Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
24,400 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

SG

Nov 27, 2021

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

JB

Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 4,734 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Herath M P S M

Jun 17, 2020

This Is a Super Useful course for everyone who simply use an computer! It is Important to know how the Operating system on our computer works and how to handle it for our applications. This course help me to find interesting and wonderful new things about operating systems.

By Niranjan B

May 26, 2020

A really great course for those who want to upskill their knowledge about different OS's and it really helped me a lot. I actually dual booted my system with help of the knowledge I gained from this course and it was a really Great experience. Thanks a lot Google and Cindy!

By Amsalu B B

Mar 15, 2020

I found this course educational although I should have done this a long, long time ago. There will be a great deal of learning in due course. It provided me an overwhelming exposure to the basics and I would recommend to anyone willing to learn about the basics computers!

By Patrick M

Jul 11, 2022

It's not easy by any means, but if you really stick with it and review it, use supplemental sources, re-take quizzes and the graded assessments, and basically whatever it is you have to do to absorb the information, it is possible and fulfilling when you reach a milestone.

By PSG L

Aug 27, 2021

This course challenged me in ways I never thought I could be challenged again in life in the best way possible. Thanks for providing such a rigorous course in such an effective way and also in a fair way and giving a chance to someone like me to succeed in life! Thank you!

By Akash S

Apr 26, 2021

A very good explanation of how Windows & Unix OS can be managed using PowerShell & terminal were explained at a basic level enough to be skilled to work as an IT engineer. This course is essential for those as well who are working in IT and need to expand their knowledge.

By Swam P S T

Oct 20, 2020

This is a very awesome course. Some Windows parts were comparatively easier but I had zero knowledge on Powershell and Bash and now I feel so confident and I didn't even struggle that much along the course too. Videos, materials, and labs are all great and easy to access.

By Quantavius M

Dec 1, 2020

Awesome course! I didn't like the switching between Windows and Linux it was confusing. Also, I didn't know about the Virtual Box VM until the end of the course. Coursera may want to put that note/video at the start of the course. I had a tough time with the Linux Labs.

By Jimil P

May 10, 2020

Learning about OS are really helpful in your IT career. I get to know lots of things about OS. like permissions, read and write processes, Remote working. The Instructor is really good and graded assignments is there for you to practice the things you learned in module.

By Tatiana P

Feb 9, 2019

Upon discovering a pre-pended dot in Atom interface, one helluva apocalyptic morning at 6:16 Unix Epoch Time, the Log Lady uttered: Me Love You Long Time.

Hats off to Google's fun+mental team for "deep diving" into rock solid 6 weeks of OS and You: Becoming a Power User.

By Suvansh K

Feb 23, 2022

It was fun completing this course as a part of my university curriculum, it helped me gain knowledge on things i use daily and get a better version of my system, though a few instructions were confusing for the amount of knowledge i had but it was fun doing this course

By Kurt R T

Jul 23, 2020

This course has really helped me a lot in understanding how an Operating System works and how can I work more efficiently using the command line. I suggest this course for everyone especially for those who are interested into learning more about what computers can do.

By chandan k

May 21, 2020

Thank a lot to Coursera and google for offering a mind-blowing course and amazing course material for me. I thank Cindy Quach for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't make me feel that I was learning online course but as in-class learning. 😉😉😉

By Faizan A

Jun 20, 2022

This was the best course I've taken in a while the instructor was well educated about the topic and explained the topics very well.

And thanks for the financial aid support you guys are really helping students like me through this financial aid thank you very much...

By Bryon M D

Nov 23, 2020

This course is fanominal! I have overtasked myself this semester. I am working on my BBA in Management and adding Google IT support specialist to it has become too much. I have completed the first two modules in the five module course. I hope and pray to finish.

By Mithun B

Aug 23, 2020

This module helps students get a rough idea on how to troubleshoot issues in Windows and Linux operating systems. Most of the course content is managed with detailed explanations and challenging quiz and graded tests. You need to pay attention to pass those tests.

By Darin J

Feb 7, 2022

This course is fabulous. I love the fact that you are given the basics to get going. I do suggest anyone taking this course to make sure you read the supplementals as this is the meat and potatoes to getting ahead. Thank you for making this a Great Experience.

By Joshua K

Oct 10, 2019

This was a great course. The OS is where most interaction occurs. Learning about the different commands between Linux and Windows Powershell was great! I was inspired to set my system up for dual boot to allow me to practice and become familiar with the commands.

By Rhonda M A

Apr 2, 2020

This was an amazing course!!!! I have learned so much and accomplished more than I ever thought. The beauty of this program is it has taken me, an absolute IT novice and provided me with skills that I never dreamed possible!!!! I fell like a true Power User!!!

By Ian M

Sep 7, 2019

I loved how this coarse filled in gaps in my knowledge base. I struggled with Linux due to my lack of exposure. and it works so differently than Windows PowerShell. However, the number of new tools I found that will help are nearly limitless. Thank you so much!

By Melinda A H

May 15, 2018

Excellent course, densely-packed with essential information for an IT career or any field that relies on computer technology. Challenging labs at the end of Week 6 provide actual troubleshooting practice! Thank you to everyone involved in producing this course.

By Abongile A M

Sep 19, 2021

this course is extensive . i really learnt a lot as an IT support Technician , best part about it is the practical assignments that lets you test your knowledge of what you learnt and and you get to at least have a glimpse of what an IT support technician does

By Ioannis V

Jan 26, 2021

Amazing course! Cindy was great at explaining everything and the knowledge taken from this course will definitely prove useful even in my everyday life! The final two assessments were great to exercise our troubleshooting and problem-solving skills! Great job!

By Amit B

Jan 12, 2021

This certificate is new of its kind in that it presents a completely unique approach to introduce those who seek an IT career to the IT field and teaches you the content in a way that you don’t any prerequisites to be able to understand and grasp the content.

By JD D

May 8, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It helped me familiarize with the different operating systems in a way that goes beyond the basics. I feel that I have a well rounded understanding of the important ins and outs of these systems that will be helpful in IT roles.