Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
24,361 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

BO

Apr 1, 2019

This is my most favorite module module, especially the Linux, which is my all time favorite OS ever enjoy learning, working Programing, and configuring, and will continue enjoying til the end of time.

JB

Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 4,723 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Olimpo A M S

Nov 10, 2022

This is an excellent course! It gives learners a chance to really learn the key aspects of the operating systems be it Windows or Linux and gives challenges (including using the command line) to put the newly learned skills to good use without going too in-depth with interesting but not essential information.

Personally I found this course to be extremely valuable and it has also made me appreciate the operating systems I use daily even more.

By Vikram T

Sep 30, 2022

I want to say that just had great experience learning about windows and linux operating systems. Some assessments are hard but as you practice you will understood it properly. I am very greatful to Coursera and Google Career Certificates for this learning opportunity. Coursera provides In-demand Industry Knowledge and skills for students and working professionals who want to upskill themself for Career growth and better career opportunities.

By Mary H R T

Apr 15, 2021

It was the most difficult course so far in the Professional Certificate program and it took me more than the time allotted. It is very helpful to working moms like me that Coursera allows us to reset deadlines so we can complete the course. I learned so much and gained new skills that I never thought a 40-something homeschooling mom could learn. Thanks Google and Coursera for making these courses possible and available to anyone in the world.

By Jithu J

Mar 21, 2021

This was very interesting and a complicated course at the same time. Lot of time was required to grasp most of the Linux commands. Just learning one by one won't do any good. This needs more practice to learn commands thoroughly. Using GUI is pretty simple and understanding. For beginners, this course shows how important it is to learn commands. I personally took a while t learn most of it, and I'm still learning. Practice is very important.

By Uzair A

Aug 22, 2021

I like we can have so much control with command line. We can do so much with just a few commands so much more effectively. Using command line has always been daunting for me and still is to some extent but this course has done so much in removing my fear of using it and I feel somewhat confident in using it now but I still have a long way to go. Thank you Coursera for such an amazing course. Thanks to the whole team who put this together.

By Katherine S

Nov 8, 2020

Cindy did a great job delivering the content of the course. It was intimidating at first but she kept it flowing in the most approachable way. The assignments were challenging, especially the last one. There are some big spelling mistakes in the written form of the course (not as many as her predecessors had) that should be looked into because I see that the course interests a lot of foreign students and it might be a problem for them.

By Andrew K

Jun 16, 2019

Even as someone with years of experience troubleshooting both Windows and Linux, I learned a lot about various command-line tools which make that job easier. The assignments at the end of the course were the most practical I've seen in an online course like this, designed to challenge and test the knowledge you've learned throughout the course with very little hand-holding. Definitely my favorite course in the Google IT Pro cert so far.

By Michael C

Feb 21, 2021

This is about "becoming" a power user, it is not intended as all-inclusive expert-level training. It met its goals for the two main operating systems in use by IT organizations today, Windows and Linux. LAB work is challenging but not overwhelming and allows multiple attempts to succeed. As with any introductory course, supplemental reading provides a wealth of information not otherwise covered in detail within the course objectives.

By Francis L

Nov 30, 2020

This was my second favorite course, and definitely the one that really help tie in a lot of key concepts when I re-read my notes at the end. Take lots of notes here and get familiar with the terms, it will definitely help you in the long run. As for the general learning in this course it was easy to grasp and understand. There were times that that the programming tools were hard to do but still within the realms of expectation.

By Dorjan Q

Aug 7, 2019

Once again great course! Very well structured and with elevating difficulty especially in the Linux Command Line Environment. I really enjoyed this third part and looking forward for the next one! Keep it up! Great job with this course :)

PS: I only wish the results of the QwikLabs update faster in the overview, because sometimes takes up to 5 minutes and several refreshes to reflect the lab result score in the course overview.

By Keith D

Jun 29, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, especially the hands on assessments. It's great being able to jump into the modules when it suits and to go back over anything that I might not have got first time. Seeing how much the instructor loves the topic just encourages you to want to learn more. Overall, I have a much better appreciation of how little I know, but this has opened my eyes to start the process of building up these skills.

By Gokul B

Nov 3, 2020

It was a very interesting, exciting, skillful journey learning this course. I was familiar with many of the Windows OS, but was very eager to learn and operate the linux terminal and the working of Linux OS. The course was very skillfully designed which helped me a lot to grasp the concepts fast and in a better way. Learned so many things. Instructor, Cindy mam was so friendly and interactive. Thank You! Team Google.

