Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
20,366 ratings
3,116 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio IDE, Apache Zeppelin and Data Science Experience. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Cognitive Class Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Data Science Experience and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

2776 - 2800 of 3,093 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Frances L

Apr 19, 2020

Very informative for someone who is looking to start writing in code. Week 3 was very messy. Nothing was where it was advised on the videos which made them very redundant. A lot of time wasting and looking at discussion Forums as a result.

By Jason L

Jun 24, 2019

The IBM platform website looks to be updated. it would help if the videos were also updated so there is less confusion for students when they try sign up for an IBM account. Looks like a few students had issues from the discussion forums.

By MARISA H

Dec 8, 2020

This course was a little overwhelming in any sense for me. It went from zero to (at least) intermediate level. I don't think if you are like me (somebody without coding knowledge at all) would easily get this part. I find it real pity.

By Saptarshi S

Nov 3, 2019

Content is pretty outdated and the user interface of the tools have changed a lot since then. Also it teaches nothing worth 3 weeks and only shows u different notebooks which could easily be taught while applying them in other courses!

By Marcelo Q L A

Dec 4, 2019

Course feels rushed and does not really provides good quality material or useful instructions other than very rapidly presenting IBM's tools. Last week evaluation is simply terrible and unfair. Other platforms should also be allowed.

By Jim C

Apr 9, 2019

This course isn't as well organized as other courses I've done on Coursera. Several of the quizzes ask questions about things that aren't covered until much later in the course. I had to skip those quizzes, then go back to them.

By Tim D W

Oct 15, 2019

Videos are out of date and hard to follow on IBM Watson Studio. You have to read though pages of comments trying to figure out each piece since the screens look completely different now. They need to update the videos ASAP.

By Alireza A

Oct 31, 2020

Not very helpful.

Many complained concepts were explained briefly which was not helpful.

Additionally, some labs could not be done based on the instructions. Specially the Watson studio instructions need to be updated.

By Megha G

Feb 20, 2019

The videos don't align with how the Watson Studio is operated. It took about 3 hours of complete wastage to get to know how the account works on IBM cloud. Kindly update the videos in accordance to the new interface.

By Brad S

Oct 19, 2020

As a person paying for the course. I expect that the focus of the course be on the overall tools and skills I need to be successful as a data scientist, NOT spending two weeks learning why "IBM tools are great."

By Xavier R A

Jul 9, 2020

It focuses too much on what IBM can offer and not so much on other, also effective, free tools that could help a data scientist, also i think this course would fit better later on the Data Science Certification.

By Oliver U

Sep 14, 2018

While the Course provided an Overview of available and popular Tools it provided Little actual experience of actually applying them and at Points almost looked like an advertisment for IBM's Cloud offerings.

By Dantuluri S V

Jul 23, 2019

I had a major problem while using Watson Studio as its interface and features are completely different from what is shown in the videos and moreover it is showing various errors while choosing a project

By Dmitry B

Mar 24, 2020

I appriciated the course in general. Nevertheless, for me the main issue was that the video lectures concerning watson are outdated. The information provided does not correspond to the real platform

By Yannick R

Nov 8, 2019

Very much feels like an IBM commercial. You HAVE to sign up for IBM's cloud service and use a clunky tool there, and on top of that the videos are so out of date that the UI has completely changed.

By Taner A

Sep 8, 2019

This is a paid course so update your videos regarding IBM Watson Studio. I wasted a lot of time to figure out the steps. Also the course is very high level and doesn't teach any practical skills.

By Маношин А А

Apr 4, 2020

This course is very short, and, moreover, I had met some negative moments such as outdated videos and the fact that the Zeppelin notebook is not avaliable now (april 2020) on Skill Network Labs.

By Sebastiaan T

Aug 14, 2019

annoying that you need to upload your jupyter notebook via watson studio. besides that the data science experience doesnt exist anymore, so the last week was not great material in my opinion.

By Юра Б

Mar 5, 2019

For me better if it will be some docker image with required tools. But there is a promotion to use some external tools, that, as for me, not suitable for some research and development.

By Eva M

Nov 14, 2019

I'm afraid I did not enjoy this course because I spent more time with IBM tech support that with the actual learning activities. And by looking at the forum, I wasn't the only one....

By Jose J D

Sep 23, 2019

La explicación de los videos y la realidad no se parecen en nada. Sin actualización si hay cambios, el esfuerzo es muy elevado. He estado muy a punto de abandonar el curso entero.

By Amir H

May 2, 2019

the course is not up to date with the latest interfaces of the open tools sites, causing a lot of confusion and need to wait for an instructor/mentor to reply in the forum section.

By Fábio S V

May 2, 2019

The courses "What is Data Science" and "Open Source tools for Data Science" could be merged in one, there would be a better explanation about the tools available from IBM....

By Sarah W

Oct 26, 2020

Too much straight forward fact, on fact with list on list (hard to stay awake and focused on this because there wasn't anything to break up the facts or the list of tools).

By Amandine B

Aug 25, 2020

Some useful explanation of how to use Jupyther/Github/R but also lots of time wasted on presenting, over and over, IBM's tools and some very poor quality videos for Github.