Chevron Left
Back to Performance Assessment in the Virtual Classroom

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Performance Assessment in the Virtual Classroom by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
436 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Performance Assessment in the Virtual Classroom! This course will help you effectively assess student performance virtually, including compliance issues, feedback models, online grade book functions, and data analysis. We will discuss why effective measures of performance and assessment are a crucial component of any virtual program, and the importance of teachers and administrators understanding both the myths and challenges of assessing performance virtually, administering standardized testing with geographical challenges, and complying with state and local requirements to make sure students are meeting requirements. Through the successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Examine the importance of authentic performance and assessment in the virtual classroom. • Discuss academic integrity and remote assessments in the virtual classroom.  • Apply best practices for data analysis and grade book management. • Consider performance and assessment for special populations: gifted, at-risk, and special needs students. • Discuss the importance of instructional feedback and monitoring progress and performance using technology....

Top reviews

MB

Oct 12, 2020

Even though this course was not easy to complete, I do have to say that I've learned quite a lot and I've acquired some very useful skills along the way :)

ZR

Mar 5, 2021

This course helped me to learn some concepts in virtual teaching performance assessment. I think now I can grade my students in a much systematic manner.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 102 Reviews for Performance Assessment in the Virtual Classroom

By Junaid Z

Jul 21, 2020

Great hands-on especially the grade book. I would recommend that everyone even those who are involved with undergraduates do attend this course. As the principles are the same.

By Philipp T

Jul 29, 2020

I really liked the content of the third week. But I think the quizzes are too easy this time. Could have been complex like in the first 2 courses. They really gave me hell. :)

By Rakesh N

Sep 2, 2020

This course allowed me to rethink on online evaluation. But the course could have incorporated some online evaluation technologies. Over all, it was impressive.

By Tracey J K

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent information presented, high quality PPTs and resources. Information on technology needs to be updated since classroom tech is advancing so quickly.

By Deleted A

Aug 7, 2020

The course is very useful. I would suggest to concentrate less in the grading and more in the engagement and integrity of assessment of online courses.

By Dr. N K N

Apr 23, 2021

The course is good. But the question and answer part is not stringent. The answers to questions are predictable. This can be re-processed.

By Mary F

Jul 18, 2020

The course was informative especially on the analysis of a grade book. However, there are a number of reading links that do not work.

By Myriam T X C

Jun 12, 2022

Es un curso muy completo, sin embargo, no es de facil acceso para las personas que no dominan el idioma ingles.

By Dr. V Y L

Sep 14, 2020

Course is really helpful to understand different types of students and also how to assess them virtually.

By Prasanna B

Oct 26, 2020

Very well planned and delivered online course. Really helpful for my current service.

By Kelly

Mar 1, 2017

Material is explained well and the comprehension checks along the way are helpful.

By SITI N M A

Jul 30, 2021

Strengthen and add extra knowledge to the teaching professionals. thumbs up!

By Nandini A

Dec 23, 2020

Good information regarding Virtual classes

By Ing. J H B S

Feb 18, 2018

Great course. Really helpful!

By Lakshmi D P

Nov 12, 2020

Very educational to learn

By Sonea J

Jan 22, 2021

Awesome journey

By Dr M R K

May 19, 2020

good experience

By Chandra M S

Jul 27, 2020

V

e

r

y

N

i

c

e

!

By Dr.Neelu J A

May 24, 2020

Good

By Mujawar J H

Apr 26, 2020

Good

By Ellen M

Oct 25, 2020

I think there is much room for improvement in this particular Module [Module #4]. My expectations were to gain knowledge of actual technological applications that can be used to assess online assignments. Plus, I expected to see samples of technology used to assess assignments [e.g., a YouTube video demonstrating how an LMS, like Canvas, can be used to size-up a student's standing in the course, and how extra credit might work within an LMS.] Being that Coursera is a learning program to learn how to teach ONLINE, I expected we would receive concrete information on how this can best be accomplished in the 21st century. Even to direct us to valuable external websites for additional learning, regarding Performance and Assessments, would have been a significant improvement for this Module 4. Other than this, the instructor, Racquel Stephens, seems like a lovely individual and one who is thoughtful and clear in the instructions she put forth. Thank you.

By Jorge T R

Nov 10, 2020

A rather decent course, but it is a step below compared with the first 3 courses

By Utkarsh P

Jun 11, 2022

Excellent

By Amy M

Jan 25, 2017

Too easy.

By Inge R

Sep 3, 2017

I work at an university of applied sciences and this course is still rather basic. It would have been great if they would have made the extra step, not only covering how a proper grade book should be set-up, but also what type of assessments should be included and in which way in order to make it a valid assessment tool. For instance, if I would build a MC exam test bank, how many questions should be in there, when would you give students more opportunities and why? And how to create an online test bank easiest? Some tips and tricks would have been great. I also missed how you could add more of a personalized way of assessing people online. And how to design proper online peer reviews and when is it valid to add the outcome to the final grade? So for the very basics, this is a good class to start, but if you wish more, I would not it.