Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,015 ratings
1,260 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 1,253 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Mathew J

Jun 24, 2019

Great course. Even though I completed 2 yrs back, the lessons I learned are still relevant and being applied.

Mat

By Josué C M O

Jun 24, 2017

Great Course. It is perfect for someone who wants to learn more about negotiation techniques and legal procedures.

By Alexandra H

Jun 15, 2020

Highly useful course. Each week, I learned something new and was implementing course ideas into my everyday life.

By Jenny W

Jun 9, 2020

Very great course! Gives a fantastic overview of different negotiations types and how to prepare and handle them!

By Valentina A V

May 14, 2020

I loved the course, it was a big challenge at first but once you start getting a hang of it it's almost addicting

By Khatanbuuvei M

Oct 9, 2019

A course I looked forward to taking, which met my expectations, and also happened to be my first Coursera course.

By Marisabel C O

Nov 29, 2020

This course was wonderful, the videos, the topics, everything was perfect. It was challenging, but its worth it!

By Ana C P d R

Aug 28, 2020

Professor muito atencioso e curso muito bem pensado, tanto na questão de conteúdo, quanto na plataforma digital.

By Lolo A

Jun 23, 2020

It was a little hard to handle at the beginning, but once you get the hang of things, it starts being enjoyable.

By Dimitrios K

Oct 7, 2015

Absolutely stunning! I learned so much in terms of both knowledge and non-verbal behavioural aspects. Fantastic!

By Ahmed E

Feb 26, 2021

I recommend this course for any salesperson that would like to bring his negotiation skills to an expert level.

By Christina S C

Aug 10, 2020

Really good and interesting course! Fantastic professor and really nice with real negotiations with classmates!

By Fabio T

May 20, 2020

very useful, it provides the basic concepts to have in mind during a negotiation!I would suggest it to anybody.

By Karoline M F D

Aug 6, 2020

I loved this course!!! I'm a buyer there are 13 years and this course for sure changed my mode of negotiation.

By Matias L

May 8, 2020

i loved how the teacher lead the curse and all the games, the insights and the practice it enhanced.

I loved it

By Zihan L

Apr 8, 2020

Apparently, the professor and the whole group treat this course very seriously. Very interesting and engaging.

By (Thomas) T A C

Jan 4, 2020

Wonderful course for those looking for serious negotiation skill online. This is very quality designed program

By Filippo V

Aug 11, 2019

Amazing course, it provides with many interesting and creative tools to improve your negotiation capabilities.

By Felipe N

Jun 10, 2020

Awesome course in order to get insights about how to be a better negotiator in several aspects for your life.

By Bruno F

Jun 10, 2020

Amazing course! I love the smart and elegant way it includes theoretical and practical lessons! Outstanding!

By Stephanie G

May 24, 2020

This class is super interesting and interactive. As the course progresses, it becomes even more interesting!

By Oganes I

Dec 26, 2017

My best online course experience ever. Thanks to all team, it gave me great value both for my work and life.

By HELENE A

Oct 1, 2016

One of the best classes I had. Thankyou somuch for your such innovative approach in MOOCS!!!

You rock guys!!!

By Ivan L

Dec 25, 2015

Great course, that is informative, challenging and entertaining. The knowledge is gained is very applicable.

By A K

Jan 12, 2021

A very interesting, sometimes difficult, but useful course. Helps to develop in life and profession. Thanks