Chevron Left
Back to Particle Physics: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Particle Physics: an Introduction by University of Geneva

4.4
stars
751 ratings
227 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Top reviews

VL
Mar 26, 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
Aug 4, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 230 Reviews for Particle Physics: an Introduction

By Kainat Q

Jul 12, 2021

Outstanding way to get knowledge......

I love it.....

Can i get certificate without any cost? This is because I can't afford.

Thanks

By Kumaresh A

May 31, 2020

It's really upgrade my knowledge on Particle Physics.

The way of teaching was excellent. My hearty thanks to both the professor's.

By Sarojchoudhary

Jun 14, 2020

a very good platform for making a good intrest in this field and also gainig good knowledge.

thank you so much to all team.

By Girinath

Aug 27, 2020

Amazing Course even for an Undergraduate only you would have to use a textbook and know quantum mechanics and reativity .

By Pawan B

Mar 18, 2021

I feel the course is fundamental part of Particle Physics. Very happily and wisely invested time and worth of learning.

By Himanshu J

Oct 8, 2020

THIS COURSE IS REALLY AMAZING AND THE COURSE CONTENT IS VERY USEFUL. I REALLY ENJOYED IT AND GAINED TOO MUCH KNOWLEDGE.

By Anton L

Apr 7, 2020

Very good but fairly though course. Martin Pohl is an excellent lecturer and the lecture material is very well written.

By Satish J

Jan 11, 2018

Coursera courses are a godsend for people like me who would like to satisfy their curiosity about the things around us.

By Yanychek D

Mar 29, 2020

This cource helped me to achieve my goal about learning particle physics and understand thing I had problem with.

By David Z

Feb 2, 2020

Need to repeat this a few times (while commuting, no exam pressure), basic understanding after passing the tests.

By John W

Jun 26, 2021

​Challenging, mind bending and massively rewarding. Loved Martin Pohl's visits to various people and facilities!

By Prasoon V

Sep 1, 2019

Opened new doors of curiosity for me by involving me into long hours of engrossing and theories and researches.

By AYUSH S

Sep 8, 2021

Very decent course . Provides all elementary knowledge to develop a basic ground for further particle physics.

By Siripong C

Jan 25, 2020

This course is literally amazing. It can inspire high school students to be passionate about particle physics.

By Francois Z

Feb 2, 2018

This has been the most well thought out introduction to particle physics I have come across. Really enjoyable.

By SANIA T S

Jul 17, 2020

attending this course was such a good experience and did not fail to give a clear idea about particle physics

By Pradeep M D

Jun 5, 2020

Very Happy..Best experience ever with all course instructors. Thank you Coursera and University of Geneva..!!

By Sahil U

Apr 8, 2017

The course was really amazing. Enjoyed & learnt a lot & was privileged to learn from such reputed teachers.

By Jas F A C

Sep 9, 2020

Very appreciated the challenging quizzes. This coursera is very helpful to my profession as an academician.

By Joshua G H

Aug 26, 2020

Wonderful introduction into Particle physics and explains all phenomena that has been discovered so far.

By Carlos A G T

May 24, 2017

That is the best course that I've done it in coursera, the teachers explain everything so fine and clear

By Shivam

Sep 30, 2019

Financial Aid help me a lot to get the deep knowledge Thank you coursera Thank you university of geneva

By Jagriti V

Sep 16, 2021

A FANTASTIC COURSE FOR THE BEGINEERS. INSTRUCTORS WERE AMAZING AND EXPLAINED EVERYTHING BEAUTIFULLY.

By Xuejing J

May 19, 2017

A well made course. But the learning curve is steep. It is hard to have some deep understanding.

By JACK S

Sep 10, 2021

I​ have no idea of the concepts this course mentioned. let me to get some easier. I'll be back!