Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
2,366 ratings
772 reviews

About the Course

In today’s world, mental illness and distress are common and these account for a significant burden of disability within our community. At the same time, there is a growing interest in understanding and enhancing positive mental health and wellbeing; particularly from developments in the fields of positive psychology and mental health promotion. Positive Psychiatry is a new term (Jeste et al 2016) that describes a dual approach to mental health, where we build strengths, supports and healthy lifestyles as well as treating illness and distress. In this course, we will explore different aspects of good mental health as well as provide an overview of the major kinds of mental disorders, their causes, treatments and how to seek help and support. The course will feature a large number of Australian experts in psychiatry, psychology and mental health research, and we will also hear from “lived experience experts”, people who have lived with mental illness, and share their personal stories of recovery. We take an evidence-based approach to a range of strategies that anyone can use to enhance their own mental health and that of others, from exercise and relaxation techniques through to the role of love, relationships and 'good' types of work. We cover topics from creativity and yoga through to psychiatric medications and psychotherapies....

Top reviews

PP
Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course specially in current scenario i.e. Covid 19 situation. This course helped me to understand not only my mental conditions but also my near and dear ones mental health and conditions.

JB
Feb 5, 2019

I learned what expected to learn from this course. I love the presenters and the manner of delivery. Resources abound too. I'm purchasing this course. I hope to meet you, guys in persons. Thank you.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 769 Reviews for Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health

By Yvette G

May 10, 2021

Very informative and enlightening. Well structured course with high quality information that is valuable to both individuals and to society. It would be great to see this course taught in high schools and as a mandatory component of education and health care professions.

By Erika E

Sep 29, 2020

A very helpful course that can be applied to all areas of your life. The information was well-balanced with professionals as well as people's lived experiences. The questionnaires, self-assessment tools and reflection papers proved to be very interesting and insightful.

By Lisa K M

Feb 16, 2019

I think this course represents a magnificent opportunity to keep updated about psychiatric and psychology last researches and tendencies.

It`s structured and organized by weeks and assessments, so it`s easy to complete.

Definitely a great opportunity to keep learning!

By Elena I

Apr 6, 2021

This type, of course, should be made available for all people around the world! I wish I had more insight into this in high school. Many friends and family members have mental health problems and this course gives you tools to help them and hope for the future.

By Claudia G

Apr 9, 2020

Great course. Very insightful and would be helpful to any person; in any profession and at any stage in their life. It helped me better understand myself and other people within my social and professional community. I'm very grateful I signed up for this course

By Ana P T G

Sep 4, 2020

Excelente curso, muy estimulante y de provecho, sobretodo si trabajas en área de la salud o convives con personas (o incluso tú mismo) que padecen de trastornos mentales, entiendes mejor no sólo la parte de la enfermedad, si no a las personas que las padecen.

By Diana E O M

Sep 30, 2020

Hay muchas alternativas para mejorar la salud mental. Me gustaron los testimonios. Encontré muchos temas muy importantes de saber y puedo decir que ya comencé a aplicar de manera personal algunas técnicas. Muchas gracias por este curso, estoy muy satisfecha.

By Sihara T D G

Jul 16, 2020

Since we all are human being we can not live alone by ourselves. We have to deal with different kind of persons with different kind of personalities. In my perspective this is one of better courses to follow to everyone who would like to explore new things.

By Daniela J

Feb 23, 2021

It was really interesting and informative for me. The knowledge from this course can be used in various fields, whether it is psychiatrists, psychologists, or in other areas - or in personal life. Thank you to the University of Sydney for this opportunity.

By Jo-Anne

Feb 21, 2021

This course was excellent in the way it was presented with short videos and just enough reading material. It gave a good overview of what is needed to ensure good mental health as well as an overview of some of the common and less common mental disorders.

By Angelo V V

Jun 2, 2020

I have no background at all when it comes to mental topics. This course enlightened me a loot about things i didn't know. I have a cousin who is mentally ill and now, I know better how to approach her because of Coursera. And for that, you have my thanks.

By Aissa S d M

Jul 4, 2020

Curso excelente! Sem dúvidas contribuiu muito para minha formação como estudante de medicina e interessada pela área da saúde mental. Obrigada por disponibilizarem conteúdos incríveis que permitem adotar uma nova perspetiva diante do sofrimento mental.

By Ponnu b

Jan 27, 2021

Thank you coursera for helping me to achieve my goal. It's a pleasure to be part of it. Looking forward to do more courses. This course truly help me to understand more about psychiatric disorders and importance of mental health. Once again thank you.

By Jacqueline M

Apr 26, 2020

I loved this course and I learned so much! This course helped me develop some better habits and I plan on incorpating much of what I have learned into my daily life. I love studying psychology and this course helped further my knowledge in this field.

By Natisha W

May 6, 2021

With this course I've learned so much valuable and useful information. This course will help me to identify any mental health disorders that my participants may suffer from. I truly enjoyed learning and I would highly recommend this course to people.

By Shivani S J

May 20, 2021

This course really helped me in refreshing my psychology knowledge and had gave me many techniques for self management and increasing social skills. Thank You for arranging this course and bringing it to us in a very smooth, own time paced manner.

By Kenneth C

Aug 16, 2020

Excellent all round immersion into psychiatry and mental health. This has reaffirmed my committment to transitioning from my current career into mental health in a social context. The most rewarding 4 weeks of a very strange 2020 by a long way!

By Rebecca C

Jul 25, 2020

This course was filled with a variety of interesting and beneficial information. It covers the basics and includes specifics as well! The reflection assignments were a great way to share and receive feedback while also learning! Highly recommend!

By Alya H

Jun 5, 2018

I think this course is very helpful for people to learn more about mental illness and how to deal with them in positive ways. This course does not only elaborate the ways, but also explain the building blocks of positive psychiatry. Thank you :)

By Ricardo E C

May 12, 2020

It is a challenging course with lots of material for further study, the assignments are not easy if you want to do them properly. the course gives you a lot of knowledge covering every aspect of mental health. very complete course. thank you :)

By Godwin U

Apr 13, 2019

Exceptionally designed course with instructional videos that are both rich and comprehensive, covering all the relevant areas of positive psychology, psychiatry, mental health; and how to support those suffering from mental health challenges.

By Angel J

Jun 2, 2020

It's been great how such a broad topic was broken down into these different topics. The progression on how to help yourself to identifying the different illnesses to help others as well was a good flow. Kudos to the people behind this one!

By Catherine B

Aug 17, 2020

Wonderful information for myself a parent of three teenagers, two of whom stuggling with Mental Health conditions. I came away with a very positive outlook for having learnt some very helpful information. Thank you to all the instructors.

By Keerthi S

Jun 18, 2020

i loved this course, basically i'm doing my Masters in Social Worker and like to special in psychiatry and mental health and this course helped me to know more about. mental health and to know more about positive psychiatry.. thank you...

By Gargie P

Jun 7, 2020

i had a great time participating in this course and it has allowed me to gain a lot of insight about my daily routine. as a result, i have made significant changes in order to lead a more positive lifestyle and work more on my well-being.