Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,015 ratings
1,260 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 1,253 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Ricardo M H

May 21, 2020

The instructor is very clear and the classes were tough but funvtional. I loved the negotiation cases

By Vladimir K

May 11, 2020

The pie concept is genius. Especially applied to more complicated scenarios with more than 2 parties.

By Vicente V

Sep 17, 2017

Amazing course. Amazing professor, well structured, practical, impressive insights about negotiation.

By Joey d V

Apr 1, 2021

Amazing course by Barry, if you want to learn to negotiate I highly recommend following this course!

By Paryssa A

Sep 30, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this class, it was very informative and the interactive. I highly recommend it.

By Peet R

Aug 25, 2020

Thank you, this course really helped me to think out of the box and look for creative alternatives.

By Javier G D G

Aug 23, 2020

fantástico curso!!

el profesor es muy claro y los conceptos son fáciles de aplicar y de comprender!!

By Yuanbo L

Nov 4, 2018

It really pays to find a partner to practice! It's easily the best part of the learning experience.

By MAHDANE Y

Sep 11, 2017

It's one of the most important and helpful courses I've ever taken, I feel bad I can't purchase it.

By Yc F

Apr 1, 2017

Better than Netflix and HBO combined. Everybody should take this course, because it is so much fun.

By Anton

Dec 11, 2020

Very nice course, that open my eyes to the huge world of negotiations. Very thank you for the pie.

By Suresh B

Apr 12, 2020

This was an excellent study, And the lecturer use many good way to keep concentrate in the course.

By Pop D I

Apr 9, 2020

Extremely interesting and useful course! I would do it again and totally recommend it to everyone.

By Roeland W

Mar 28, 2018

Fun course to take. You'll definitely learn something no matter how long you have been negotiating

By Camille S P

Oct 8, 2020

Great course, very comprehensive approach to negotiations and lots of actual negotiations in live

By Michael B

Sep 26, 2020

Fantastic Course, definitely worth taking for any context in life as EVERTHING IS AN NEGOTIATION!

By Felipe P C

Jul 6, 2020

Incredible job professor Nalebuff. This course added new, fresh, and very useful tools to my kit.

By Nini C

Jun 21, 2020

Awesome course for learning the mathematical foundation for negotiation. Engaging and insightful.

By Khushboo L

Jun 19, 2020

one of the best course so far!!

its worth your time and energry, I learnt a lot from this course.

By Andres T M

Jun 7, 2020

Probably the best course to start with. Every single video is worth-while and really interesting.

By Odil G d F J

Jul 26, 2017

Great course! vivid with real examples and powerful insights. Thanks professor! It was inspiring.

By Marwan D

Oct 18, 2016

Great course , brilliantly delivered. Learn through relevant case studies and practical exercises

By Xavier A

Dec 28, 2020

An amazing foundational course on negotiation with a personal spin from a world-class professor.

By Max S

May 22, 2020

Very interesting topics of high practical importance presented very intuitively and attractively

By Yaman A

Feb 10, 2018

A very well thought out, well researched course. I'll give this course a 5 out of 10 definitely.