By Jonathan O

Dec 15, 2020

Enjoyed the course. Wish there was some more hands on training, but the notes I took definitely helped me on the graded assessments. I really liked to learn about commands, especially on PowerShell since I feel that's a good skill set that bridges IT support for both Windows and Linux without being too dependent on a GUI. It makes you appreciate the convenience of a GUI and simplicity and intuitiveness of Linux Bash.

By Mayur G N

Oct 31, 2020

Love the journey with this course. Thanks to Cindy and other Instructors through this course. It was so existing, handling and troubleshooting Operatings Systems, not just that but how to Install OS, how manage Remote ,Virtual Machines, Cloning,, and lot more stuff. It was super great experience. And I loved the last task of Qwiklabs to troubleshoot problems by our own what we learned in the course. Truly Awesome.

By JOSEPH B

Aug 29, 2022

This course has up my skill in the IT fraternity as an entry level support specialist. I am now confident to apply for jobs in the IT field.  Big thanks to Coursera and Google for making these studies a reality for some of us who have literally near no knowledge before the start of the program. I really appreciate all the instructors for taking me along till the end of this program, your impact was/is phenomenal.

By Dani W

Apr 9, 2018

Great to learn more about PowerShell (which I've used a bit in my current job) and really nice to learn about Linux. I previously had very limited experience with Linux and Bash but now feel much more comfortable with it. While I don't know a ton of commands yet, I know enough that I feel confident in playing in a Linux sandbox. Planning on either running a virtual machine or installing Linux on my old laptop.

By Vaibhav S

Nov 1, 2020

It was an amazing journey going throughout this course. Very useful and knowledgeable experience. Our instructor Cindy did an excellent job by teaching very useful OS concepts in a very interactive learning way, So thank you very much. Qwiklabs very helpful. Know I feel very confident when working with windows and linux, all what I have learned will be very helpful for progressing my career into IT field :)

By Munira Z

Jun 27, 2020

Thanks a lot for this course and opportunity. Really interesting, especially to grab understanding and fundamental skills on having control over OS. Yet, there are a lot of things to learn, but I heard somewhere that this is a long journey, that never ends, each time you conquer a step, there are more to learn. So thanks for this strong foundation and excellent new skills. Special thanks to Cindy Quach.💕

By Nicholas B F

Oct 15, 2020

Learnt a lot of stuff from this course, especially when it comes to skill development. This is something I feel most industries need from candidates, rather than risking yourself going through a 4 year degree program and shelling out that kind of money, and finally ending up in debts, just to eventually get a piece of paper from that university, which would still not be good enough to be job-ready..

By John B M

Mar 14, 2018

Before this course all I knew was that I needed an operating system on my computer in order to get my work done. Now I know how to deploy an operating system, build and edit filesystems, manage users and groups, modify permissions, install and update software, manage processes, connect remotely, and monitor my systems – all from the command line! What?! I can't wait to find out what else I can do!

By O R

Jun 29, 2021

I enjoyed learning I thougt the teachers of this course gave me step by step and really held my hand and wanted me to improved in my learning and I went from basic knowledge to a advanced learner, I literally saw a change and I improved my skills greatly, Thank you to all the lovely teachers at Google, I loved this course and I appreciate being able to take this course and grow as a human being.

By Carter B O

Aug 14, 2021

This course is amazing, when I began I was scared of CLI even though I was very interested in it. But as Cindy said, at the end of the course we would be more comfortable using CLI, I am now very very comfortable using PowerShell and Bash even though I would still have way to go.

I know know about logging and where to go an find issues with a system.

I have learnt so much more and I am very glad

By Hans

Aug 9, 2018

I came from a background of heavy GUI use so going into command lines for me was like being asked to murder kittens at first but actually then you find out that in fact command lines can turn kittens into ultra deadly and fast tigers so it was awesome when you get the hang of it. Teacher Cindy is very good at teaching also she seems to own 100+ different laptops that she uses for every video.

By Jose C R

Jul 23, 2020

This course was incredibly satisfying and being able to experience different OSes and their different system tools and commands. For me, it was particularly fruitful to learn more about Windows System Management and Powershell. The supplemental readings are a great way to engage as much or little as you want and even for people with some knowledge or experience, there's still a lot to learn.

By Eugenio P

Aug 2, 2021

This course has been so interesting thus far. I learned a lot. I can say that before I was a simple user. But now I feel a sense of accomplishment, an enhance as how I feel prepared for administrate Windows and Linux. And it doesn't matter if I don't know everything. I can always search in the Internet what I need in order to be a successful IT support specialist. ¡Thanks to all the team!