Chevron Left
Back to Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets by Duke University

4.8
stars
4,695 ratings
1,361 reviews

About the Course

The oil and gas industry has an enormous impact on all aspects of daily life. Individuals, corporations, and national governments make financial and policy decisions based on the cost, use, and availability of these two natural resources. This two-week course looks at the two most fundamental aspects of the oil and gas industry, its operations and markets, each of which is addressed as a separate module in the course. In the operations module, the course provides an overview of the production of oil and gas, from initial exploration to final transport. The second module focuses on the forces that drive the industry's operations, the oil and gas markets, including the cost of wells, seasonal impacts on prices, and the role of oil reserves. After every lesson, learners will take short quizzes to test their newly acquired knowledge, participant in crowd-sourced discussions about global markets, and complete a final project....

Top reviews

EK
May 4, 2020

It was simply excellent! Very clear and comprehensive. Really gave a good overview of the oil and gas sector. The professor's voice was also very clear. He was well spoken. I learned a lot. Thank you!

BK
May 9, 2020

From this course I have learn much more information regarding the drilling sites, production , reservoir contents and more specially Economic price rise and fall in this industry. I thank to Coursera

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,349 Reviews for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

By Elisabetta P

Oct 7, 2020

I strongly recommend this course to anyone interested in the oil and gas industry. It is clear, well structured, it has a good pace and is understandable also for non-experts.

By Neerajreddy

Apr 26, 2020

The complete course on refining is just outlined, it would have been helpful if the course had the complete process description including the phenomena of chemical importance.

By Saikat C

Apr 20, 2020

An excellent course to understand the fundamentals of oil and gas operations and markets. Special thanks to Prof. Pratson, whose explanation of concepts were always spot-on!!

By Mustahsan S

Sep 20, 2018

The quality of this course is impressive. I am very glad that the time I put here was worth it. Recommended to everybody who is interested in knowing about Oil & Gas industry.

By maggie

Jan 26, 2019

This course allowed me to know in depth about the oil and gas industry especially the markets. A very good course to get an overall knowledge about the oil and gas industry..

By Pedro J

Mar 7, 2018

Muy buen curso, en lo personal me ayuda mucho ya que soy estudiante de ingeniería petroquímica y tener algunos datos muy importante de refinación es muy bueno, muchas gracias

By ANDRES F C L

Jul 20, 2020

Great course for an introduction to Oil and Gas and, to know some of the terms more related to the financial side, that as a young geology student are really useful to know.

By Zameer

May 19, 2020

Presentation of the course was such that I have learned each every aspect of oil and gas industry, it may help me in future.

Very well and detailed presentation by presenter.

By BAYTAMO, T J (

Oct 5, 2020

Nice course for those chemical engineers who like to explore different fields of chemical engineering. Kudos to the entire team, I enjoyed it very much; highly recommended.

By GERARDO U G G

Jan 20, 2020

The course comprehensively covers the oil business in a simple and didactic way. For those who start in the oil and gas industry, it offers a broad vision of the business.

By Artem S

Nov 20, 2019

It was very useful for me. Short presentation about 5-7 minutes let you to concentrate on the main topics. All information was submitted in clear way. Thank you very much!

By Romina E D

Oct 26, 2020

Great course, very interesting, you can mold it according to your schedule. All the information given is complete and clear. I've learned a lot in this course, thank you.

By Abel V O

May 7, 2020

Excellent course, what i like the most was the interphase between the technical and economical worlds and the clarity vision of the big picture of the oil & gas business.

By Denis T

Oct 3, 2019

A very good and succinct introduction to the Petroleum and Natural Gas Industry. The lecturer is a fantastic teacher with a very good manner of presentation and attitude.

By Salisu u f

May 26, 2020

The course was self explanatory and well understood, help me bridges some gaps in my academic background. Kudos to cousera for bringing this amazing instructor on board.

By Maaz k

May 16, 2020

This course is splendid it covering all factors related to oil and gas generation,operations and marketing.Thanks Lincoln pratson,sir you are great,I love from Pakistan.

By Mustafa H

Nov 15, 2020

I thank Coursera for providing such great content in the oil and gas industry. Finally, I would like to thank Professor Lincoln Partson for this wonderful explanation.

By J. D G

Aug 18, 2020

I loved it and believe everyone should take this course to get a snapshot about global demand and how the oil & gas industry works. Great professor and great slides.

By Andrés M A R

Jul 20, 2020

Very complete explanation fo all activies in the hydrocarbon industry chain. And very focused in the interpretation of the markets avalible of it's commercialization.

By Makok T

Mar 26, 2021

as a petroleum engineer with 12 years of expertise I must admit that I learned so many new things here, really appreciate the efforts made to make this great course

By Shadab h

Nov 7, 2019

I'm very happy to get a certificate from courseera and I'm very thankful to course era and professor Lincoln pratson of duke university to share a knowledge with us

By Zulfiqar A

Apr 17, 2019

Short and concise but thoroughly encompassing every aspect of Oil and Gas Industry.

Highly recommended for those who want to get an overview of Oil and gas industryl

By mostafa k

Dec 8, 2018

It helped me a lot to have a great experience into the field of Oil & Gas Industry. I am really sure that, it would be helpful to anyone to have a course like this.

By Joaquin G L

Mar 14, 2018

Everything is perfectly explained from the start and all the content material allow you to get a perfect idea on this market, even if you haven't any previous idea.

By Haroon A

Apr 11, 2021

Very very inspirational course and I've really enjoyed it even first time in my life concerning to oil and gas fields. Thanks to Duke and especially to my mentors.