Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,567 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

VK

Jul 26, 2020

This course has been an eye-opener for me and has helped me to better understand the brain from a perspective of empathy towards those suffering from debilitating disorders, thanks to Professor Mason.

PM

Mar 22, 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 836 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Nicolas Z

Jul 12, 2020

Great course! The 10 weeks fly by as your learn a wide variety of topics with a funny and very smart teacher Peggy Mason. This course is not only for medicine, neuroscience or other majors. It is for anyone who dares to explore the importance of the brain on our daily lives. More than a course, an experience.

By Renugadevi K

May 22, 2020

Prossor peggy mason has done a very wondeful lively lectures which made to understand very clearly. Her teaching style and interest in giving her knowedlege to us is enormous. We can understand her dedication in her lecture. Thanks coursera for giving us the opportunity to meet such a well experienced person

By Hilary V

Apr 24, 2020

Professor Mason enthusiasm and love of her subject radiates through and makes this course such a joy to participate in, she obviously knows her stuff through and through and instills trust in me as a student. I love the balance between imparting facts and then relating them to our day to day life, good job!

By Natalia

Aug 22, 2017

I would love to recommend the course. I enjoyed the course despite it were pretty intense 10 weeks and I had to learn a lot. Of course it's only a beginning and there is an infinite way forward. Professor is making the process very engaging and it's impossible not to fell in love with neurobiology.💛 science

By Anne-Claude G

Jul 20, 2020

It was a very exciting course and I have particularly enjoyed the passion of Prof. Peggy Mason to share her deep knowledge with us. The course is extremely well done. It gives us the basic keys to understand the brain functions and inspires me to go further. Thank you very much for this high quality course.

By Jamie G

Jul 8, 2020

This class was a fun way to approach this subject. The instructor is funny, gives close-up dissections, and lots of real-world examples in colloquial and medical terms that help the learner engage in the study of neurobiology. I thoroughly enjoyed this class, and I hope to continue to study under Dr. Mason.

By FRANCK R S

Mar 12, 2018

This a very fascinating MOOC, Professor Peggy Mason is a great, captivating teacher and a very positive, wonderful human being, sciences and humanity needs more people like Her! One you get this course you will fell in love with Neurobiology , be prepared for that! Thank you Professor for your dedication!

By Joel E

Dec 11, 2021

Prof. Mason has done an outstanding job in putting this course together and delivering it in such an understandable and passionate way. The complexity of the human brain is breathtaking. Yet Prof. Mason was able to provide insight into many aspects of how the brain and nervous system functions. Thank you!

By Georgia K

Jan 4, 2021

I found the Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life to be a useful course which gave me a more in depth understanding of the brain anatomy and how neurons work. This was an easy course to follow and Dr. Mason does a great job explaining everything in detail. I truly enjoyed this course.

By Alena Z

May 25, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course ! I loved the Professor Mason, she managed to explain everything in such easy terms. For me it was the first time to deal with the science of neurobiology, and I am happy I have done this course as I have learned so much! Thank you again or providing this wonderful opportunity!

By Rishita A

Jan 23, 2023

Since I'm a lover of Neurobiology, I loved this course. It has everything that is needed to be covered. The concepts are explained with real-life examples. Also, the classes with the dissection of the brain and its parts were my favorite part of this course. Amazing content. I definitely recommended it.

By Adzkia Z I

Nov 25, 2021

This class from Professor Mason has taught me to understand that brain has such complex structures, sometimes their functions overlap with each other, are dependent, and involve many processes when executing one task. Therefore, I get to know about neurodiversity and individual differences in the brain

By ANANDITHA M P

Jun 12, 2020

I really enjoyed going through this course. It definitely has increased my understanding of the brain and concepts which were difficult before were explained so well in this course. Above all, Professor Peggy Mason’s teaching is so understandable, easy and enjoyable. Love her passion for neurobiology!!

By Alfredo A Y

Sep 17, 2022

I loved this course as it gives us an overview of how brain works without overwhelming us with details. It also emphasizes how disruptions to normal functioning can have many different consequences on everyday's life.

I would have loved this course to delve deeper into emotions and higher processing.

By Ilya M

Dec 14, 2016

I tried this course for a third time already during last 3 years, and finally I got my first certificate of Neuroscience. I also watch 4 other courses on Coursera. And I think this one is the best start for these who decide to dive into Neuroscience.

Thanks to everyone who made this courser possible!

By Prakash P

Oct 22, 2020

Those who are interested in neuroscience, this is an excellent course which covers many aspects of neurobiology.The special feature of this course is it explains the disordeo and diseases caused by the impairment of CNS or PNS. I will recommend this course who wish to do graduation in neuroscience.

By Susan P

Mar 18, 2021

This course was informative and well organized. I expected to learn about how the brain functions and I did, but I didn't know I would be learning about things like aging and what comes with it. Professor Mason brought not only factual information but heart to the lectures and I appreciated that.

By Swati K

Nov 19, 2018

I loved this course and the thoughtful way in which Prof. Peggy has designed and delivered the course. She has provided sufficient links for extra resources and is very lucid in her delivery throughout. Will strongly recommend it to anyone who is intrigued by the mystic ways in which mind works!

By Manuel J P M

Jan 4, 2021

Excellent course, Professor Mason's explanations were clear, and if not, you have acces to other sources to search the information that you want. I'm sure that if you are interested in neurobiology, this course is totally for you and the title of "Neurobiology of Everyday Life" is not in vain.

By Julie g

Mar 14, 2022

cours très bien organisé, simple d'accès et pourtant déjà très riche !

Un grand merci à Peggy Mason qui permet, grâce à sa diction, son sourire et ses exemples, de se sentir vraiment bien accrochée aux vidéos dont le format est juste parfait.

C'était mon premier vrai "MOOC" et j'en redemande !

By Meidi C

May 31, 2020

Pr Mason is EXCELLENT!

I really enjoyed this course and could not expected more from it. Everything remained pretty basic in terms of neuro-knowledge in general but it has definitely provided me with fundamentals and has reinforced my interest of this topic.

Thanks Coursera, Thanks Pr P. Mason

By Caroline B

Dec 2, 2020

Loved it and would recommend to anybody that's interested in the subject, you can start with no basis in neuroscience and little knowledge in biology and you will understand everything. Dr Peggy Mason is incredible and her teaching was great, I was so so so happy to have taken that course !

By Sergey C

Apr 15, 2021

Great course from a great team! Thanks for your awesome material, I learned a lot from it. Prof Mason is an amazing lector — it was extremely productive to learn with the way how the course is organized: thoroughly prepared curriculum, short videos, frequent tests, interesting final exam.

By Bryan C S S

Jul 25, 2020

Prof Peggy Mason was passionate about what she teaches. Her ability to link her vast knowledge about Neurobiology to everyday life is a big benefit. As in any online course, this requires commitment. But the benefits start to increase greatly towards the last few weeks, at least for me.

By K. S

Mar 23, 2019

This has been a fantastic course that has completely transformed the way I look at life, and the way I look at others. The passion and the knowledge that Dr. Peggy Mason brought to the classes were amazing. Thank you Dr. Peggy Mason and your team for producing such a remarkable course.