Chevron Left
Back to International Leadership and Organizational Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Leadership and Organizational Behavior by Università Bocconi

4.7
800 ratings
202 reviews

About the Course

Leaders in business and non-profit organizations increasingly work across national borders and in multi-cultural environments. You may work regularly with customers or suppliers abroad, or be part of a globally dispersed cross-functional team, or an expatriate manager on an international assignment. You may be a member of a global online community, or a development aid worker collaborating with an international network of partner organizations. In all of these contexts, your effectiveness as a leader depends on how well you understand and are able to manage individual and collective behaviors in an intercultural context. In this course – together with a team of Bocconi expert faculty and Bocconi alumni – we’ll explore the theory and practice of international and intercultural leadership and organizational behavior. Social science research has revealed systematic ways in which our behavior differs across cultural contexts – enabling us to more effectively work across borders. Insights from psychology, neuroscience, sociology and anthropology, from communication studies and from management scholarship allow us to understand what shapes individual and group decision making, what enhances or weakens team performance, and how we can build and use our social networks. And the shared practical experience of international leaders allows us to identify concrete steps to enhancing intercultural leadership competence, and to be cognizant of common leadership challenges. Learning about organizational behavior provides a great opportunity to develop your leadership skills and to reflect on your own behavioral tendencies. How do you usually make important decisions? What motivates you and how do you try motivating others? How successfully do you leverage and integrate diverse skills and views in a team? Do you prefer professional relationships with a close-knit group of trusted colleagues, or with a far-flung network of acquaintances from all walks of life? If you really want to learn how organizations behave and take decisions and at the same time develop leadership skills, then this is the course for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you and supporting you on this journey of learning and discovery. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1 - Leadership Acumen. International perspective on leadership, common traps & challenges, and opportunities of intercultural leadership. Week 2 - Navigating Culture. Impact of cultural differences on organizations, decoding culture, culture classifications and stereotyping, developing intercultural intelligence. Week 3 - Communication. Communication and its impact on leadership identity and relationships, managing communication to improve decision making, steps for developing your intercultural communication skills. Week 4 - Motivation. Views on individual motivation, cultural differences in motivation, developing motivation and commitment in teams. Week 5 - Networking. Patterns of interpersonal relationships in/across organizations, strategically developing social networks and social capital, norms for networking across cultures. Week 6 - Conflict. Effective / defective conflict management approaches, dealing with ethical dilemmas. Thanks to the participation of our alumni and of the Bocconi Alumni Association, participants will have practical insights on international leadership. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND All are welcome! Some prior exposure to basic issues of organizational behavior (communication, decision making, motivation, etc.) is useful, but not required....

Top reviews

AY

Jan 07, 2017

I completed this course while working abroad and I loved it. The course helped be to have a better understanding and respect for different cultures in life and in the work environment.\n\nThank You!

GC

Aug 13, 2018

Very interesting course. Alumni viewpoints, pop-up questions, and interactive dialogues all made the course more engaging. Each video was a good length for informational content and attentiveness.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 198 Reviews for International Leadership and Organizational Behavior

By Abdullah N

Sep 04, 2017

The journey was pretty much enjoyable indeed!

By Pawan A

Mar 05, 2018

It is a nice introductory course. It provides insight to many leadership qualities. It also provides exposure to many common challenges and solutions to the scenarios in international arena. There are links to many resources for further exploring the leadership qualities which provide additional information. Overall it is a money well spent course.

By Ahmed M N N

Sep 22, 2017

It was an amazing to have this course .... from Palestine :)

By Yang H

Aug 18, 2017

Thank a lot for Prof.Franz. The course is well-organized and inspiring.

By Daniela M M

Feb 16, 2017

Assistant Professor Mr. Franz Wohlgezogen you are the best. Thank you so much for your efforts to

By Tatiana L

Feb 08, 2017

Great job! You've done a huge job! A lot of speakers, interesting guests/cases/conversation in groups. Presentation are full of info! well structured, vivid and useful! Thank you for your effort!

By Dainius M

Sep 15, 2017

I found this course very insightful with great value in developing international and intercultural leadership acumen, transnational approach to leadership, understanding in deep how cultural differences influence people's thinking and behavior in relation to communication, motivation, conflict resolvement, etc. I liked the manner in which Franz presented information, not to mention that participation of Bocconi students, lectures and Bocconi Alumni with their real life examples and insights were of the utmost value for me (especially Giovanni Ciserari, P&G). Actually I'd be happy to see the second part of this course, or take part in other courses by SDA Bocconi.

By monika k

Jun 21, 2018

Practical and inspiring. Thank you for this great opportunity to learn!

By Andrea T

Apr 01, 2018

Very interesting topics, excellent and effective learning method. Suggested for those who want to work internationally.

By Shannon W

Apr 29, 2018

Very relevant modules for any international organization where you might be working in a leadership team. The quantity of work was completely manageable, and the compilation of additional readings and resources proved to be very interesting. I would highly recommend this course!

By geoffeddon

Sep 19, 2017

Really interesting! Although I have had involvement in most of the topics, the instructor put some good points together. Did I learn? Yes.

Thank you

By Santiago

Dec 16, 2015

This course was not only enriching, but delighting. I genuinely mean when I say that it was a true delight. Congratulations!

By Andre G G

Jun 27, 2016

It really worth our time!

Congrats to the Bocconi team!

By Matteo U

Feb 06, 2018

Awesome!

By Pierluigi D

Jun 09, 2017

Very interesting course, Prof Franz is very clear and always stimulating to think at your role in an international framework to which you are not very familiar with, however giving right advices on how to move avoiding some pitfall.

Very nice sections on research and the tips coming from the interviews to the professionals involved, so yeah, thanks a lot, I feel to suggest this course to others. Best regards Pierluigi Dentale

By Cristian D G

Jan 29, 2018

Really good course, go for it

By Prysiazhniuk T

Sep 16, 2017

Very interesting and successful course.

By Damilola M O

Apr 26, 2018

Insightful is the word. Thank you.

By Abdelrhman A m H

Feb 27, 2018

It was a fun show, I really benefited from sharing scientific and practical experiences Thanks to all.

By Anthony K D

May 31, 2016

great course

By Amit

Feb 26, 2018

The instructor communicated the main message in a concise and effective manner. I learned a lot from this course.

By Raghavendra S

Oct 08, 2016

This course is a delight. Method of instruction involves a lot of conversation style and group discussion type channels, along with the traditional lectures, and its well thought out, well assembled, well delivered without being very heavy to absorb. Thanks for putting this together.

By Aileen F

Aug 17, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and appreciated the conversational format it used to convey the material. Definitely recommend!

By Guenter H L M

Dec 12, 2015

Absolutely great

By tzenh.nana

Oct 16, 2016

it wat the first course i manage to complete and i'm very exitied about that! Nevertheless i found this course very helpful and even though my current job has nothing to do with leadership or something intercultural i was actually pleased to learn all this and i will definitely start to use them when i finally work on this field-which i would like to do.