Chevron Left
Back to Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
395 ratings
97 reviews

About the Course

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Philosophy and Religion’, is the second of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series, and in this course we will ask important questions about the age-old debate between science and religion, such as: • What kind of conflicts are there between religion and science? • Does current cognitive science of religion effectively explain away God? • If there is a God who has made us so that we can know him, why do some people not believe? • Is belief in science also a kind of fundamentalism? • What makes us good at getting, giving, or sharing, knowledge? Is this different when it is religious knowledge? The first course in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series, 'Science and Philosophy' was launched early in 2017 and you can sign up to it at any time. The third course —‘Religion and Science’—will be launched early in 2018. Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion I: Science and Philosophy https://www.coursera.org/learn/philosophy-science-religion-1/ • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Upon successful completion of all three courses, students will: (1) Understand the main parameters at stake in the current debate between science and religion. (2) Have some familiarity with the relevant areas of science that feature in the debate—including cosmology, evolution, and the neurosciences—and will have begun to engage with them conceptually. (3) Have encountered key philosophical approaches to the interface between science and religion, and will have had the opportunity to engage them in practice. (4) Have embarked constructively in cross-disciplinary conversations. (5) Have demonstrated an openness to personal growth through a commitment to dialogue across intellectual and spiritual boundaries. You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Top reviews

B
May 29, 2020

The course was really beneficial especially for people who want to know deeper information about the truth of the begging, the main argue and how people are different in thinking.

AM
Feb 3, 2021

Crate course, aimed at a relatively basic level but a very good overview of the topic and very enjoyable. Recommend a course to anyone relatively new to philosophy. Thank you.

Filter by:

76 - 98 of 98 Reviews for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion

By Gariyasi G

Dec 22, 2017

It was an amazing course, filled with philosophical debates, with a balanced point of view most of the time. Most of all, it certainly got me thinking!

The course covers a myriad range of content, and brings together knowledge from various experts belonging to different countries and disciplines. It is easy for anyone to find their particular expected information. Content is organised excellently; is easy to follow, along with extremely interesting discussion forums. Had an amazing ride, and this course is definitely one you need to do with other people who share common interests, because there is so much to discuss, debate and share. Would have enjoyed more passionate instructor experiences, and am looking forward to more.

By Bob M

Jul 2, 2020

Generally very stimulating and interesting. There were obviously high points and low points, and occasionally the philosophy became a bit too abstract to take seriously, but nearly all the material was cogently presented and the presenters managed to remain impressively impartial when dealing with potentially contentious material.

One observation I do have though. Before doing this course worked though the Science-Philosophy course. That struck me as more like Science vs Religion. This to some extent felt more like Philosophy vs Science. Admittedly trying to discuss two of the ideas without mention of the third is tricky, but looking simply at the course contents I’d have struggled to decide which was which.

By D S

Feb 5, 2018

Super course, brings some clarity to the issues at hand. In my opinion, it does "dance" around the convergence of truth (small t) as something that can be derived form one, the other , or both routes: Science and Religion. However, does not distinguish enough (IMHO) between the cultural/social/political footing of "religion" and the core belief aspect of "god" (small g) in personal psychology: these are mutually reaffirming factors treated as a single "faith".

By Magali C B

Oct 21, 2020

Very good readings, lectures and professors, the content was not what I initially expected but I ended up learning a lot and understanding epistemology. Only thing is most reading are in word documents which is somewhat inconvenient.

By Mark A D

Jan 12, 2020

Good course but it seemed to end abruptly. It was missing some type of conclusory module that tied the segments together. Overall, the course was interesting and worth the time.

By Elsie C

May 10, 2021

Another good course from the University of Edinburgh on Philosophy. Some parts were a little bit more in depth than I expected, but a good range of topics and mix of lecturers.

By Lucy

Sep 15, 2020

Very informative and useful information to support my school learning. I found the use of examples and metaphors useful to help contextualise the information.

By Mohammad S A

May 10, 2020

Islam is the second biggest religion in the world and is one of the Ibrahimic religions. There should be some more research done on it.

By A. F M

Apr 20, 2021

An engaging and thought-provoking course. Week 5 (Scientism) was of especial interest to me and was very well presented.

By Ms. S A

Aug 17, 2020

It was a wonderful experience indeed! It helps to widen up the analytical power of a learner.

By John T R

Feb 26, 2021

The course expanded my knowledge, thus ratifying my reason for taking the course

By barry f

Nov 30, 2020

Very good content. Lecturers were OK but have seen better.

By Fernanda V

Oct 15, 2020

The course is nice, I did not get too involved though.

By Keith S

Jan 14, 2020

Excellent lecturers, very clear.

By Nathan P

Sep 5, 2020

Very Interesting course.

By Judith A

Oct 24, 2020

Some segments were excellent, especially the one dealing with neurobiology and religious experience. Others, particularly the latter ones, were less clearly presented and did not seem as relevant to the topic.

By Leonardo R C

Aug 11, 2020

My expectations about the course were others (I thought that It would be more esoteric than other thing)

By Lisa B

Mar 9, 2019

Interesting topics but it may have been helpful to focus the course a bit more.

By john d

Feb 4, 2020

Really good. Taught me to carefully examine the path knowledge takes.

By Julio C N P

Mar 7, 2018

GOOD

By Thomas B

Oct 5, 2021

I thought that this course was generally rather poor. I was disappointed with what I saw as the overly 'intellectualized' language, which I did not think provided much insight. I thought that many of the issues could have been explained in simpler terms using plain language. Profs John Lennox and Alister McGrath are two Christian apologists who I think do an excellent job in reconciling scientific and religious thinking.

By IRYUMUGABE S

Jan 14, 2021

i am completed two courses but i haven't the certificates my name is :IRYUMUGABE Sylvestre

i need a help i beg you

By Joseph H

Oct 23, 2020

Es interesante. Pero no me gustó.