Chevron Left
Back to Seeing Through Photographs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Seeing Through Photographs by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
3,695 ratings
998 reviews

About the Course

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Top reviews

AQ
Mar 8, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE
Jun 2, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 985 Reviews for Seeing Through Photographs

By Rick W

Oct 17, 2020

Thought provoking. Challenges common notions of what photography is and how to look at photography.

By Ana M M

May 31, 2020

Terrific! I highly recomend it to people who want to learn more about photography and art in general

By Julia P L

May 26, 2020

This course is very helpful with understanding photography. Excellent examples and reading material.

By Carlos-Fernando H

May 24, 2020

Excellent course. Opening eyes to the history of photography and how to further understand this art.

By Jesus Z

Mar 5, 2018

Very good course, complete and interesting, very easy to carry and the application is very friendly.

By Andrei I

May 29, 2017

Excellent course, unusual and creative view on the photography and on our world! It makes it better!

By Kerr M

Jun 7, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyable! A concise, and coherent course that progressed my understanding of the medium

By Ryan P

Jun 1, 2020

Just amazing. I have a lot of problem with reading and I'm french but there is no excuse to learn!!

By Stefanos K

Feb 23, 2019

Was an excellent course and reminder of Photography's Why.

Thank you very much for the opportunity.

By Luis F

Mar 8, 2016

Great course, really interesting to understand photography and appreciate it more to create better.

By Stamatis K

Sep 28, 2020

It’s a nice experience!!! I discover a new techniques in photography!!! I am very glad about it!!!

By Manuel G N

Jul 26, 2020

Es un excelente curso. Si me gustaría un curso ampliado de la fotografía como arte contemporaneo.

By Penny B

Nov 13, 2017

Perfect for beginners

Sufficient information to gain knowledge

Educational and not tiring or boring

By Alexandro G A S

May 17, 2020

Don't miss this course, it will change your life. It's in my top 3 (if not the best so far) MOOC.

By edith o

Jan 28, 2020

Extremely comprehensive, great overview of history of photography and those who moved it forward.

By Oliver T M

Nov 16, 2019

An awesome course that let me understand better why i should consider Photograph as a form of art

By Jose G

Nov 6, 2017

Great! You learn how to learn to see photographs the right way through history and photographers.

By Juan M D L H

Jun 12, 2017

Muy completo y didáctico, te enseña a ver el mundo y sobre todo la fotografía de manera distinta.

By Juliana G A

Dec 29, 2020

Excelente! Te da otra mirada sobre la fotografía y la historia que podes contar a través de ella

By Mark A

Jun 23, 2020

This was an enjoyable and informative course. It was a nice mix of videos and reading material.

By Ana Z

Apr 4, 2016

Pese a las complicaciones idiomáticas. Todo fue muy bueno, valió la pena el esfuerzo. ¡Gracias!

By Natali H P

Feb 29, 2016

Una excelente manera de iniciarse en la historia de la fotografía y en el lenguaje fotográfico.

By Juan M L C

Apr 13, 2020

To see, understand, enjoy and thoughtful a photograph.

Amazing and really interesting course.

By Cristina M C

Feb 8, 2020

Buen curso, para los apasionados de la fotografía. Aprendes mucho de historia de la fotografía

By Richard D

Nov 24, 2016

Congratulations to Sarah and the MoMA team on a stimulating Seeing Through Photographs course.