the world and makes you apply what you have learned.

By Sergio E

May 22, 2018

Fantastic course with lot of interactive negotiation case studies. Almost like being in the class and negotiating live.

By Orsolya N

Sep 12, 2017

I really like this course and animations!! It isreally easy to understand with it and the examples are very usefulll :)

By Estêvão E d C A G

Aug 17, 2017

I think this is the best course to learn all the key strategies and tools to be on track to become a master negotiator.

By LEONIDAS G

Sep 02, 2019

Very interesting course. It covers not only the basics but offers knowledge about most of the issues in a negotiation.

By Juan P B

Apr 30, 2017

Super fun course, great teacher, the approach to the subject is excellent for an introduction. Aboslutely recommended.

By olayanju o

Aug 24, 2016

A fantastic course especially in business administration. Highly recommended for aspiring entrepreneurs and start ups

By Enrique P

May 31, 2020

Only one word: excellent. I've learned quite a good amount of tools in order to help me in any kind of negotiations.

By Orlando A S M

Sep 20, 2020

The course introduces innovative concepts and best practices which are not evident even for experienced negotiators

By jaime s

Apr 14, 2020

Excellent! The teacher and colaborators knowledge and way to explain it are worth of every minute of it.

Thanks !!!