Chevron Left
Back to Portfolio and Risk Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Portfolio and Risk Management by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
2,172 ratings
361 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the theory underlying optimal portfolio construction, the different ways portfolios are actually built in practice and how to measure and manage the risk of such portfolios. You will start by studying how imperfect correlation between assets leads to diversified and optimal portfolios as well as the consequences in terms of asset pricing. Then, you will learn how to shape an investor's profile and build an adequate portfolio by combining strategic and tactical asset allocations. Finally, you will have a more in-depth look at risk: its different facets and the appropriate tools and techniques to measure it, manage it and hedge it. Key speakers from UBS, our corporate partner, will regularly add a practical perspective on these different topics as you progress through the course....

Top reviews

KS
Sep 9, 2016

Great! This course will help you learn how to make a proper portfolio which optimally matched to your risk&return preference and how to manage your portfolio's risk level with financial instruments.

CF
Nov 25, 2020

Definitely not for people without economical and some math knowledge, but Great content, and fully recommend for anybody looking to improve their knowledge to better take care of your portfolio!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 359 Reviews for Portfolio and Risk Management

By Daulet K

Aug 1, 2020

Learned lots of new stuff and thank you for the course content. Had difficulty at understanding VaR, but an explanation from Dr. Berrada made it more clear. In my opinion, it should be so heavy in math. And subtitles are horrible clearly made by some automated solution with no human input involved.

By Mircea N S

Jun 5, 2016

As previous courses part of Investment Management specialization this is a very useful and at times challenging course for those who are interested in the financial field. Kudos to all teachers and thank you Coursera for offering these materials through your platform. Much appreciated!

By Fahim A R

Jun 21, 2020

Investment management is knowing about which variables or factors to look at, and which factors to adjust. This course enhanced my understanding of Modern Portfolio Theory, why is it still relevant today, risk management and a lot of other topics. Looking forward to the next course

By Philipp T K

Sep 30, 2016

Great course with an introduction to Modern Portfolio Theory and the Capital Asset Pricing Model. These are used to device strategic and tactical asset allocations and to manage risk. The quality of the videos is fantastic. The quizzes could be a bit more challenging.

By Firdaus K

Apr 27, 2020

The content was very well structured, the concepts were explained very well. The team at University of Geneva is awesome - very personable in their communication style and very crisp in their conceptual delivery. All the exercises too were at a high competency level.

By Juan R

Jun 26, 2016

Finance is a fundamental aspect of human life. In order to live a more joyful & prosper life, basic knowledge about markets and how they operate are basic outlines that will definitely serve as guides for a better future. This course does just that. Thank you

By David H

Jan 10, 2018

Mostly a well constructed course with good relevant content. Most lectures were well presented - I rather like Dr Berada's presentations. The meaning being long and short on options could have been better explained (different sides of the same contract).

By Yasir A

Aug 30, 2020

The course is very well organized while taking lecture I have learned a lot of new things and more importantly course content enrich with practical applications techniques. I recommended those who interested to learn finance must opt for this course.

By Zacharias L

Dec 25, 2016

It was an abundance of knowledge on basic portfolio management with few but strategic examples to illustrate its applications. I am very happy to have gained this kind of knowledge so I may have the chance to later work on portfolio management.

By Albert A D

Aug 21, 2017

This course is very informative. it actually gives you both the theory and practical scenarios where the knowledge is applies. i knew relatively little about portfolio and risk management before taking this.Now i have acquired a lot.

By Andreas S

Jul 6, 2019

Great review/overview of the key concepts in wealth management, portfolio theory and optimisation with practical application. Also enjoyed learning about risk management concepts and computing methods. Totally recommend

By Darrell R C

Apr 15, 2020

Great presentations. Well thought out. Week four seemed weak on explaining the theory behind the more complex calculations. A little outside work made up the gap, but it was expected in the actual presentation.

By Shane C

Jun 9, 2017

Excellent coverage of the topic. While a lot of materials can be covered more in-depth, this seems to be the right level for general masses/a course that is intended to be taught over the coursera platform.

By Gabriel G

Aug 29, 2020

This is was an incredible course. If you have a little bit of background on these topics you will be amazed by how the instructors present complex concepts in a very simple and understandable way.

By Nam D

Jan 22, 2017

This course is not that difficult. It helps understand basic portfolio theories and risk management. The letter half of this course requires some mathematics but not that difficult, i think.

By Felipe C

Dec 13, 2019

An excellent course to learn more about the portfolio managment and the risk asocciated, diversification, hedging. Pretty well explained and wonderfull lecturers. I really liked it so much

By Anthony B

Apr 29, 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Lecturers were clear and easy to understand. I feel this course would be a great aid for anyone pursuing a career in financial industries.

By Ermanno G

Oct 3, 2017

very well organised and full of inspirational insight, I'm happy to take this course, it worth the effort. Thanks to all the Professors for the nice job all you done.

By Alvaro G

May 6, 2020

Excellent course. I would suggest giving numerical examples in the lessons related to CVaR and ES, like it was done for currency hedging. Otherwise excellent material.

By Melanie A

Sep 9, 2016

Great course - like the rest of the specialization it had a great mix of video (primarily) and questions, practical advice, timely data and quizzes. Learned a ton!

By Lambertus d G

May 29, 2021

A​t times a bit hard to follow but nevertheless great course to help you understand how to manage and create optimal portfolios and manage the risks accordingly

By Shafiqul I

Mar 14, 2018

The great Modern Portfolio Theory! If you are into portfolio investment, this course is a must for you. You can learn how to get a lunch almost free...

By KOUAME K J

Aug 25, 2016

Wonderful and informative course that help improve skills for a better career either in an organization or institution or entrerprise or as free lance.

By Andrea d M

Mar 16, 2018

Check English subs! They mismatch the dialogues many times. And please, no more lectures by Dr Inex Chaieb: I got really tedious at listen to her.

By Ahmed A

Apr 6, 2019

Very well structured, great lecturers with a good pace and way of explaining. Amazing guest speakers for a balance between practice and theory