Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
16,579 ratings
3,232 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

MA
May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 3,195 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Pavel K

Mar 6, 2021

It would be a great idea to teach students how to use VM with Linux first and then show them all commands they can practice. I would put a part with VM course in the beginning or close to it

By Tyler A R

Apr 18, 2021

Just wanted to say some parts on this course was ok to do but some quizzes were very slow and did not load the right way, Hopefully qwiklabs can fix this so we don't have any more problems.

By Aravind K S

Sep 27, 2020

Simply superb!..Struggled on assessment of WK 6 though. But luckily there was help in the forum>moderator explained on LINUX commands.

Kudos to Google and Coursera for an amazing content!!!

By Saurav S

Jun 10, 2020

The instructor, Cindy Quach is amazingly beautiful. I wish she could read this ;-) She is great at her work and really knows how to make you understand things. Love Cindy <3 Love Google <3

By John R D I

Jun 12, 2019

Good overall Course however I would have found it easier to learn the OSs individually. I.E. Go through all of the Windows information first then go through all of the Linux information.

By Anne K

Mar 7, 2021

Informative and very useful. I only wish there was a separate place where you could practice your linux and windows skills with an interactive qwiklab that is not part of a final exam.

By Gerardo B M

Jan 11, 2021

las habilidades adquiridas de este tema son grandiosas es una nueva ventana de oportunidades para los que desean iniciar en el conocimiento de los sistemas operativos de windows y linux

By Royston M

Jul 21, 2020

This course thought me to master the skills in both windows and linux operating system. With this skills at hand I would like explore the possibility of becoming the windows power user.

By Javed A

Apr 28, 2020

This is the best course by far! I really learned a lot about windows and Linux systems administration. I feel a tremendous amount of confidence moving forward in my studies and career.

By Teraneka B

Sep 29, 2019

This was by far the most interesting course so far. The lab was a little challenging but sooo rewarding! IT made me feel really good to know that I actually know what I'm doing now lol!

By Maher A M M R

May 2, 2021

I learned a lot. I was afraid to approach the ur router to solve the problems because I did not know the matter, but here I gained a lot of experience. I am very happy with thi cuors.

By Michael B

Aug 2, 2019

Tougher course then the others. I will have to revisit the linux portion of this course a couple of times or at least work with the package manager a bit more. Really enjoyed this one.

By Julio C A

Apr 23, 2020

Very Interesting course, with the last System Updates from Windows and Linux. I become very fast handy with the Linux Commands, as well of a better way to solve issues with Microsoft.

By Leon W

Feb 17, 2020

Very informative. It is refreshing for learners with previous experience.

Great lab support. Sharpens your skills in fast thinking and solution development.

Great work.

Thanks Google!

By Michael M

Dec 7, 2019

This was a great introduction to working in operating systems as an IT student. The practice scenarios where you log into other systems remotely was very helpful in learning concepts.

By Sanket U

Jul 7, 2020

This course started all the concepts of OS from scratch and I learned all the fundamentals of OS and other advanced stuff. The Instructor Cindy has very good knowledge about the OS's

By Andres F V

May 30, 2020

Amazing Course! learned a lot about computers management and I'm looking forward to learn more about the topic. I'll practice the skills I've learned on my home computers. Thank You!

By Elisabeth B

Apr 19, 2018

This was a truly exciting course! I feel so much more in control of my machine now, and I'm totally excited to try setting up my own VM so I can practice Linux skills on my own time.

By April P

May 5, 2021

At first I was a little intimidated working with Power shell and especially with Linux, but the lab practice made it less intimidating and fun. I'm excited to learn more. Thank you!

By Zahraa S

Jan 2, 2021

this course is very important in IT Support . u learn many skills here like : power shell command , linux operating system command's , fix problem and the way of organized things .

By ARJUN R

Apr 23, 2020

This was a very useful course in IT section.

The contents in the course is very useful and must know skills for an entry level IT support specialist and for an advanced system user.

By morakinyo l

Jun 16, 2019

The course is awesome and a lot of skills learned . The tutor simplify all the aspect of learning which make it easier to understand and grab the knowledge. Kudos to the whole team.

By Christian R

Mar 5, 2019

I was intimidated by the use of the command line but after taking this course I really learned a lot and enjoy it, now I want to practice and use the command line more than the GUI.

By Krasimir I V

Jul 4, 2019

The course is nicely structured and keeps you going till the end. I would say that some other paid training camps that I've been charged at least 20x more and have a bad structure.

By Cleve J G

Feb 7, 2018

A somewhat intimidating experience for a novice to dive into command-line interfaces, the instructor miraculously makes it accessible and comprehensible in this course. Well done!