Chevron Left
Back to Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language by University of Washington

4.8
stars
175 ratings
60 reviews

About the Course

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Top reviews

VS
Nov 14, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

GM
May 31, 2020

Loved it! Doing the whole 4 courses specialization. And the entire series is extremely interesting, quite fun to go through, and last but not least, very useful!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 62 Reviews for Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

By KAVYA M

Sep 22, 2020

Best course so far! Prof. Matt is so engaging and it's so fun to attend the lectures! :) Week 3 and Week 4 are very rewarding if you are the speaker looking for some good delivery and speech styles. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who really wants a persuasive speech! The course outline is done perfectly! You will surely enjoy it! :)

By Michele D

Jul 4, 2017

Excellent course! Covers best practices for organizing a persuasive speech, as well as effective phrasing. Also addresses the use of "um" as fillers. Prof. McGarrity is an excellent teacher and keeps things fun and interesting.

By Prerna S

May 10, 2020

I liked it and I can say for sure it clears the doubts of a speaker and gives a clear understanding of how one can write effective speeches.

Regards

By Goralowski

Jul 5, 2017

Well done Matt. The course is full of practice tools how to prepare ourselves to convince others to our initiatives, thought etc.

By felicia a

Jul 21, 2017

very interesting and helpful course, taught by a great professor in a lovely, easy and sometimes even funny way.

By Shyam P

Jun 21, 2017

i love the professor. He is great! I took all of his classes on coursera. I hope to meet him in person one day.

By Sharath K

Sep 6, 2017

Fantastic beginning course on Rhetoric.

By LATHRO

Nov 11, 2018

Many useful tips to be a good speaker.

By Aniceto P y M

Jul 20, 2017

Great McGarrity, as always

By Juan T

Jun 6, 2017

Great course!

By Muhammad W A

Sep 21, 2019

This course so so helpful and very easy to follow. Especially our teacher is very professional and He knows what He is doing and I am really impressed by his communications skills. I am very happy that I finally completed it. Thanks a lot for everything.

By Santosh S

Oct 16, 2017

I think this is one of the best on persuasive speaking. THis is I feel also best of this specialization.

I was working on my persuasive speech for Toastmasters (CC#9 - project 9 of competent communicator manual) and this helped me lot!

By Vimal U ( G P - O U

Nov 29, 2020

Excellent course and really enjoyed the content. I am so fascinated with fact that there is so much in speaking and how we can persuade. I am glad to have done this course and will surely try to apply in my life.

By Vincent S

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

By Guillaume M

Jun 1, 2020

Loved it! Doing the whole 4 courses specialization. And the entire series is extremely interesting, quite fun to go through, and last but not least, very useful!

By María d C O R

Apr 6, 2018

Muy buen curso, es excelente que al fin de cada video aparezca el recuento de lo tratado, esto facilita una revisión de lo aprendido.

Muchas gracias!!!

By Yogesh K K

Nov 20, 2020

One of my best learning experiences. Matt has worked extremely hard to create comprehensive content. Huge thanks to him for that. Happy learning!!

By Shailendra S S

Nov 1, 2020

This is an outstanding course for all type of professional be it in the field of sales/marketing, manufacturing and or any other industries .

By Mona e

Jul 18, 2020

Really recommend completing this course, gives great tips on how to convey your point across in a comprehensive and persuasive manner!

By Panagiotis S

Oct 3, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

By Ronald L W S

Jun 2, 2020

Great course! I highly recommend this if you're looking into improving your communication skills, especially communicating ideas.

By Kellyn C

Jun 3, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Professor has a good sense of humor. He did a good job at explaining what makes a persu

By Christopher C

Dec 3, 2020

Dr. Matt McGarrity, is an excellent lecturer and this course is a must have regardless of your field of study/expertise.

By MACHAY C N P

Nov 4, 2020

Un excelente curso, que ayuda para poner en practica como compartir nuestras ideas y motivara a la audiencia

By Binoj M

Dec 2, 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn the art of speaking to persuade. The materials were really helpful.