Chevron Left
Back to Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.4
stars
714 ratings
199 reviews

About the Course

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Top reviews

SR
Nov 13, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

RR
May 13, 2017

Fine course, nice references for further reading, clear and nice instructors. Only two where a little odd: Statis Psillos, talking too fast, and Conor Cunningham, a bit too theatrical.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 196 Reviews for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

By Maruf L

Sep 26, 2019

Very Well package course. thanks for a lot of the knowledge and insight shared. I guess the learning continues.

By Venelouis T S P

Jan 31, 2017

A great course that make us to think about perceived reality, to think about science and religion importances.

By J D

Apr 27, 2017

Great course, excellent brief survey of a number of key issues in philosophy of science. Highly recommended.

By Diego S D

Jul 25, 2020

Brilliant. I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about the deeper questions in human life.

By John W W

Nov 20, 2020

thankyou university of edinburg for this course its very helpful especially in building ones spirituality

By Fogan A

Mar 9, 2019

This course is a great course! Thanks to Coursera and all the professors and others that made it possible

By Комаровская А С

Mar 22, 2017

Thank you so mush for providing such an interesting course on philosophy for free! The material was good!

By Robert C C

Jul 30, 2019

Good course, though I think the instructors are rather condescending toward young earth creationism.

By Peta A

Apr 4, 2019

Wonderful thank you, will definitely participate in the additional courses offered on this subject.

By Rafael A T

Aug 10, 2017

Excelent course, all the topics are very interesting, great team of professors, congratulations.

By Stacey M

Feb 25, 2018

Excellent material, very well presented and explained. Thoroughly interesting. Thank you so much.

By Tapuwa L S

Feb 6, 2019

The course was very enlightening and now my understanding of the world has been aptly rectified

By Donald A

Oct 5, 2020

Very informative and gave me a different perspective on how to combine ideas from both topics.

By HELLEN D S S

Jul 9, 2020

Very good course! It inspired me and gave me tools to keep questioning life and the world.

By Bruno P d C

May 12, 2020

Espetacular experiência e interdisciplinaridade para a Teologia e Ciências da Religião.

By Antonia T B

Mar 16, 2020

Very interesting. Easy quizzes. Different points of view. I learnt a lot. Thanks a lot!

By Rita d C A G O

Feb 19, 2017

Very interesting course. Help me increase my vocabulary and my power of argumentation.

By Horacio M C

Mar 24, 2019

Excellent course I am waiting for the 2 courses that I need to complete the series.

By Andrew M

Jan 22, 2018

A fantastic introduction, academically this had the right mix of depth and breadth.

By Hugh H

Jun 2, 2017

I enjoyed this course. The content was excellent and lectures were well presented.

By John H P

Nov 25, 2020

very helpful. It reoriented me on the fundamental explanation of Faith and Reason

By Diego A G U

Dec 13, 2019

I great learning with this course. Very clear content and very good teachers.

By Samer B

Nov 29, 2020

These doctors are the best in the world. Thank you, for all the effort.

By Mario B

Apr 28, 2020

Excellent course taught by an incredible team of top level professors.

By Phillip C

Nov 22, 2017

Very informative, love the diverse and expansive approach to teaching.