Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,629 ratings
1,787 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 1,770 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Goh J W

May 15, 2021

Every Professor was engaging and the course materials were very interesting and informational. Learned a lot. Thank you!

By Alexandre P

Aug 19, 2020

absolutely excellent course, I learned a great deal and the teaching made that possible. Could not recommend more highly

By Martín F J

Jul 23, 2020

El curso me pareció muy interesante, lo recomiendo amplia mente, los aprendizajes son utilizados para la vida cotidiana.

By Vitalii L

Aug 7, 2019

It's a great introduction to understand what philosophy is and what she is not. Thank you for effective and fun journey!

By Rahul P

May 9, 2018

I've learned so much through this course, would highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning what Philosophy is.

By Anders C

May 1, 2021

Great introduction to Philosophy in a neat and concise manner. Handouts provided aided learning in this course as well.

By Alexis L

Aug 21, 2020

Great course. I've learned about many interesting topics about philosophy. My critical thinking has enriched very much.

By Liew W Y

Jul 8, 2020

Theories are put out in a simplified manner for easy understanding. Contents are interesting and fun to follow through.

By Ian J

Jun 3, 2020

A great entree into Philosophy concepts. Provides a sound foundation for further study in specific areas of Philosophy.

By Lan Q L

Feb 13, 2017

Well prepared materials that provide simple, basic understanding of philosophy. Great effort from the team! Big thanks!

By Camilo R M

Nov 19, 2015

One of the best course i have ever made in this plataform, Greatest professors and really interesting topics. Thank you

By Lorraine H

May 10, 2020

Excellent course! The structure and content were well laid out, easy to understand and incredibly interesting. Thanks!

By Annesha K G

Aug 29, 2015

I learnt a lot from this course. This course is designed very easily to understand. Thank you University of Edinburgh.

By Jen P

Jan 19, 2021

I enjoyed this course, it gave a useful insight into different areas of philosophy. Thanks for putting this together.

By Jonathan M

Jun 12, 2020

Great intro course with wide ranging topics. great for a foundation and springboard for further research and learning

By Yahya K G

May 24, 2020

Amazing course. Nice materials and content. But some web links which are suggested for further reading are not valid.

By Ralph R F

May 20, 2019

Simple and entertaining. The materials are well-thought of and presented in ways that are relevant to everyday lives.

By Christi M

Feb 23, 2018

Excellent overview of some specializations within the field of philosophy. Summaries are presented in an engaging way

By Jose R G F

Sep 23, 2017

Disfrute mucho profundizar en temas muy interesantes de la filosofia, disciplina de la cual soy fan hace muchos años.

By Hargyo T N I

May 23, 2020

I feel so enlightened by this course. It is very recommended for those who want to start getting to know Philosophy.

By Niyaz A G

May 20, 2020

It has been an excellent learning experience for me. The topics covered and the approach of teachers is appreciable.

By Alberto d l F M

Nov 21, 2019

Interesantísima introducción a varios de los temas candentes en la Filosofía actual. Muy recomendable y disfrutable.

By Sue L

Oct 19, 2019

it's my first finished course here. it's clearly, logical, helpful for me to learn language and philosophy knowledge

By Theodore H

Feb 12, 2018

Very thought provoking and informative. A great 'introduction' to some fairly deep concepts. I very much enjoyed it.

By Valéry B

May 6, 2017

Superb. A great introduction to many concepts. The Free Will and time travel on week 5 are fascinating.

Thanks a lot.