Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,765 ratings
1,819 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
Oct 7, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 1,806 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Samiha S

Dec 7, 2015

It was very informative and interesting. Provided some very intriguing questions for reflective thinking.

By Eric B

Jun 20, 2020

A very nice introduction into the philosophical way of thinking! The mentors are great and well versed!

By Rhiannon P

Feb 5, 2020

Really engaging and at the perfect level. Has made me really consider studying philosophy at university.

By RENÉ V C R

Jan 25, 2019

es un curso que muestra de manera sencilla los temas en los que se ocupan los filósofos de la actualidad

By Khalil A M

Jun 9, 2018

Excellent courses, first gate of philosophy, highly reccomded any one want to know more about philosophy

By Abdullah A

Aug 6, 2020

Fascinating course. Thanks, I am really grateful for everyone helped creating such an excellent course.

By JOSE B

Aug 4, 2020

HIGHLY INFORMATIVE, PLEASING PRESENTATION WITH BEST EXAMPLES REALLY LOVED THE WAY THEY TOOK THE CLASSES

By Nelson S M C

Mar 21, 2020

Es muy didáctico y entretenido, los temas son diversos e interesantes. No es lo que esperaba, es mejor.

By Ujjwal B

Mar 7, 2016

This course is informative and enjoyable. I would highly recommend it to anyone interest in Philosophy!

By Minh T

Feb 15, 2021

I think this course is really useful and it's recommended for everyone regardless of their discipline.

By Nathalie

Dec 29, 2020

It was such an interesting course!! Great professors, amazing videos and articles! Thank you so much😊

By Alexander A

Apr 9, 2017

Very interesting course. Already started to look for another one from Edinburgh University. Great job!

By Christian D L T

Jun 18, 2016

Great course, excellent topics... they are about interesting themes and questions in the world. Thanks

By CHRISTROYAL D

Aug 23, 2015

Good course,i absolutely gained more knowledge about human beliefs and thoughts.Thank you instructors.

By Martin O L C

Aug 4, 2020

Very good Course, a lot of variety of subjects so you can have the idea on the way Philosophy works,

By Li P

Feb 19, 2017

Great course to the introduction to philosophy. It opens a door for philosophical curious outsiders.

By Víctor d T

Dec 31, 2016

Una magnifica forma de invertir el tiempo y aprender o refrescar los conocimientos sobre la materia.

By Adel M

Nov 29, 2020

I had no background in philosophy and i loved that course, easy to understand and very interesting.

By lilly f

Oct 23, 2020

I loved all of the teachers, they are easy to understand and the material they set out is on point.

By Zeeshan A

Jun 1, 2020

The most thing I like in this course is we are not bond of time. On assignment is very great to do.

By Ryosuke M

Nov 25, 2015

Great introduction to a wide range of ideas and intellectual endeavours in the field of philosophy.

By Molnár D

May 25, 2020

Thank you very much for all the instructors, all the topics were very informative and interesting!

By Andréa G P

Sep 24, 2015

very well explained.... I regret to haven't follow philosophy course in high school in france now!

By Gean B Q

Dec 20, 2020

O curso possui elevada categoria de informações e vai além de uma simples introdução aos estudos.

By Liszi K M M

Sep 14, 2020

Entendible, a pesar de ser compleja la materia, los profesores explican a detalle... me encanto!!