Chevron Left
Back to Open Source Software Development Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Open Source Software Development Methods by The Linux Foundation

4.6
stars
834 ratings
182 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will define what open source software is, we will go over the history of open source software and what benefits it has provided to the world’s technology infrastructure over the decades. The course aims to teach you how to work in open source projects productively and gain a lot of benefits from it, and really understand what the advantages are. You will learn about collaboration best practices, and how to encourage diversity in open source projects. We will discuss the different licensing models that are available, as this will help you decide what the best license is for your project. We will talk about methods that are commonly used, such as Continuous Integration, and use of GitHub and other hosting providers as a central meeting place for open source projects, and we will provide some examples of successful open source projects....

Top reviews

AS
May 3, 2020

Honestly, this course provide introduces the world of open source projects and development to anyone. It's really explanative and helpful. I suggest this to anyone who want to understand what OSS is.

HM
Jun 22, 2020

The course contains comprehensive knowledge about development methods in Open Source Software. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in OSS and wants to have a proper idea of it.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 181 Reviews for Open Source Software Development Methods

By Kristi B

May 12, 2019

As a total novice to development methods I found this course to be extremely useful and informative. I am intrigued and want to learn more.

By ABRAHAM P B C A 2

May 30, 2020

Wonderful course, goes above and beyond on teaching us on the importance of OSS Development Methods and even teaches us some basics on it.

By Yoanna N

Apr 4, 2020

Thank you for the good content. This course taught me how OSS projects are doing recently. Very useful for understanding OSS method.

By Punam

May 11, 2020

This course is really explains and prepares new contributors to join the community by introducing them to the real world things.

By CHANDRAGIRI S

Jun 7, 2020

After this course ,I gain complete knowledge on Open Source Software.And the mentor Jerry Co Operstein was simply super.

By Trevor

May 14, 2019

Very good introduction, well presented and in sufficient detail for a variety of learners from basic to intermediate

By Ivan

Sep 5, 2020

learn some new things about OSS. The course was passed easy and after passing some moments it is well remembered

By MANUEL A Q C

Aug 25, 2020

A very good course, you explore the basics concepts and many points you can't see in another place. Good job!!

By Vaseekaran V

Jun 1, 2020

A welcome theoretical course, to introduce the learners to Open Source Software and how to contribute to them.

By Amith S

Apr 19, 2020

A decent course for beginners to understand the open-source platforms and ethics required to get on with it.

By Mazharul H

Jun 11, 2020

It is a best course about open source software. But language proficiency is not good for foreign student.

By Dennis W K K

Jul 6, 2020

This course gives a clear overview and introduction to the Open Source Software Development Methods.

By Guillermina G

Jul 22, 2020

I learned many useful facts and feel more prepared to take part in an Open Source Project

Thank you!

By Simran R

May 27, 2020

Course is very interesting and helpful. I got to learn a lot of new concepts with actual examples.

By Jorge S

Oct 28, 2019

Simple and very clear exposition, and concepts. You can learn a lot about OSS if you are begginer.

By Kyle H

May 29, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the instructor as well. Easy pace, and very useful!

Thank you!

By LUIS M A

Jul 8, 2020

Excelente curso. Es perfecto para aquellas personas que aún no saben mucho sobre Linux.

By Mihir J

Aug 8, 2020

great course introduces to different aspects of open source project and communities

By Oldřich G

Aug 27, 2019

Great overview and good start to the topic of the Open Source Software Development.

By Agrawal H

Apr 26, 2020

Amazing course for anyone who wants to start contributing in Open Source Projects

By Que M

Dec 1, 2019

Great material covered with a very thorough background of the history of Linux

By Efraín M M

Oct 23, 2020

Very good introduction to OSS and the importance of Open Source communities

By Hugo S

Mar 24, 2020

Very good overview of some of the OSS development practices and guidelines.

By Cristian S A

Aug 30, 2020

Great course to get introduced in the world OSS. I recommend this course!!

By Eliezer C A

Aug 11, 2020

gran curso, el dominio de el conocimiento ayuda con el limite de gráficos.