Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,564 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

VK

Jul 26, 2020

This course has been an eye-opener for me and has helped me to better understand the brain from a perspective of empathy towards those suffering from debilitating disorders, thanks to Professor Mason.

PM

Mar 22, 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 836 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Himabindu S

Jun 29, 2020

"5 Stars" goes to Professor Peggy Mason's way of explaining such a complex subject in a layman' language for Non-Medicos. The examples, case studies in each of the module were very elaborate and clearly explained. I thoroughly enjoyed learning the 10 weeks course. Thank you so much.

By Diane A

Jul 18, 2022

Excellent comprehenisive course on the brain and how it works. It is detailed enough for students in the medical field but easily understandable by non-medical students.Peggy Mason is an excellent instructor and knows how to break down the information so that it easy to understand.

By Brenda J H

Jun 13, 2019

This was a very hard course due to it's many parts. The instructor Dr. Peggy Mason

made it so much easier, because she explains everything so well. II really enjoyed learning .She is

a excellent teacher and she makes it easier to understand. Thank you !!!

Brenda Hill

By Yuvika B

Jul 9, 2021

It was an amazing and super informative course. Prof. Mason's enthusiasm while teaching just made it better! All the topics covered were detailed and well explained. Dissections and extra reading material dwelled deeper into the topics. Overall, it was a very fun learning experience.

By Clara M

Feb 21, 2021

This course is really worthwhile, you feel as if you were in a classroom. The teacher Peggy Mason is an excellent person and she and her team did an amazing job. You can learn a lot of things about everyday life and how we as living beings act.

Lovely, I strongly recommend it. Do it!

By SHMATKO Y

Oct 6, 2022

I am sure it is one of the best neuroscience courses for beginners. I enjoyed these 10 weeks learning the basics of neurscience. Professor Peggy Mason is an amazing teacher and a wonderful presenter. I recommend this course to anyone who seeks the answers of how our brain works.

By Kate N

Apr 30, 2021

This is the most engaging, informative, and well-structured course I've seen so far on Coursera. Professor Peggy Mason is a fantastic lecturer, I also watched her lectures outside the course with pleasure. This course is quite worth the dedication you need to put in to finish it.

By Art V

Jun 16, 2019

This course helped me understand my memories about the brain stroke my relative had and the problems with voluntary movement and producing language she experienced after that with. I'm excited about all the information about brain structure and functions provided in this course.

By Cassandra M A

Dec 13, 2016

Dr. Peggy Mason is a wonderful professor. Her lectures will not just help whomever takes this course understand the neurobiology of the brain better. They will also help people genuinely feel empathy for individuals suffering from neuropsychiatric disorders. Highly recommend!

By Amir A T

Oct 3, 2022

A very thorough and concise introduction of how the brain works. The way Prof. Mason teaches and elaborates on different features of the nervous system is unique and astonishing. I highly recommend this course to the ones seeking knowledge revolving around the human brain.

By Manuel E P

Jul 25, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, I found the lectures stimulating and highly informative! I now see neurobiology in my life more often--I can observe the cerebellar function of cats like never before, and I feel that I now have a good understanding of mammalian neuroanatomy.

By Montse P

Nov 28, 2022

This course allowed me to learn about the brain in a very understandable way. Prof. Mason is a really good communicator and professional. A lot of questions come up after every single lesson, wanting to know more about all she explained. I enjoy it very much!! Thank you.

By Lara D d G

Jul 12, 2017

Excellent course. The teacher is so passionate about the topic that it makes you want to learn even more. Very well explained, short videos that help you remember the important concepts better and very well picked subjects. I wish there were more Dr. Peggy Masons around!

By Simon C

Oct 3, 2021

I loved Peggy's enthusiasm which was very communicative. The content is well structured and easy to follow. Many examples are given to illustrate the content. I strongly recommend this course for people interested in the brain who don't have any background on the topic.

By John C

Nov 15, 2016

As a retired prof with many years of teaching experience, I can safely say that Peggy Mason is an absolutely masterful teacher. She is passionate about her subject matter and she explains it beautifully. This is the best MOOC course I have taken--and I've had several.

By Jagruti P

Apr 15, 2021

Excellent course and very detailed description. The course gives a very good headstart for someone who wants to pursue a career in Neuroscience. The professor makes it really interesting and easy for the students to understand. I would definitely recommend this course.

By Yashika S

Oct 12, 2022

I am extremely delightful that I undertook this course. Professor Mason explained every concept in a very comprehensive and intersting way. The brain dissections at the end of modules were very helpful in understanding the anatomy of brain and its functions as well.

By Miguel L

Apr 5, 2017

This course goes into minute detail describing the brain and central nervous system anatomy , while relating its function and ailments to many conditions we see around us or even in ourselves . Great learning experience , and professor Mason's lectures are a joy .

By Afia M

Sep 18, 2020

Prof. Mason has clarified my doubts systematically with her best explanation and informative illustrations. One should consider this course to broaden their understanding of the basics of Neurobiology and Neuroanatomy. It was worth investing time in this course.

By Mandy W

Oct 12, 2021

This was the best online course I ever took. I learned so much, and Dr. Mason teaches the material in a very compelling way. Finishing the course is bittersweet because I would love to continue learning from her! I wholeheartedly recommend taking this course.

By Krista H

Aug 22, 2020

Best class I have ever taken. I love love LOVE the professor--she's brilliant and extremely passionate about what she does. Great course for anyone, even high schoolers. I took this as a junior in high school and did great! It's hard but very very worth it :)

By Osborne P

Mar 8, 2019

This professor has beautifully and skillfully chartered out this course each module after the other. Anyone interested in neuroscience or even just wanting to understand the beauty of the most magnificient part of our body shoudl definetely take this course!

By Lianis O

Jul 2, 2017

One of the best courses and professors I have ever had. Dr. Mason loves neuroscience and it comes across in her videos. She shows great respect and sympathy for the patients and medical conditions she describes. I can only hope she does more online courses.

By Gordana B

Oct 5, 2020

Professor Mason's enthusiasm for this endlessly fascinating topic is so infectious. I loved the format of the course, intertwined and supported by real life references and stories, a sure way for the learnt to be imbedid in memory. Thank you, prof Mason!