Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,515 ratings
1,085 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,074 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Khushboo L

Jun 19, 2020

one of the best course so far!!

its worth your time and energry, I learnt a lot from this course.

By Andres T M

Jun 7, 2020

Probably the best course to start with. Every single video is worth-while and really interesting.

By Odil G d F J

Jul 26, 2017

Great course! vivid with real examples and powerful insights. Thanks professor! It was inspiring.

By Marwan D

Oct 18, 2016

Great course , brilliantly delivered. Learn through relevant case studies and practical exercises

By Max S

May 22, 2020

Very interesting topics of high practical importance presented very intuitively and attractively

By Yaman A

Feb 10, 2018

A very well thought out, well researched course. I'll give this course a 5 out of 10 definitely.

By Paramjit S A

Oct 30, 2015

So far, it is very interesting. It has definitely enhanced my knowledge in negotiation concepts.

By feng r

May 30, 2017

Very good course. I have learned a lot from the examples and assignments. Thank you Prof Barry!

By Steven T

Sep 2, 2016

Excellent course that is well organized and to the point. The best online course I have taken.

By Daniela A

Aug 6, 2020

Es un curso muy completo y que enserio te deja muchos aprendizajes y tips sobre como negociar.

By Meghna P

Jun 18, 2020

An amazingly well constructed course, with some great negotiation led case studies. Loved it !

By Calvin C

Jun 3, 2020

Great app and way to learn the course. Lecturer was great and very experienced in negotiations

By Francesco V

Jun 1, 2020

the course is very interesting. Interactive, engaging, with a simple but never banal language.

By Shreyank S

May 13, 2020

Throughly enjoyed this course. It was very unique and engaging. Would definitely recommend it.

By Stanislav A

Aug 4, 2019

The best course I ever had on Coursera. Useful and unobvious tricks highlighted and explained.

By Jonathan S

Jan 10, 2019

An excellent course with great insight, that is well put together by a world leading lecturer.

By Saif A A B

Jul 26, 2020

Really good course with a really interactive professor.Very interesting and practical course.

By Chetan S

Jun 12, 2020

Love the wide range of this course, assists in negotiating in a board room and on the street.

By Chow K M

Jun 1, 2020

Very engaging presentations. The concepts reinforce one another, allowing for easy retention.

By Roberto C

Sep 12, 2020

its a open-minding course, everyone should have a experience like this one, totally worth it

By Pei Y C

May 30, 2020

Very interesting and helpful course. Barry is very attentive to make each material and case.

By Lennox R

Jan 25, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and interaction with other learners from around the world.

By Eric W E

Jun 7, 2016

A completely entertaining course which changed my perspective on the subject of negotiation.

By Yahor M

Nov 30, 2015

wonderful lecturer, great course design, very interactive and intresting. Thank you so much!

By José I B

May 28, 2020

It is a great course for beginners. Everything was explained in ways anyone can understand.