Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
22,518 ratings
3,527 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

2751 - 2775 of 3,526 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Subir R

Feb 25, 2019

The write up and videos don't always match the programs, probably just need updating.

Overall a good introduction to a lot of tools, but unnecessarily complicated for absolute beginners.

By David M P

Jun 26, 2019

The only reason I gave this only 3 stars is because the Week 3 videos did not match up to the content instruction. This made it difficult and confusing. Not sure when it will be fixed.

By Luigi d M N

May 14, 2020

A nice introduction to the open source tools. Not much programming, but a good starting point at least on Markdown usage. Hopefully the certification will get more difficult with time!

By Anh D

Aug 30, 2020

There are a lot of tools in this course, and I feel it is overwhelming for me. The way that instructors talked about Jupyter Notebook and RStudio is so advanced for a newbie in tech.

By Toan L T

Oct 14, 2018

Good to know some tools the use as a Data Scientist.

But could be shorter, and should be a module in a week, not a whole course. I feel like watching an out-dated advertisement of IBM.

By Hans K

Dec 9, 2020

There are plenty of useful information in this course. However, there is a section that is really heavily discussing IBM specific products, which may not be relevant for some users.

By Sue W

Nov 13, 2019

Very interesting to learning, but frustrating that the assignments or instructions do not match the tools. Extra time is needed to find what the instructions are trying to say or do

By antonio s

Mar 30, 2020

IBM watson studio videos are outdated. Ibm platform has been updated and the videos do not correspond to the current version making it difficult to follow. this should be improved

By Timothy B M

Sep 23, 2019

The instructions no longer match the applications and a lot of time is wasted trying to figure out what to do. There are literally hundreds of forum entries complaining about this.

By Arpita C

May 24, 2020

I enjoyed the course and think its really useful to understand the tools ahead of the core training, however the visuals and the hands-on are not in sync particularly so in Week 3

By John H

May 18, 2019

The course was okay. I learned about a few new data science tools. However, I only gave three stars because I felt like the lessons and assignments could have been more in-depth.

By Gireesh D

Jul 20, 2020

The content could be updated for the current IBM Watson Studio user interface.

It was difficult to follow the instructor .

Also SPSS Modeler tutorial there was no way to practice

By Alexis R

Feb 17, 2020

The source tools demonstrated in this course have been updated and changed. The user must visit the forums to get more current information not provided by the course materials.

By Antonio L N

May 26, 2019

IBM Watson Studio was forced-fed to learners. I was very happy happy with open tools from Cognitive Labs (Jupyter Notebooks, Apache Zeppelin) and should have stuck with these.

By William J

Feb 9, 2019

The overall content was fine; however, the videos were sadly out of date and it was very difficult to set up an account and create a Jupyter notebook following the directions.

By Robert C

Feb 6, 2020

Much of this was 5-star worthy, but a new video is desperately needed, as it does not match up with the current Watson environment and creates a lot of unnecessary confusion.

By Kushal

Jun 25, 2021

The course was more focused on listing various tools and a brief on them and with not zero experience and knowledge on data science jargons, made this course less effective.

By David E

Apr 9, 2020

I felt like some of the information on tests was never covered. Same is true for some modules. Overall, learned tips though. The cheat sheet for coding is extremely helpful.

By Phạm N M H

May 20, 2021

Typical marketing course :))), unless you are aiming for a professional certificate, I don't recommend this course at all, cause you learn nothing besides IBM software :)))

By Mekebeb T

Jun 20, 2020

Not very organized course, a lot of stuff plugged in a module and because of that frustrating to learn. On the positive side, I like module 2 on Git and Jupyter notebooks.

By Nora I

Dec 3, 2018

I liked the course, a good overview. Unfortunately, I had such a hard time with the last task: not because of its difficulty, but technicalities using IBM Watson Studio.

By Jonas F

Nov 12, 2019

The data platform's name and handling has changed, which makes it more difficult to create the accounts and follow the instructions. The instructions should be renewed.

By Jakub C

Mar 27, 2020

There are some videos which are not updated and IBM Watson doesn't really work as described in scripts and videos. Project parts completely missing for some settings.

By Nelson C

Dec 9, 2020

It is a course for very beginner to know what kind of tools that they may need to use for data science. And it is also an advertisement of IBM for their data service.

By Andy C

Jun 29, 2020

I am ready to have more hands on experience, the overview of IBM products seems much to long. I would rather learn about the products doing more hands on exercises.