Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
14,342 ratings
2,787 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JA
Jun 21, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 2,754 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Cory S

Nov 1, 2020

So far, I've enjoyed this course the most. I really love working in the CLI and I can understand now why so many users prefer command line.

By Ewa ( B

Sep 20, 2020

very interesting course, learned a lot of Linux command-line, thanks. The labs were a little confusing in week 6, the other labs were fine.

By Yirong C

Jul 7, 2020

It's always fun to follow through and hands on with the labs. Great work!

I may need to come back again to refresh. Really enjoy it. Thanks!

By Rj S

Jul 1, 2020

I have learned so much in the past couple days and ready to gear and go for another job that excel in the field that i really want to be in

By Adinamis C

Dec 22, 2019

This one was actually pretty fun because of all of the commands and they way they were input. It was also challenging for the same reason.

By Jiun-Ren W

Jan 22, 2019

A definite step up in challenge from the previous course in the series. Really appreciated all of the practical challenges in this course.

By Uchechukwu F O

Jun 26, 2020

The course is well led out and the instructors really did their best to deliver the course content in an easy to follow and understand way

By Amir F

Jul 8, 2018

vary great and practical course, i enjoyed its labs specially those last ones that didn't have guide, and we have to solve them ourselves.

By J L

Dec 18, 2020

This courses labs picked up the pace a notch because it had me truly trouble shooting issues and using prior labs to solve the final lab.

By Hisham A

Sep 7, 2020

EXCELLENT COURSE!!.

This course teaches you all the basic windows and linux commands and the application of it in the most simplest way.

By Keerthana V

Jul 25, 2020

It was a great journey through this course. Waiting to learn more. Thank you to everyone who put their effort into making this course. :D

By SAHIL D

Jun 7, 2020

Hello i am from India ,thank you Coursera for this amazing Course in the field of IT Support .and thank you google for making this Course

By Ilias P

Mar 11, 2019

Great course!

I've learn a lot! Nice tempo, clear accent, easy to follow.

But is it possibly to have someone answering at the Forum please?

By Michael D R

Sep 30, 2018

Fantastic course! LOT'S of information but doable if you try. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone thinking about doing this.

By David H

Aug 5, 2018

I really enjoyed cindy quach and her teachings--- This course was also really fun to practice the linux commands and powershell commands.

By Christian R

Oct 20, 2020

This course really helped me dive deeper into what I could accomplish. I believe this will be the most useful portion of my IT training.

By George R

Oct 4, 2020

Very well put together by all these young IT professionals. I'm learning tons of material to help me get ahead in Information technology

By Peter M

Apr 21, 2020

Great! Very in-depth like the other 2 courses. Instructor was awesome as well. Definitely enjoyed the more hands on labs on this course.

By Abraham G G

Jan 24, 2020

This course was very interesting but also a little challenging especially loging, the graded assessment lab. See you in the next course.

By Logan M

Jan 2, 2020

The first course in the program that makes the student feel like they actually learned skills they can apply to a workplace environment.

By SWARAJ S D

Oct 26, 2019

Awesome course one of the best I have taken so far and looking forward to look in part two of this course.

keep it up and my best regards

By Husayn Z A

Dec 24, 2020

I loved this course! Much easier than the previous courses so it was a nice change :)

But still learned a lot and I couldn't be happier.

By Andro H

Dec 15, 2020

a lot of practical exercise in this lab which is very good as i am a visual learner and its fun to troubleshoot problems in this lesson

By Braulio M d M

May 30, 2020

Excellent! Through a technical language, but using simple didactics, he manages to achieve the goal of teaching and preparing for work.

By Sam Y

Oct 23, 2019

This was a great course for getting started with IT work and learning different technique for operating Linux and Windows via Terminal.