Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
2,233 ratings
734 reviews

About the Course

In today’s world, mental illness and distress are common and these account for a significant burden of disability within our community. At the same time, there is a growing interest in understanding and enhancing positive mental health and wellbeing; particularly from developments in the fields of positive psychology and mental health promotion. Positive Psychiatry is a new term (Jeste et al 2016) that describes a dual approach to mental health, where we build strengths, supports and healthy lifestyles as well as treating illness and distress. In this course, we will explore different aspects of good mental health as well as provide an overview of the major kinds of mental disorders, their causes, treatments and how to seek help and support. The course will feature a large number of Australian experts in psychiatry, psychology and mental health research, and we will also hear from “lived experience experts”, people who have lived with mental illness, and share their personal stories of recovery. We take an evidence-based approach to a range of strategies that anyone can use to enhance their own mental health and that of others, from exercise and relaxation techniques through to the role of love, relationships and 'good' types of work. We cover topics from creativity and yoga through to psychiatric medications and psychotherapies....

Top reviews

PP
Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course specially in current scenario i.e. Covid 19 situation. This course helped me to understand not only my mental conditions but also my near and dear ones mental health and conditions.

JB
Feb 5, 2019

I learned what expected to learn from this course. I love the presenters and the manner of delivery. Resources abound too. I'm purchasing this course. I hope to meet you, guys in persons. Thank you.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 733 Reviews for Positive Psychiatry and Mental Health

By S S

Aug 22, 2020

I felt like this course was an incredibly useful tool for beginners who have no basic knowledge of mental health issues!

By Erica C

Apr 15, 2018

Indept and a wonderful base toward undertanding basic concepts integral to holistic functions at various stages in life.

By Tessa S

Mar 22, 2021

For me some information wasn't very new and I wished it would go a little bit deeper into it but it was a good course!

By harshvardhan p

Mar 6, 2021

The course helps understanding mental health,different kind of mental illness and different recovery techniques.

By Annabel G

Nov 15, 2020

Great course, insightful and holistic however was intense and would be better if spread across 7-10 weeks.

By Macy T

Apr 22, 2020

I knew some of the course prior, and it was pretty simple, but it was still really educational and fun!

By Daniela P F

Sep 18, 2020

Tiene buenos recursos, buenos expositores, sólo no estoy de acuerdo con ser evaluada con resúmenes.

By Tofunmi O

May 1, 2020

Really informative course that gives practical tips on how to improve your mental health

By SARBAGAYA P B ( i C

Aug 24, 2020

Best Course to know about mental health and how to be positive in every aspect of life.

By Alvin L

Oct 14, 2019

The course is easy to understand and the assignments are not too difficult to complete.

By Arahan S D

Jun 17, 2020

First i think it's difficult but experts made it easy to understand, thanks to You.

By PRATIBHA r

Jun 30, 2020

very well designed course,will be helpful to balance you and people around you

By Ann N

Apr 11, 2021

This was a very interesting and informative course. I have learnt a lot.

By Sailesh S

Jun 22, 2019

This course really change my ability to make decision and my thinking .

By Roberto A G L

Sep 20, 2020

Very helpful to know the basics of mental illness and mental health.

By Rob A

May 21, 2020

Excellent course with a good range of presenters and case studies

By Kate B

Apr 29, 2020

Very informative and an excellent introduction to the subject.

By Diana S J

Aug 22, 2020

Me gustaria que te dieran un certificado por tomar el cuerso

By Ricardo S C P

Sep 20, 2020

Some link are missed or dont show the file, article or page

By Malak G

Nov 5, 2020

excellent course..i learned exactly what i've expected

By Sonal N

Apr 1, 2021

A comprehensive course covering a range of topics.

By Memoona F

Apr 19, 2020

it was really informative and nice experience. :)