Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,629 ratings
1,787 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,768 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Andrey M

Feb 28, 2016

Greatly enjoyed this introduction to philosophy - appropriately brief, but insightful, engaging, broad and thought provoking!

By Nicole T

Mar 21, 2021

Very informative, well structured course. I really enjoyed listening to the different instructors for the different modules.

By Valentina B S

May 17, 2020

I learned a lot, the teachers were cool and explained great. I never thought I'd have so much fun while learning philosophy.

By ERIKA M

May 10, 2020

I would love to continue with phase 2.... Sometimes i find the questionnaires t a bit hard for nonnative English speakers...

By Tieta S

Oct 7, 2018

I love Suilin Lavelle! I think she's incredible and very funny and smart. Every philosophy lecturer should be like Suilin :)

By Andrea L C R

Oct 5, 2018

Es muy bueno, sólo recomendaría hacer una sección para lo que se trata de autores de filosofía clásica y los contemporáneos.

By Alex M D H

Aug 15, 2018

Is a great course if you want to approach to philosophy, has a great variety of modules and has actual or modern philosophy.

By Gonzalo H U

Nov 28, 2015

es un excelente curso que no he podido terminar por problemas de conexión, pero ya estoy listo! le doy la MAXIMA PUNTUACION!

By John T V

Jun 22, 2020

The course itself made me realize a lot of stuff such a sufficing the lacking qualities deep in my existentialist thinking.

By Inthuon B

Apr 15, 2020

This course gives me the foundation in different topics in Philosophy. The modules are very interesting and worth learning.

By Jamuna M

Aug 31, 2015

An excellent introduction to basic philosophy, including current debates in the field. Easy to follow for a novice like me.

By Fabian K

Apr 3, 2021

Great course which clearly introduces the students to important philosophical questions being applicable to everyday life!

By Olutayo K O

Jun 20, 2020

I love the course. It is very enlightening and does tickle the mind to think. Very captivating facilitators. I enjoyed it!

By Sophie H

Feb 2, 2018

This course is divided into several topics of philosophy based on the expertise area of each teacher. Very enlightening :)

By Subbalakshmi K

Oct 1, 2017

A very useful and informative introduction to philosophy for anybody interested in thinking and having a questioning mind.

By Miguel Á H

Apr 20, 2017

Muy bueno para acceder a los tópicos de la Filosofía y el filosofar occidental, particularmente el de la tradición sajona.

By Qiying Y

Mar 29, 2017

A very resourceful and mind-opening course. Need to take more time to absorb it. Thanks for all the professors making it.

By Luis M

Nov 13, 2015

Excelente curso para aprender lo básico, me gusto mucho y lo recomiendo a quien quiera adentrarse a este inmenso mundo :3

By Brayan C R G

Jun 25, 2020

Maravillo!! Desearia que existiera mas módulos de filosofía enfocados en temas específicos para estudiarlos a profundidad

By Bradley N

May 30, 2020

Excellent intro and lectures delivered in straight forward language. Highly recommended. Thank you to all the lecturers

By fatemeh a

May 16, 2020

I loved every second! very intriguing . gave good insight. will keep an eye out for the university of Edinburgh for sure!

By George F

May 15, 2020

A fantastic experience with committed teachers, quality materials and a well structured step by step delivery. Thank you.

By MISS P D

May 5, 2020

I think it's the best course because it gives many kinds of knowledge. Then I can use the knowledge to adapt to my life.

By Luis X V

Sep 18, 2017

Me pareció la mas precisa introducción a la filosofía, para desde estos temas ampliar la investigación, y el pensamiento.

By Goh J W

May 15, 2021

Every Professor was engaging and the course materials were very interesting and informational. Learned a lot. Thank you!