Chevron Left
Back to The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work by University of London

4.6
stars
2,596 ratings
796 reviews

About the Course

The aim of this course is to give you a practical guide to managing people at work. It does not matter whether you are a first time manager in a shop or a middle manager in an office environment; the same skills apply to every work place. In the course you will engage with some HR theories and then see how they translate into every day working life. At the end of the course we hope you will be better equipped to choose a suitable employee, to motivate and appraise your team, to manage conflict in the work place and to lead and make decision on a day to day basis....

Top reviews

PP

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent! The contents are great for any manager that want to make a significant job within any organization. Clear and key concepts for everyday activities. I enjoyed every single lesson. Thank you!

JG

Apr 16, 2022

I enjoyed this course. I learned a lot from it. Although I am familiar with some of the topics, it expanded my knowledge further, and would definitely help me become a more effective manager at work.

Filter by:

776 - 795 of 795 Reviews for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

By Erica S

Nov 23, 2021

The beginning sessions were helpful and I learned a lot, but the quality of the course seemed to lessen as it progressed. The final quiz had many careless errors in it and was pretty obviously just thrown together.

By Shelli A

Jul 6, 2020

I learned very little from what i knew before. it's definitely a beginner course, and a lot of it is common sense. learned some new theories and ideas behind managing.

By Kerstin M

Aug 28, 2021

The course description claims it to be a practical guide, but most of the content was very theoretical or very superficial with little practical relevance.

By Desmoré L

Jul 31, 2021

there were serious spelling mistakes and grammar issues in the questions on the assessments and that made it challenging to understand the questions

By Lana G

Mar 12, 2020

It’s called a practical guide, yet there’s a lot of theory and reading involved. I’m disappointed, I was expecting more examples

By Mohit K G

Dec 15, 2021

The course needs lot of situation based examples. The course is full of terminologies and it is difficult to make a connect.

By Shawndra F

Sep 8, 2021

Course offered little to no information that couldn't been found from Wikipedia. I was disappointed in it's poor quality.

By Rosa R

Mar 13, 2021

Dated course and lecturers. all theory not case studies at all. Not a Silicon Valley style of course

By Warren M H

Mar 22, 2020

Quite a dry and boring course. A lot of obvious content delivered in flowery language.

By Alessandro A

Aug 6, 2020

Course was very academic and not as practical as the title suggested.

By Mira G

May 16, 2022

This course provides an extremely basic overview of various things that managers do, and provides no actual insight into implementing strategy. It includes no helpful assignments that might provide hands-on examples, nor does it offer much in the way of going deeper. In addition, the course materials are incredibly poorly written: the tests/assessments are so abysmally written that the simple true/false answer is indecipherable due to poor grammatical structure. I would not recommend this course to anyone looking for actual help in learning management strategies.

By Jorge M

Dec 17, 2021

Sadly, I cannot recommend this course, it is way too boring, a lot of the topics could be more concise, and the quizzes are a joke, also, "practical" is not a word I would use to describe this course. The thing I really enjoyed was the short videos with examples but I think they missed the opportunity to show in the same way how could we address the situations.

I finished the course just because I don't like to let things halfway.

By Alba V

Aug 21, 2016

I don't mean to be harsh, but this course is increibly boring and sluggish. The reading material is heavy, the lecturers speak so slowly and dispassionately that it's impossible to engage with the subject.

I'm sure that there is really good content here, but I couldn't find it.

By Jiazhi G

Aug 27, 2017

This course is lack of content. What's worse? The teachers just say all the sentences on their slides. A terrible teaching style with poor content. Please don't take this course. It's a waste of time.

By Mariana L

Nov 27, 2021

Old school. Tests are not good at all. Review the assessments to not be a PubQuiz questions (name of people that create a theory, number of categories, etc). I did not feel engaged

By Matthew A

Mar 17, 2022

Low production value, confusing questions, surface-level advice.

By Lamika W

May 4, 2022

Boring and unengaging! Take it off my timeline.

By Inna L

Apr 23, 2020

Not a practical and very boring course.

By Soksan N

Jun 16, 2022

It was not intrigueing or interactive.

By Rajan A

Oct 15, 2020

too theoretical and boring