Chevron Left
Back to Particle Physics: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Particle Physics: an Introduction by University of Geneva

4.4
stars
620 ratings
184 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Top reviews

MH

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP

Apr 23, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 185 Reviews for Particle Physics: an Introduction

By Muhammad F

Mar 12, 2019

That's really a nice course. I have learn a lot about the particle physics. which helpful in MPhIL program.

By Harshdeep S

Jan 20, 2020

A lot of room for improvement is there, but it was a pretty good and detailed course in particle physics.

By Harshit A

Sep 23, 2020

Content was good but the way of explaining was not up to the mark.

Content- 5/5

Teaching- 3/5

By saurav d

Apr 12, 2018

B

e

s

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

f

o

r

u

n

d

o

r

understanding

P

a

r

t

i

l

c

l

e

p

h

y

s

i

c

s

.

T

o

M

e

r

c

e

d

e

s

p

l

e

a

s

e

i

m

p

r

o

v

e

your

e

n

g

l

i

s

h

By Gustavo P

Oct 08, 2017

This course is quite good, I liked it a lot and learnt a lot from it.

By Anirudh S

Mar 06, 2019

The number of questions should be increased in every section!

By MD S A

Aug 09, 2019

It would be great if there were numerical problems

By Sai J R G

Jun 18, 2019

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

By Мясников В А

Jun 09, 2020

french accent of mercedes is not that good

By Richard K

Jul 07, 2018

Fast paced but informative.

By Natnael M

Aug 27, 2020

It is a very nice cource.

By Samantha S

Mar 23, 2018

i love the material

By Ogunnaike F E

Jul 09, 2020

very easy to grasp

By TARIT G

Oct 15, 2017

Very good approach

By jose

Dec 02, 2017

v

By Jacqueline T

Aug 01, 2020

Interesting material and good breadth. The difficulty level varies a lot between weeks - some weeks are very in depth while others seem like filler in comparison. There are a lot of equations introduced which require more knowledge of physics than I had expected from the course description and seem to be beyond the scope of an introductory course. Fortunately, following these equations is generally not necessary to understand the course objectives, but it does make following the lessons needlessly complex. Additionally, some of the quiz questions require memorization of specific numbers/values that are only tangentially related to the week's topic and don't help to further understanding of the subject matter.

By Hamza I

Aug 28, 2020

The course was very informative and finely detailed. I would say, however, that some parts or concepts were made a bit complicated and that they could have been easily explained/demonstrated.

By Samuel L J

Aug 07, 2017

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

By MRITYUNJOY S

Jul 11, 2020

there is a translation issue in some videos especially the ones with others (except Martin and Mercedes) and also the explanations are a bit monologous

By Egemen B

Aug 08, 2018

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

By Wei-shun B

Sep 28, 2017

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.

By Ruchit S

Aug 04, 2020

Interesting material, great instructors, but .... the monotonous, not-so-enthusiastic delivery may put one off.

By Abhimanyu B

Jan 28, 2018

try simplifying the course a little more

By Yifu L

Aug 29, 2018

subtitles can be improved.

By Deniz P

May 28, 2020

Although the course covered a wide range of topics, the mathematics were beyond my understanding (as a 10th grade student) and the accents were hard to understand and annoying from time to time. I had to learn most of the topics from other videos on YouTube because the topics were not simplified enough for me to understand. I would say you should enroll for free and have a look at a few videos before purchasing the course like I did. Overall, it was an interesting experience.