Chevron Left
Back to Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,275 ratings
388 reviews

About the Course

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top reviews

AA
Apr 18, 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL
Mar 8, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 379 Reviews for Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

By Chew R

Jan 14, 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

By Benson H

Aug 2, 2018

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

By Andrea V

Dec 18, 2017

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

By Ferlin P

Feb 19, 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

By Megan R

Apr 13, 2020

A great introduction of ancient philosophies. I like the instructor's explanations and lecture style.

By Jose A G R

Sep 15, 2017

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

By Alejandra T

May 19, 2020

Me encanto ya que comprendí cada tema y la manera de enseñanza es muy entendible para muchos gracias

By Areaba S

May 17, 2020

It was a wonderful journey of 4 weeks of learning.

Thanks to the Greek legends and Professor Susan.

By Yifei W

Aug 18, 2019

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

By Oscar D

Jan 18, 2018

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

By Mandhir S

Mar 22, 2021

Very nicely done by the Instructor. Just the correct amount of rigor for an introductory course.

By Sajid K

Jun 17, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course! Loved the way the instructor explained complex ideas simply.

By Monica B

Jun 1, 2020

I have learned a lot about Plato and the philosophers who came before him. Thank you very much!

By Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.

By Stephen B

Dec 4, 2020

The thoughtful and meticulous videos provided significant insight into the reading materials.

By marc g

Apr 14, 2020

Very comprehensive yet digestible! I never felt bored and always thought that I was learning.

By Fogan A

Apr 6, 2020

A very good course that I really enjoy! thanks Coursera & Team and University of Pennsylvania

By George C M

Mar 24, 2016

Well structured course that gives an excellent background to the basis of ancient philosophy.

By Charles E M

May 8, 2018

The Professor is quite interesting and this is the second course I have taken under her lead

By Carl A

Aug 7, 2020

This course served as an avenue for me to improve especially in terms of reading texts. :)

By Cees O

Mar 29, 2020

I was impressed by the quality of the teachings and especially the instructor: excellent!!

By Dimitris P

Aug 31, 2016

An excellent introductory course to Plato. Gave me great insights to his works. Thank you!

By Juan L P B

Feb 24, 2019

Aprendí mucho con éste curso recomendable para quien se interese por la filosofía.

By Jessica D O F

May 18, 2020

El curso es muy bueno, te ayuda a entender conceptos tan básicos sobre filosofía

By Sergey A

May 13, 2018

Short but well thought and coincide class for Plato and presocratics philosophy.