Chevron Left
Back to Social Norms, Social Change I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Norms, Social Change I by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
1,739 ratings
451 reviews

About the Course

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top reviews

PE
Mar 5, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
Jun 25, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 440 Reviews for Social Norms, Social Change I

By Oana V N

Dec 28, 2019

An essential course for helping professionals. I can't wait to read professor's Bicchieri work on social norms!

By Albert B

Jan 15, 2019

An awesome, concise, and detailed introduction to understanding how to approach social norms and social change.

By Carlo

Nov 27, 2016

Socially relevant philosophy and psychology: great material! Crystal clear! Everyone should watch this course.

By Rodrigo S

Jul 23, 2017

Very good course, helped me to understand some of the social behaviors that I am conditioned in my country.

By Sarah M

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

By 鈴木日出海

Jan 29, 2019

The professor explain so clear, but the content is so productive and fruitful.

Thank you so much Sir!!

By ANANT S

Aug 4, 2018

Very good course...........Good Experience...........Easy to Operate it online...........Well Drafted

By Ahmed M E

Feb 10, 2018

Very Important course for all those who work in areas of community development and behavioral change

By Farhad B

Feb 23, 2020

It was a very nice course.

Thank you, Thank Coursera and Thank dear teacher and UNICEF.

Best Regards

By Godwin K

Sep 17, 2017

It has been enlightening and fulfilling! More of what I should have known 10 years ago! So great!

By Najib a A

May 1, 2020

It is an important course for all workers in social work and leaders of change in their societies

By Musa Y S

Dec 30, 2019

Dear Professor Cristina Bicchieri just was amazingly present that course for us thank u so much

By Hafþór L

Oct 16, 2018

This course is really worth your time and opens new world to your and everyone else's behaviour

By Shrabanti K

Jun 11, 2020

This is such an wonderful course i have with an amazing instructor, she is really really good.

By Vertika H S

Aug 9, 2019

the course really helps one understand the social issues prevalent all across the globe.

By Ayush J

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course for development communicators, and social norms change practicioners.

By Salman K

May 10, 2019

The course was really helpful and pedagogy used in the course was very user friendly.

By Abdula K

Jul 25, 2020

Good information but i felt a little bored during the lectures.

By Ivana V

Feb 19, 2020

It would have been more interesting if the focus wasn't predominantly on theory which is all quite similar and gets kind of dull after a while. Including more diverse practical examples, or even better presenting case studies would have made the course much better for me.

By Zohre S

Apr 6, 2020

I've learnt some interesting useful terms like "reference network" to describe daily struggles but I wish I could intellectually challenge myself more. Another significant downside to the course is the examples and the colonial mentality behind them!

By Juan E

Mar 4, 2019

No es suficientemente claro en las explicaciones por lo tanto las opciones de respuestas a los cuestionarios complican mas la percepción de haber o no comprendido los conceptos.

By Cheryl C

Apr 9, 2020

The class was well taught; However, I would have preferred more examples. That is more applications across different topics where the need for social change is indicated.

By Danielle G

Mar 26, 2017

It was alright ..confusing at times an seemed a bit convoluted. someone needs to come up with a better way to explain these concepts so that they are not so jumbled.

By Winnifred R L

Jun 11, 2017

This course covers a lot of definitions and basics so is less engaging than the second course but it is certainly worth working through. A great enterprise!

By RECEP B

Feb 22, 2020

4.Haftanın videolarında Türkçe altyazı olmadığı için pek anlayamadım.4 haftanın videolarına Türkçe altyazı eklenmeli.Onun dışında güzel bir kurstu.