Chevron Left
Back to Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets by Duke University

4.8
stars
4,007 ratings
1,164 reviews

About the Course

The oil and gas industry has an enormous impact on all aspects of daily life. Individuals, corporations, and national governments make financial and policy decisions based on the cost, use, and availability of these two natural resources. This two-week course looks at the two most fundamental aspects of the oil and gas industry, its operations and markets, each of which is addressed as a separate module in the course. In the operations module, the course provides an overview of the production of oil and gas, from initial exploration to final transport. The second module focuses on the forces that drive the industry's operations, the oil and gas markets, including the cost of wells, seasonal impacts on prices, and the role of oil reserves. After every lesson, learners will take short quizzes to test their newly acquired knowledge, participant in crowd-sourced discussions about global markets, and complete a final project....

Top reviews

EK

May 05, 2020

It was simply excellent! Very clear and comprehensive. Really gave a good overview of the oil and gas sector. The professor's voice was also very clear. He was well spoken. I learned a lot. Thank you!

BK

May 10, 2020

From this course I have learn much more information regarding the drilling sites, production , reservoir contents and more specially Economic price rise and fall in this industry. I thank to Coursera

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,151 Reviews for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

By Zahid R P

Jun 27, 2020

The course was very well taught and managed, it was also very much interesting but the corner in which it can be improved little bit is to provide notes of all videos in pdf so a learner can also review it later when needed.

Thankyou

By P.Paul S

Apr 07, 2020

This course briefly elaborates on the essential aspects of oil and gas sector in an easily understandable manner..much useful for enhancing one's career. Thank you Duke university and Prof.Lincoln Pratson for your beautiful lectures

By Shivanshu S

Jul 08, 2017

It is really a very good course, especially for someone like me who is a still a sophomore in petroleum engineering and would love to know about the intricacies of the industry of which he is going to be a part in the near future.

By Meriem L

Apr 13, 2020

It's a very interesting course . it covers the most important parts of Oil and Gas Operations and Markets.

very helpful to understand the Oil and Gas Industry. I'm glad to complete this course successfuly and i recommend it.

By Moatter A

Jul 24, 2020

It could be improved with more knowledge related to the oil and gas industry and it should have more peer-graded assignments, and it could be improved by having at least a group assignment to improve teamwork ability!

By Michael R

Apr 11, 2020

Great class. The final peer-graded assignment needs more guidelines on what the format should look like. This causes the grades from peers to range greatly based on what each person thinks it should be.

By Alejandro A

Apr 21, 2020

Being my first finished course, I found it very easy to follow. Though I would include one last chapter with some updated information, since many things have changed since it was recorded in 2015

By 1_Aadhithiya K O M

Aug 17, 2020

A short clear course giving an overview of the oil and gas industries with its extraction,operation, distribution and sales.It's a beginner friendly course with clear explanation and a good quiz.

By Imtiaz A

Oct 31, 2018

This is the best course for someone in oil/gas industry. This course only clear basic operations of oil/gas industry but also gives you fundamental knowledge about Oil/gas industry marketing.

By Giorgio P

Feb 13, 2017

it's an interesting overview of the oil and gas industry and market. I'd have appreciated if it was longer than it is. Maybe, if they add another chapter about the economy it'd be better.

By Chinmay P

May 12, 2020

At some stages the instructor is blocking viewers from seeing Diagrams properly. Instructor at some point explains a topic in short & rapid manner which results into poor understanding

By Maria W O

Aug 05, 2018

This course gives a nice insight into the oil and gas industry, even if the student has no prior experience with it. However, the focus on the US was a bit redundant at times.

By Luis M d l R

Aug 24, 2018

Good but it is not deep enough, I would like to see a course focused on engineers that look for a course to acquire deeper knowledge.

But I am glad with this course, good job!

By Ganeshraj B

Aug 23, 2020

Good course. Rarely, the lecturer goes too fast, or does not stop to explain a new concept. Happened a couple times.

But, I gained valuable insight from this course.

By Romel G C A

Aug 15, 2019

This course contain current and global information about Oil and Gas Industry. In my opinion, is necesary implement excersices about real problems for all modules

By SABEEL A A K

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent course, especially for people practicing in the oil and gas industry. Gives you a clear view of various factors that affect operations in the industry.

By Rizwan Y

Apr 12, 2020

The Professor way of explaining was very Unique .This Course is very good for beginners Specially Who are interested to start their Job oil and Gas sector.

By Ooi Y C

Nov 29, 2019

Very good overview about the Industry, but information is too little, perhaps providing some more indepth insight towards the end of the course could be better.

By Miguel M S

Jun 17, 2020

Es un curso muy completo. Tal vez la desventaja es que está orientado hacia el mercado en E.U. lo cual no es tan bueno para quienes no somos norteamericanos.

By GAHOU m l s

Jun 14, 2020

this cours present the upstream midstrem and downstream of the oil and gas in all details. so it will important for every students and worker in this sector.

By S. A

Sep 07, 2020

The course I choose which related to my department and it is useful to know more concepts related to oil and gas exploration costs etc.. And then marketing.

By Marcio L d S

Oct 18, 2020

That was a great course. The information is clear and direct the learner for a practical application which can be applied as a discipline - a real service.

By Ayman M

Feb 21, 2017

Great Course!

I would prefer if it contains more demonstrative slides and reading materials, so it would be easier to absorb these interesting information.

By RCS S

May 20, 2020

Lincoln Pratson is an eminent personality and the way he delivered the course is pleasant and insightful. Thanks, Coursera for featuring such instructors

By Mohamed K S

Apr 13, 2020

This was really a great experience. A course taught by a valued teach. I learn so much about oil and gas industry , i'ts very helpful for the futur