Chevron Left
Back to From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

Learner Reviews & Feedback for From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement by Emory University

4.8
stars
294 ratings
98 reviews

About the Course

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

Top reviews

CP
Nov 20, 2020

The use of interviews is very effective in this course. The content is so relevant to apply today in the U.S. socially, politically, and in business. I only wish I had learned more about this earlier.

EJ
Apr 26, 2020

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 99 Reviews for From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

By Darren G

Jan 23, 2016

A brilliant introduction to the principles of non-violence, the philosophy of the Civil Rights Movement in the United States, and the lives of those who were the founders of the movement including Dr. Marin Luther King. I've so many new heroes having completed this course. Cheers.

By Jeff T

Jul 7, 2020

Interesting and informative history of the nonviolent Civil Rights Movement provided by a veteran Civil Rights leader. Also, very practical examples of how nonviolence can be applied to a variety of situations including civil rights movement, education, business and personal lives.

By Kenyatta D B

Apr 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learning about the Nonviolence movement from Dr. Lafayette. I will definitely use some of these principles in my daily life. I am writing a book that takes place during the Civil Rights movement and this course will definitely help frame the story.

By David K

Jul 24, 2017

The lectures with Dr. LaFayette were excellent in their coverage of the topic, and they introduced me to many unsung heroes of the Civil Rights Movement. I also really appreciated the interviews with Dr. CT Vivian and Ambassador Andrew Young--I highly recommend taking this course.

By Chaundra W

Sep 24, 2017

Dr. Bernard LaFayette is an excellent storyteller and he recalls many of the events of the Civil Rights movement with great passion and reflection. All of the guest speakers and interviewers were excellent. There is a lot of important American History in this course.

By Ignasi I

Dec 3, 2016

Exceptional information and lessons to better understand what was the struggle for Civil Rights. The teachings of Dr. LaFayette invite to take the brief experience as a case study, worthy of being analyzed and considered when comparing it to other social movements.

By Siobhan C

Oct 21, 2021

Fantastic course – highly recommend to anyone wishing to get a deeper understanding about the Civil Rights movement and how it can be applied to modern day conflict. My only criticism? I'd love to hear more from – or about – the female activists of the movement.

By Kathleen R

Jul 26, 2020

Dr. Bernard Lafayette is a national treasure and his insights into one of the most important movements in American history are of incredible historical value and offer excellent instruction to new generations of change agents. Fascinating course.

By Christine

Oct 29, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course, particularly the breakdowns about nonviolence as a way of life/philosophy. The bonus interview with Rev. Vivian was amazing as well! A must-take class for the sheer volume of oral history you get from Dr. Lafayette.

By David L

Oct 16, 2021

This course was nice and educational. I know a lot of things about the Civil Rights movement in the '50's and '60's and I thought to myself that quizzes in the course was too easy, but I just did it for the experience and to further my education.

By Nisha A

Sep 8, 2020

It is a great course for anyone who wants to learn how one can participate in bringing about a social change. The course also covers the aspect of organizing the masses and that, for me, was the most helpful part in understanding such movements.

By Joanna D

Feb 16, 2020

Fascinating course featuring living civil rights activists. Focusing on the thoughts of those involved in the nonviolent approach of activists, it brought more depth to me on how this attitude to the civil rights struggle was successful.

By Sheila A

Jan 23, 2021

This was an excellent explanation for the Civil Rights Movement and the work of Dr. King. Some of the links don't work at all in the reading sections. Others you need to have a subscription to read, so that would be my only critique.

By Kerry T

Jun 29, 2017

This course provided valuable oral histories of the Civil Rights movement in America. My sincere gratitude to all those who put together this course, and of course to those who participated in advancing the cause of Civil Rights!

By Karl M

Jan 13, 2018

Done this course as a beginning to a new Shabbat practice really enjoyed it learned so much.As a Millenial and one who has dealt with domestic violence it helped me realize how nonviolent action can change a lot of things.

By L W

Jul 27, 2020

I love this course. It offers so many insights that you wouldn't be able to access anywhere else. The pace and level of depth is perfect, and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the videos. I have learnt so much. Thankyou.

By Joni L

Feb 4, 2016

I'm learning so much, and it's a wonderful format. We're going to need to know these principles of Nonviolence if we're to deal effectively with the regenerative changes needed. I'm so glad i heard about this course!

By Blaise L

Sep 7, 2018

Fascinating. I recommend this course for anyone who wants an in-depth understanding of the role of non-violence in the success of the Civil Rights movement, and its relevance to the world of race relations today.

By Jackson M

Jul 31, 2020

I love this and have been recommending it to everyone I know. Am also going to see if components of it can be added to our First Year Experience classes. What an inspiration and education this has been.

By Christine P

Nov 21, 2020

The use of interviews is very effective in this course. The content is so relevant to apply today in the U.S. socially, politically, and in business. I only wish I had learned more about this earlier.

By Peter F

Oct 1, 2021

T​hiis course gave many additional insights to the motivations and strategies of the leadership of a number of historical events. It was a real treat to hear from someone who lived it.

By Edward B

Apr 25, 2018

Among the very best courses led by the participants in the struggle for civil rights. Helped me to gain a better understanding of what has been gained (and lost) in our nation's story.

By Haley M

Jul 2, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this class and learned so much. This was very eye opening to me and all of the principles taught here are very valuable. I highly recommend taking this course.

By Fernando E B N

Oct 23, 2018

It was an amazing experience to learn with Dr LaFayette about nonviolence practices, methodologies and foundations in US history and considering a worldwide and human perspective.

By Lisa A S

Sep 25, 2020

I wish I could have added weeks...even months...more of this class. I have learned so much about the civil rights movements and so many of those involved in it. Fantastic class!