Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,365 ratings
1,041 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 31, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 1,031 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Claire W

Aug 03, 2018

Immediately hooked - provides a fresh perspective to look at things.

By Julian H

May 25, 2017

Fantastic Course. Highly interacitve and very well crafted material!

By François d

Jul 28, 2020

This course is both a very practical and intellectual enlightening.

By Khushal G

May 05, 2020

AN INCREDIBLE COURSE WILL DEFINITELY HELP YOU OUT IN THE REAL WORLD

By Cameron T C

May 04, 2020

Great class, learned a lot, understandable format, great professor.

By Cameron P

Apr 24, 2020

This is a great introduction to negotiation but also to game theory

By Andrija B

Jan 20, 2020

Quite practical knowledge that can be used everyday and everywhere.

By Mary B S

Jun 01, 2017

The negotiator interviews were particularly helpful and insightful.

By Andreea V

Jul 29, 2020

One of the most engaging and insightful courses I have ever taken!

By Suraj M

Jun 03, 2020

Absolutely one of the best courses I ever had, online or otherwise

By Sadaf S K

May 12, 2020

super engaging course I must say and also learned a lot of things.

By Daniel

May 28, 2017

Great Course, Hard but I learned a lot from him! one of the bests!

By Giulia S

Jun 04, 2020

Very clear, interactive and well explained. I would recommend it.

By Maximo K

Jun 18, 2020

Great course! Beautiful way to explain and understand each week.

By Ayam S

May 31, 2020

It was by far the best course that I have taken on this subject.

By Alberto K

Apr 27, 2020

Fun and very interesting, all lessons are clear and well thought

By Cristian C

Oct 22, 2016

Excellent course, full of practical work and very good examples.

By Maxime C

May 07, 2020

All basic negotiation techniques and great tests and interviews

By Lucas R

Aug 06, 2018

A really helpful and didatic course. It takes 2-4 hours weekly.

By Lisanne T

Sep 01, 2017

Great insights and tips! Very easy to learn and very applicable

By Abelardo Q F J

Aug 07, 2015

Great course. Negotiation in a unique and very clever approach.

By Daniel A V A

Jun 13, 2020

Definitely a course worth taking if you are into negotiations.

By Gaurav M

May 17, 2020

One of the best programs. The assignments are really engaging.

By Irina C

May 08, 2020

One of the best courses I have ever seen. Well done professor!

By Royston F D

May 02, 2020

Good course to get you hooked on to the basics of negotiation!