Chevron Left
Back to Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets by Duke University

4.8
stars
3,470 ratings
1,013 reviews

About the Course

The oil and gas industry has an enormous impact on all aspects of daily life. Individuals, corporations, and national governments make financial and policy decisions based on the cost, use, and availability of these two natural resources. This two-week course looks at the two most fundamental aspects of the oil and gas industry, its operations and markets, each of which is addressed as a separate module in the course. In the operations module, the course provides an overview of the production of oil and gas, from initial exploration to final transport. The second module focuses on the forces that drive the industry's operations, the oil and gas markets, including the cost of wells, seasonal impacts on prices, and the role of oil reserves. After every lesson, learners will take short quizzes to test their newly acquired knowledge, participant in crowd-sourced discussions about global markets, and complete a final project....

Top reviews

EK

May 05, 2020

It was simply excellent! Very clear and comprehensive. Really gave a good overview of the oil and gas sector. The professor's voice was also very clear. He was well spoken. I learned a lot. Thank you!

EE

Jan 22, 2020

Very interesting. This course offer an useful overview of Oil & Gas industry, covering all relevant aspects.\n\nEven the Coursera platform support wonderfully videos and lessons.\n\nEmanuele Volterra

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,001 Reviews for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

By YAMEOGO S

Jul 20, 2020

Je suis issu ingénieur géologue mais ce cours en plus de me permettre de réviser certains concepts de géologie, m'a donné vraiment des solides connaissances sur Comment fonctionne le marché pétrolier et les cours du pétrole et tout ce qui est lié au market oil.

By Oleksii A

Apr 20, 2020

It was amazing time completing this course! It gives a good overview of the Oil&Gas industry as for beginner. Especially the finish work is very cleverly invented. It gives a good opportunity to uncover more about different companies and industry on the whole.

By NIRANJAN P

Jan 10, 2019

The course has been aptly design to give an overview about how the oil and gas industry operates. Anybody starting a career in oil and gas industry can go through this course to have insight about how the energy business of this particular segment is executed.

By SAMAN F

Jun 24, 2020

The course is highly informative and appropriate for introducing the Oil and Gas industry for beginners. Mr. Pratson has done an amazing job on the content of the course. The quizzes and assignments are well focused. This was fun and the easiest way to learn.

By Luisa A T C

Sep 07, 2017

El curso fue muy interesante y educativo, explica a grandes rasgos cada una de las etapas en la cadena de valor de la industria petrolera, las tareas complementan de forma adecuada lo que se expica en los videos. Es un curso que vale mucho la pena. Gracias.

By ERHIRHI A

Apr 21, 2020

This course is an enlightening masterpiece with a proper introduction into the much talked about Oil and Gas industry and intricate information on how prices are introduced. It's recommended for any one seeking adept yet overview knowledge of the industry.

By Jose F

Feb 21, 2017

An excellent summary of overall aspects of the Oil and Gas Industry, both on the technical and markets sides. Although, I think it would be a more complete course if it were to incluye environmental aspects of the industry too. Nonetheless, great course!

By Brandon A N M

Aug 03, 2020

Sinceramente gracias al curso entiendo mejor cómo es que se manejan las operaciones dentro de una refinería, y estoy seguro que estos conocimientos me ayudarán próximamente con mis prácticas laborales. (Soy estudiante de Ingeniería Química Industrial)

By Daphene R N

May 05, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. As an oil and gas accountant, this course helped me to understand more of the things that I see daily on revenue statements, joint interest billings, and other reports. The professor explained the concepts extremely well.

By Aashish M

Apr 14, 2020

The course gives you a good overview of the oil and gas industry as well as delves into the technical details & monetary understanding of the sector. I would certainly recommend anyone interested in energy sector to go through this intriguing course.

By SOUHARDYA B

May 04, 2020

Thank You, for sharing the immense knowledge on Oil and Gas Industry, ranging from exploration to operations and then the market. It couldn't have been better and thanks to Mr. Lincoln Praston, to share his prolific knowledge and experience with us.

By Franklyn N

May 18, 2020

A perfect and well detailed introduction into the oil and gas operations. The coordinator was able to convey his message in basic manner that anyone without prior knowledge would understand and even discuss the subject matter like a professional.

By Darshan J

Mar 26, 2020

I learnt a lot about O and G industry, oil wells depletion, royalty rights and markets. Overall this is a very nicely designed course for not only people who are aware about oil and gas but for the ones who have very little or no idea about it.

By Muhamad D S R

Mar 30, 2020

A well structured course as it is very informative and accessible to beginner learners into the O&G industry. Topics on the seasonal demand , distribution and oil price are particularly interesting to me as it expand on what I have learn before.

By Toghrul G

Apr 22, 2020

Very useful and interesting. The course content covers both operations with some detailed information that is quite comprehensive by non-engineers and market data for those who don't have any financial classes background. Highly recommended.

By Christian S M

Aug 09, 2016

Thats an excellent course. It teaches you really good different topics of oil explorations and government rules related to it. There are technical classes and economical classes. Excellent course to do if you have free times for 2 weeks.

By Mano M

May 03, 2020

This being my first course on coursera, has lived upto my expectations and i m totally satisfied with the course. It has very good content covered and has been delivered in a satisfying manner.

A big thank you to Prof Lincon Pratson!!!!

By Salah E B

Apr 11, 2020

One of the best courses I had!

The context wasn't very thorough, but it wasn't basic too, it challenges you to commit and to look for more information.

I loved it! Thank you very much for the course, I wish I can attend more related ones

By Muhammad A T

Dec 28, 2018

An excellent course to know about different entities involved in oil and gas businesses and gave a very brief knowledge about the working of oil and gas industry and the chain involved from production to distribution among customers.

By Erick G

Jul 05, 2020

Excellent course, the professor was really good, the videos helped me a lot to understand the oil and gas industry. Doing the final work also helped me to improve my writing skills, and to learn how to make a good company's profile.

By Anindya M

May 26, 2020

This course is essential for the individuals who are in the oil and gas sector to understand the basic working behind the scenes. Individuals who are looking for knowledge in this sector, its just a simple and easy to learn course.

By Sanskar M

Jun 21, 2020

This is an amazing course which can be used to understand how this massive Oil & Gas Industry works. I am also very thankful to Lincoln Pratson sir for giving us such precise and worthyful knowledge about the oil and gas industry .

By Muhammad U A N

Jun 06, 2020

The course was very much informative. The best thing was it’s to the point lectures. It doesn’t indulge itself in side-wise less important matter. The operational part was greatly discribed. I’m honoured to be part of this course.

By Raafe K K

Sep 27, 2017

The course was well structured and helped me understand the nuances of operations in the Oil & Gas sector. Recommended for personal achievement, beginners, university students and learners looking to advance their knowledge base.

By Jonas R

Apr 18, 2020

A very nice approach to the Oil and Gas industry, covering details from it's extraction to the final market prices influence aspects. The professor Mr. Pratson is indeed much experienced and has a good way to demonstrate it.