Chevron Left
Back to Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Network Dynamics of Social Behavior by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
253 ratings
69 reviews

About the Course

How do revolutions emerge without anyone expecting them? How did social norms about same sex marriage change more rapidly than anyone anticipated? Why do some social innovations take off with relative ease, while others struggle for years without spreading? More generally, what are the forces that control the process of social evolution –from the fashions that we wear, to our beliefs about religious tolerance, to our ideas about the process of scientific discovery and the best ways to manage complex research organizations? The social world is complex and full of surprises. Our experiences and intuitions about the social world as individuals are often quite different from the behaviors that we observe emerging in large societies. Even minor changes to the structure of a social network - changes that are unobservable to individuals within those networks - can lead to radical shifts in the spread of new ideas and behaviors through a population. These “invisible” mathematical properties of social networks have powerful implications for the ways that teams solve problems, the social norms that are likely to emerge, and even the very future of our society. This course condenses the last decade of cutting-edge research on these topics into six modules. Each module provides an in-depth look at a particular research puzzle -with a focus on agent-based models and network theories of social change -and provides an interactive computational model for you try out and to use for making your own explorations! Learning objectives - after this course, students will be able to... - explain how computer models are used to study challenging social problems - describe how networks are used to represent the structure of social relationships - show how individual actions can lead to unintended collective behaviors - provide concrete examples of how social networks can influence social change - discuss how diffusion processes can explain the growth social movements, changes in cultural norms, and the success of team problem solving...

Top reviews

PG

Jul 29, 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

SC

Jan 21, 2018

A Crisp yet effective overview of some of the most critical works in the field of Networking. Anyone from the fields of Management, Sociology, Anthropology et al should try the MOOC.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 68 Reviews for Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

By Jeffrey P

Apr 12, 2020

A short course (I completed in a single evening) but really interesting with lots of potential applications.

By Martin L

Dec 04, 2018

Interesting course! Concepts are very well explained, but it misses practical classes in NetLogo.

By Manyu

May 31, 2018

Very down-to-earth. Highly recommended for anyone who wants basic knowledge on network dynamics.

By Venkataraman G

Dec 10, 2019

This is an excellent introductory course. Highly recommended for students of social sciences.

By Fabián J G V

Apr 06, 2020

Excelent course to start in Network Dynamics. I hope a more advanced course after this one.

By Hugo M d F

May 31, 2020

An eye-opening course, well structured and with a good balance of knowledge and analysis.

By Aleix D

Mar 17, 2019

Very interesting topics. I can't wait to apply them to current research.

By Hansel E

Aug 01, 2020

Insightful course with knowledge that can be applied in various fields.

By Jack O

Aug 04, 2018

An excellent and inspiring introduction to a new approach to sociology.

By Skyler S

Sep 25, 2019

Very interesting course. Occasionally test questions are too vague.

By Ramkumar R

Jan 09, 2019

Simple concise videos. Crisp explanations. Cool demos with Netlogo.

By Gustavo H d S

Jun 26, 2020

Bring us a new way to see the people's behavior and the world.

By Fayez K

Dec 01, 2019

Amazing course! Taught me a ton. Buying a new one real soon

By Ana G R M

Sep 09, 2019

Both Professors easily give an overview of Network Dynamics

By Daniel H J

Jan 17, 2020

It's a good course for introduction to social networks

By Jasmine B

Jul 06, 2020

Congratulations. It is a very well structured course.

By Ignacio O

Feb 01, 2019

Great introductory course, although a bit too easy.

By Kedric W

Oct 21, 2019

A great entry level course for network dynamics.

By Gabriela M

Nov 21, 2017

Extremely educational. Totally recommend!

By Reka P

Jun 03, 2018

It was extremely didactic and logical.

By pranav n

Sep 05, 2018

needs more practical exercises

By bhanu

Aug 07, 2018

wonderful experience

By Yijun C

Jul 14, 2020

As far as I am concerned, this course is helpful. It gives me some understanding of social behaviours from a higher level. For example, social norms can not only be regulated by centralised authorities but also be naturally formed by people involved in social network (our society). Additionally, it talks about how network structure can affect the contagion. Also, different kinds of contagion will have different performances in the same network structure. However, the contents of this course doesn't include extract mathematical model. I hope it can tell us something related to math, which could explain the social phenomenon in a more analytical way in the next version!

By Siddhi G P

May 31, 2018

This is a really good course for beginners, and it gets across some great and important ideas very intuitively (even without getting into very rigorous analysis, it does a great job). It would really help if some more material on using NetLogo could be provided, but overall this is a great course.

By bernard

Jun 26, 2018

Great course, through this course i learned a few things on how people interact. Ideas in this course are not only applicable to people, but also diseases, problem solving and many more. I highly recommend to all managers and others interested in policy or human behavior in general