Chevron Left
Back to Principles of Photo Composition and Digital Image Post-Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Principles of Photo Composition and Digital Image Post-Production by Michigan State University

4.7
stars
972 ratings
215 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Course THREE! In the first two Modules you will gain a more professional-level understanding of the Design Elements that artists have used throughout history to create successful compositions. Arranging the Elements in ways that lead viewers through their compositions is an essential craft for photographers no matter whether their subject matter is pure documentary or vividly exotic personal expression. In Modules 3 & 4 we survey the essential elements of post-photography image management, using Adobe(tm) LIGHTROOM(tm). Image adjustment software designed for Smartphone photographers rounds out the Course. Since even photographers whose mainstay is a high-end DSLR also must admit to Smartphone use occasionally, and photographers who only use a Smartphone will usually admit that they want to step over to a "regular" camera at some point, there is something for everyone here! Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

DW
Mar 8, 2020

Post production was something i wanted to get into, but haven't. This course allow me to explore with guidence.I love the challenges of the projects and the peer review to see what others imagine.

AT
Dec 1, 2017

Great course structure. Great Professors and Mentors. This course has really help me grow a lot as a photographer. I'm so thankful to Coursera & MSU for putting such a great course for learners.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 208 Reviews for Principles of Photo Composition and Digital Image Post-Production

By Delcides A M

Jun 21, 2016

There were some troubles with the subtitles in the course. :(

By Jackie I

Feb 5, 2018

The subtitle is not synchronous . And No active discussion .

By Dave E

Oct 19, 2020

i liked it though I have enjoyed more the past courses.

By Alain M

Oct 17, 2020

Not the funniest part for me.

By giorgos p

Mar 26, 2017

useful and creative work

By Shreyas K

Mar 1, 2019

this course is awesome

By Loretta W

Oct 30, 2018

great teachers!!

By Manu J

Sep 17, 2020

Great course!!

By Qamar A A

May 7, 2018

very usefull

By Alex M

Dec 10, 2018

Little slow

By Abdallah A

Oct 30, 2018

Good course

By Julián A H A

Sep 11, 2020

excellent!

By Mashuk-E-Elahi (

May 15, 2020

Good.

By SASIDHARAN T

Aug 23, 2020

-

By Siddharth Y

Jul 2, 2020

The content of the course was pretty great. The way it was presented was also excellent. The instructors were amazing too.

Not coming to bad part of the course, the quizzes and the assignments of the course weren't that good. The quizzes were horrible. There are no slides available. I think it would be a much better course if we could improve the quizzes and make the more extensive and useful. The Peer Review was a disaster with everyone just saying "good job" or one-word response while i wrote paragraphs.

By Frederic B

Jun 1, 2017

First part on composition is great. Second part on post-production is quiet bad : it's just a feature list of each tool and lack what I was looking for, a set of good and bad workflows for post processing.

Everyone can read some software documentation (which is more or less what the second part was), but it's more difficult to get how to work correctly with each tool, to get some good practices and how to be efficient on softwares.

By Jorge M

Nov 19, 2020

Interesnting content but the final part is not well updated and looks poor in comparison with the initial one.

Feedback for peers is really poor. Just ok with no explanation in most of the cases. Would be great ask for at least 1 sentence forcing to give real feedback. If language is a barrier at least with some evaluatios slides about different aspects to have more information.

By Raffaella G

Apr 30, 2020

First two weeks are providing basics concepts of photographic, Good recap and insights. I was expecting more from Weeks 3 and 4 on Lightroom introduction: I found it not engaging and not so much useful for good usage of Lightroom. I would have preferred some more exercises and practice on the different functionalities which would have helped to understand better the tool

By Pranay L

Jul 13, 2020

No that help as it says. I have been using my lightroom from the past 3 years I also understood half of the stuff because of my past usage. I feel like if someone who is new to photography and want to start from learning from here it would be a hard journey as half of the material is really hard to understand and not explained properly.

By Enrico P

Jul 14, 2020

I like very much the part about visual elements. The last part, about post-production, is just an explenation of the tools you can find in lightroom or pixlr, it idoes not teach you how to work with digital pictures. I think you can do much better about post-production. The overall is good, not special.

By Doyle B

Aug 17, 2020

The sections on Lightroom were in my opinion a bit laboured compounded by the fact that my computer couldn’t cope with the application and so I had to use other applications which had same principles. Still some great exercise just not up to the standards of course 1 or 2.

By Enrique A

Jun 20, 2016

The composition and visual elements part of the course was incredible but the Lightroom part could be improved. Going through every feature in Lightroom is not helpful. It's better to focus on teaching key useful techniques to achieve desired effects

By SRISHTI C

Aug 13, 2020

I'm not sure whether it was the teacher or not or just that the material was too...different and therefore a little monotonous. But i definitely felt that it was at a lower standard than the first/second course.

By Greg C

Apr 20, 2020

The section on Lightroom, though timely when course was created, is not accurate with the latest release of lightroom today. It was a little annoying to take a quiz on a product that no longer exists.

By Christopher M

Jun 1, 2016

This course seemed a bit spread too thin. Not much real coverage on post-production; mostly just an intro and that was at the expense of more learning on composition.