Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
4,066 ratings
923 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 911 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Tiara L

Mar 05, 2018

A good overall (modular) introduction to Philosophy and worth completing, but it lacks a more complete development of any of the presented topics. Definitely worth watching the lectures, but in-depth independent work and thorough readings are a must if you want to get more out of this course.

By July C S P

Mar 09, 2020

Los aportes de cada uno de los profesores es muy diferente, algunos de ellos tienen sesiones realmente interesantes y muy bien elaboradas, mientras que en otros las ideas son muy básicas y poco profundas, además de que no se hacen entender bien. Hacen falta las transcripciones en inglés.

By Raúl B

Jan 02, 2016

The classes were pretty good, but the bibliography was not. The bibliography consists of encyclopedia's articles which are not necessarily written to a beginner. It is quite discouraging for someone starting with philosophy to read articles which lacks a pedagogic approach.

By Alix R D

Nov 20, 2015

Interesante pero tal vez demasiado amplio para ser una introducción y por lo tanto demasiado general.

No capté el criterio de selección de los temas, y los temas presentados no eran los que esperaba.

Muy buenos los profesores, muy entusiastas de su materia.

By Syed N H

Dec 06, 2016

Too complicated for those who are new to philosophy. The basic concepts not very clearly explained. It seems that teachers had the assumption that students already had some previous knowledge of philosophy.

By İlker G

Sep 08, 2015

The course does not have much videos and some of the lecturers (especailly week 5) talk TOO FAST. The subject is abstract and hard enough and talking too fast makes it harder.

By Renan C C

Oct 24, 2017

Great topics and teachers! The tests could be a little more exigent, I guess, nevertheless, it's a well built and interesting course open to anyone!

By Julia Z

Feb 24, 2018

The first couple of tutors sounded interested in what they were doing and like they knew what they were saying. The rest didn't.

By Dharshan

May 13, 2018

As an introductory course this was sufficient and provided an excellent insight into the numerous areas of philosophy.

By Manoj J

Jan 24, 2016

I have a mixed feeling about it. Sometimes I felt, this course was trying to deliver more content in short time.

By James D

Mar 30, 2016

Some brilliant videos, but some leave much to be desired. Nice introduction but don't get too hung up on it.

By Tsering S

Jan 19, 2017

There were a number of different instructors and it was great to have a taste of varying topics from them.

By Ilan M

Jul 07, 2017

The course gives you a basic introduction to various topics in Philosophy, but lacked depth.

By Nils A

Jun 03, 2018

The Audio recording quality of certain videos literally gave me headaches, had to skip them

By Federico

Feb 12, 2016

The course was interesting but overall very wide and didn't make a clear point.

By Milly C

Mar 07, 2016

An interesting overview, but I wish it had been a bit more rigorous.

By Estefanía A

Jun 09, 2017

no se enfoca tanto en que es la filosofía, se va de las ramas

By brian d f

Dec 20, 2019

Very basic with muddled explanations and weak examples.

By Romario A

Nov 11, 2015

Good to follow by the subs

By Luyu Z

Feb 08, 2017

内容质量有些参差不齐,关键是中文字幕乱的一塌糊涂。

By Eduardo D

Dec 04, 2016

Good food for thought

By bell w

May 09, 2019

Great for what it is

By 罗浩洋

Dec 22, 2018

中文字幕重复,课件无中译文,链接部分失效

By rifqi h

Nov 02, 2017

so far is good