Chevron Left
Back to Our Earth: Its Climate, History, and Processes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Our Earth: Its Climate, History, and Processes by University of Manchester

4.7
stars
264 ratings
91 reviews

About the Course

Develop a greater appreciation for how the air, water, land, and life formed and have interacted over the last 4.5 billion years....

Top reviews

AF

Nov 22, 2020

Enjoyed this a lot and learnt a lot. Many thanks to the lecturers and team who produced it, clearly much thought and effort went into putting the materials together: exemplary on-line learning!

SD

Jun 4, 2020

I absolutely loved each and every part of this course. The video lectures and reading material were very interesting and easy to understand. Definitely recommending this course to my friends!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 90 Reviews for Our Earth: Its Climate, History, and Processes

By Anukriti S

Jul 27, 2020

very informative and I had a great experience

By Shila R S

Jun 7, 2020

It was very informative. Thank you very much

By Fatemeh K L

Feb 10, 2022

it was very helpfull online course . tanks

By Алексей П

Aug 14, 2020

A very informative course. about our planet

By Gerdus L

Jan 25, 2022

Informative and interesting. Well planned.

By Mariana

Feb 8, 2018

Great teachers and wonderfull information.

By jeanette m v

May 13, 2018

muy buen curso! completo y claro

By Charlie P

Oct 13, 2017

Very educational and interesting

By Deleted A

Jan 14, 2017

Fantastic classes, learned a ton

By Nestor M

Jun 6, 2021

The course was excellent!

By Winston A W

Nov 26, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

By Araceli A J

Nov 28, 2021

¡Excelente curso!

By Andri M W

Dec 1, 2021

very good course

By Richard H

Apr 9, 2018

Thank you.

By Owais R

Sep 21, 2017

Worth it!

By Liz C

Dec 27, 2017

I learnt a lot and managed to form a more coherent idea of the Earth's history and processes. The videos were good, helpful and easy to follow. The Build Your Own Earth assignment was interesting and useful, but the simulations did not do what I was hoping. I thought I was going to play around with the parameters to see how the addition of different life forms might affect the composition of land, sea and air. When I select Land > Surface vegetation type there is always grasslands, even in the Ancient simulations before grasses had evolved, so this isn't a tool for simulating the evolving ecosystems on Earth. Despite this limitation I discovered many things by playing around with it.

By Alejandro A C

Dec 1, 2020

A very interesting course, it gives you very good information and examples, however, in the tests there are some questions that given the right responses are graded as incorrect. For instance, the difference in temperature between seasons in a continental environment should be greater that the difference in an oceanic environment; the jet stream always blows from west to east in both hemispheres and some of the questions on the simulation have the same problem (the responses that are not right are usually the ones that have the option to check several answers when clearly there should be just one). Given that, a very good course overall.

By Diane W

Jan 4, 2021

A very thorough course which covered a lot of ground at some depth. I found much of the chemistry and physics was quite hard - I discovered where the gaps in my knowledge were! Each module took longer to complete than I had expected but it has taught me a lot and I am glad I stuck with it. I think it would have been better to split the modules into shorter sections and have the course to run for longer with more time for reflection between modules.

By Leticia B

Jun 11, 2020

The course is very well organised and tought, if I would point out something that would make it better I would only say that the update of the material for the current year (it seens to me it has been 5 years since the release). Everything else is really nice, I really liked the Google Earth Tour ideas and the classes with invited professors too!

By Louis L

Nov 12, 2019

Etant un élève de la série ES, l'introduction m'avait quelque peu rassuré avant de pouvoir me lancer dans ce cours; toutefois il s'avère qu'il faut tout de meme maitriser des notions assez avancées pour mener à bien le cours. Néanmoins j'ai pu y apprendre beaucoup de choses et les quiz sont assez intéressants et divertissants

Merci pour ce cours !

By Joyce C

Dec 27, 2020

Overall it's a satisfactory course which I learnt a lot from, but I feel that some concepts have not been explained completely clearly, and the build-your-own-earth assessment part is quite confusing. Nevertheless I'd recommend for any one who is interested in earth sciences.

By Marek C

Nov 26, 2018

Very interesting one, but I found all the information too much "compressed". The course could be expanded to 7-8 weeks and thus some areas could be explored in more details. Overall, highly recommended.

By Elaine O

Oct 26, 2021

A really interesting course but I definitely struggled with the assessments. Build your own earth was a really good concept at looking at different worlds, climates and changing weather patterns.

By Marta K

Oct 4, 2020

Relevant material shared by the experts in an easy-to-understand manner. I hope to find more similar courses in the future to come. One star off for some quiz discrepancies.

By Dimitris S

Apr 17, 2021

Well structured and interdisciplinary course gives a lot of insights not only into how things work but also how these theories were established. Highly recommended.