Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,283 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

VK

Jul 26, 2020

This course has been an eye-opener for me and has helped me to better understand the brain from a perspective of empathy towards those suffering from debilitating disorders, thanks to Professor Mason.

MF

Dec 29, 2021

Excellent course for understanding the extent to which human neurobiology is complex and fascinating, with multiple opportunities to compare findings with other species and get a better understanding.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 757 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Dr. R Y

Feb 27, 2020

It is very good course for develop concept and I would like to give thanks to Professor Peggy Mason for conductive a fine knowledgeable course .Thank you very much once again I will be more happy if you give me certificate written with Distinction. I also appreciate to courser for giving as platform to get knowledge globally.

By Giannina C M

Jun 30, 2020

Dr. Mason kept me engaged the entire course and made all concepts super easy to understand. I loved the small check-ins in between videos and having to apply the knowledge we learned in our quizzes and final project! 10/10 recommend to anyone who wants to learn more about how the brain is involved in every play of life!

By Donna P P

Dec 18, 2019

This is a practical, well-organized course that provides a good intro to the area of neurobiology. I have a graduate degree but it is not related to this field. I found the course to be challenging, but not overwhelming. Dr. Mason offers a strong scientific base, yet connects course content effectively to everyday life.

By Prisha C

Mar 31, 2022

Professor Mason is a wonderful teacher. She explained difficult concepts so easily and in a fun way. The assignments specially the peer-reviewed one at the end was also a great way to interact with others taking the course. Overall, taking this course has been a wonderful experience for me. Thanks for an amazing course!

By David G

Feb 22, 2021

Professor Mason does an outstanding job of explaining neurobiology concepts and processes. She makes the class entertaining, although the subject matter related to brain malfunctions is dismal. I would highly recommend this course for people interested in learning more about the brain. Thanks so much Professor Mason!

By Thomas L

Jun 4, 2020

Professor Mason provides a very extensive, yet accessible, introduction to neurobiology with a focus on common neurobiological diseases. The focus on diseases helps to understand how the neurobiology of the human body works by discussing what happens when things go wrong. Excellent course! Thank you Professor Mason!

By Eva Z

Sep 21, 2017

I took this course for the second time to renew my knowledge. I absolutely in love with neurobiology thanks to Professor Manson. It was interesting even as I remembered about a half of the course. I definitely recommend this course to be taken a few times. Or once in a while to enjoy such a passionate neurobiologist!

By Ignacio C C

Apr 7, 2018

Peggy Mason is exceptional at communicating complex concepts in a simple way. It's the most engaging Coursera course I've done so far!

Despite having no medical background, Peggy made it easy to follow and stay connected. The course was interesting and informative, and she made the links to everyday's life very clear.

By Rümeysa D

Sep 2, 2020

I am very thankful for being able to attend these valuable lectures taught by such an intelligent and powerful person. I hope I will have other opportunities like this to learn more from her in the future. Also, I will keep visiting this brilliant website to improve my skills and knowledge. Thank you for everything!

By Yining Y

Apr 8, 2022

This is the best coursera course I have ever had. Dr. Mason clearly interprets every point. During the class, she tries her best to talk about the neurobiology. I can tell how deep love she delves in neuroscience from her shining eyes and passionate smile. The class is strongly recommended, and definitely to take!

By Dr.Rekha S

Feb 10, 2021

I wish everyone who is interested in neurology should undergo this course. I have learnt a lot. The thing with I used to neglect or not taken seriously Now started looking at it, analyse it ,try to get remedy. All because of Prof. Peggy Mason.i will be always thankful to her .will do further related courses too.

By Julie K

Feb 14, 2021

I thought the teacher was very engaging. Her pace is good. Illustrations are fantastic. I just didn't have enough medical/biological science background to keep up with all the terms and descriptions. I have learned A LOT in the first 2 weeks, but I also knew I was going to be totally lost, so I unenrolled.

By Nurtan T

Dec 20, 2020

Really amazing course. Dr Peggy Mason is excellent in explaining the content in a positive and enthausiastic way which is easy to follow. Of course you do need to study but I found this course practical and great in explaining the basics of how my brain functions. I will continue studying the follow up courses.

By AISHWARYA A

Aug 24, 2017

Excellent course. Gave me a good platform to learn the basics of neurobiology. The additional lab videos were fabulous. I totally enjoyed every bit of it. Professor Peggy was amazing, she explained the concepts in such an interesting way with real life examples, that I really enjoyed it. Thank you Prof. Peggy!

By Nicolas Z

Jul 12, 2020

Great course! The 10 weeks fly by as your learn a wide variety of topics with a funny and very smart teacher Peggy Mason. This course is not only for medicine, neuroscience or other majors. It is for anyone who dares to explore the importance of the brain on our daily lives. More than a course, an experience.

By Renugadevi K

May 22, 2020

Prossor peggy mason has done a very wondeful lively lectures which made to understand very clearly. Her teaching style and interest in giving her knowedlege to us is enormous. We can understand her dedication in her lecture. Thanks coursera for giving us the opportunity to meet such a well experienced person

By Hilary V

Apr 24, 2020

Professor Mason enthusiasm and love of her subject radiates through and makes this course such a joy to participate in, she obviously knows her stuff through and through and instills trust in me as a student. I love the balance between imparting facts and then relating them to our day to day life, good job!

By Natalia

Aug 22, 2017

I would love to recommend the course. I enjoyed the course despite it were pretty intense 10 weeks and I had to learn a lot. Of course it's only a beginning and there is an infinite way forward. Professor is making the process very engaging and it's impossible not to fell in love with neurobiology.💛 science

By Anne-Claude G

Jul 20, 2020

It was a very exciting course and I have particularly enjoyed the passion of Prof. Peggy Mason to share her deep knowledge with us. The course is extremely well done. It gives us the basic keys to understand the brain functions and inspires me to go further. Thank you very much for this high quality course.

By Jamie G

Jul 8, 2020

This class was a fun way to approach this subject. The instructor is funny, gives close-up dissections, and lots of real-world examples in colloquial and medical terms that help the learner engage in the study of neurobiology. I thoroughly enjoyed this class, and I hope to continue to study under Dr. Mason.

By FRANCK R S

Mar 12, 2018

This a very fascinating MOOC, Professor Peggy Mason is a great, captivating teacher and a very positive, wonderful human being, sciences and humanity needs more people like Her! One you get this course you will fell in love with Neurobiology , be prepared for that! Thank you Professor for your dedication!

By Joel E

Dec 11, 2021

Prof. Mason has done an outstanding job in putting this course together and delivering it in such an understandable and passionate way. The complexity of the human brain is breathtaking. Yet Prof. Mason was able to provide insight into many aspects of how the brain and nervous system functions. Thank you!

By Georgia K

Jan 4, 2021

I found the Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life to be a useful course which gave me a more in depth understanding of the brain anatomy and how neurons work. This was an easy course to follow and Dr. Mason does a great job explaining everything in detail. I truly enjoyed this course.

By Alena Z

May 25, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course ! I loved the Professor Mason, she managed to explain everything in such easy terms. For me it was the first time to deal with the science of neurobiology, and I am happy I have done this course as I have learned so much! Thank you again or providing this wonderful opportunity!

By Adzkia Z I

Nov 25, 2021

This class from Professor Mason has taught me to understand that brain has such complex structures, sometimes their functions overlap with each other, are dependent, and involve many processes when executing one task. Therefore, I get to know about neurodiversity and individual differences in the brain