Chevron Left
Back to Portfolio and Risk Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Portfolio and Risk Management by University of Geneva

4.7
1,075 ratings
169 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the theory underlying optimal portfolio construction, the different ways portfolios are actually built in practice and how to measure and manage the risk of such portfolios. You will start by studying how imperfect correlation between assets leads to diversified and optimal portfolios as well as the consequences in terms of asset pricing. Then, you will learn how to shape an investor's profile and build an adequate portfolio by combining strategic and tactical asset allocations. Finally, you will have a more in-depth look at risk: its different facets and the appropriate tools and techniques to measure it, manage it and hedge it. Key speakers from UBS, our corporate partner, will regularly add a practical perspective on these different topics as you progress through the course....

Top reviews

KS

Sep 10, 2016

Great! This course will help you learn how to make a proper portfolio which optimally matched to your risk&return preference and how to manage your portfolio's risk level with financial instruments.

WM

Sep 11, 2016

Thoroughly engaging presentation of a topic that was very much esoteric to me previously. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking for insight into portfolio and risk management.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 167 Reviews for Portfolio and Risk Management

By Niklas A

Mar 19, 2019

Basic, but well teached course.

By Trevor S

Oct 27, 2018

A useful module.

Some of the derivative detail is hard to remember and the more detailed risk measurement formula may benefit from a little more explanation.

By Swanand K

Aug 17, 2018

It would be helpful, if VaR concepts are explained more with practical / real life scenarios.

By Daniel T

Apr 01, 2018

Excellent course although I would suggest making the material in week 4 was a little less dense

By Gavesh Y

Sep 14, 2017

VaR and related topics could have been more elaborate.

By Fabio G

Oct 29, 2017

Very well course. Maybe some topics (eg. foreign currencies, derivatives) should be provided with additional material (exercises).

By Alistair

Aug 26, 2017

very good

By Jonathan M

Sep 10, 2017

Well delivered and covers the most relevant topics. More examples and applications would be useful

By Shankaranand M

Jun 12, 2016

Gives a very good overview of risk tracking for Portfolios, and includes an introduction to derivative products.

By Sebastien S

Jun 30, 2016

Thank you to all the professors and speakers for the knowledge

By Daniel B

Oct 07, 2016

The course was good and further founded my knowledge of investing as an individual investor. It had helpful practical insights on which macroeconomic parameters to look out for in particualr and how computing the major finance parameters when it comes to the number crunshing.

By binny

Oct 02, 2016

at times , it is hard to catch up with the ideas conveyed

but overall , a very relevant and important subject taught in a very sensible and easy way.

By Jaurès

Sep 29, 2016

Very interesting courses, with a good theory basis in portfolio manangement

By Karthik S

Sep 12, 2016

very good course. Thank you Coursera and my professors.

By Carlos J R F

Aug 21, 2017

Beautiful Course. It clarifies concepts and introduce new ones on options. I guess practice makes perfect, because some ideas and concepts fade too fast. Some professors are easier to follow than others. Translated text could improve. Some modules could use an uplift with users comments. This is my first course of the specialization, and I believe I will try to make the whole thing (that wasn´t my idea at first).

Thanks

By Tihomir B G

Nov 30, 2017

some more examples could have been very handy wrt to the VaR, Expected Shortfall lectures.

By Kunal P

Oct 02, 2017

Full of learning. A must do

By Elly M

May 04, 2018

Great course - wish there were more examples or exercises on the more technical, math-intensive topics like VaR and ES instead of just an extended explanation of the theory behind the formulas.

By Alexandros G

Jun 11, 2018

Overall good, the content was really useful and updated. However the performance of all of the professors was not at the same level.

By Weiyuan Z

Jul 17, 2016

Great course! Useful but a little boring...

By Niklas H D

Jun 09, 2018

Gut!

By John A T

Apr 20, 2017

This course was extremely hard but learning the concepts are worthwhile!

By Nikita P

Sep 30, 2017

Quite a good course to get an overview of investment. Nothing extraordinary, but still very informative and useful.

By Athuliya V S

Sep 29, 2017

Great

By vijay m k

Dec 26, 2017

Excellent Course with Fine Examples and fantastic narration.