Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,942 ratings

About the Course

Positive interventions are one of the building blocks for the application of positive psychology in our day-to-day lives. In this course taught by Dr. James Pawelski, we explore positive interventions through theory, research and practice. We provide learners the basic tools for using and measuring positive psychology in professional or personal contexts. Suggested prerequisite: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science....

Top reviews

LX

Apr 16, 2020

A comprehensive introductory view of validated positive interventions in positive psychology, adopting a hands-on approach in assignments to allow all participants to engage in the practices timely.

SS

Mar 28, 2021

AMAZING. I love Dr. Pawelski! The way he teaches is extremely easy to understand by using examples. This course itself was also entertaining and inspirational. It can definitely apply to real life.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 537 Reviews for Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions

By Lydia O

May 30, 2018

A great follow-up to the first course in this certificate, with equally rich information and compelling data. The course is engaging and developed to a high standard.

By Jeroen U

Feb 17, 2020

A good follow-up on the first course in this specialization. I liked the fact that we got a lot of home work assignments, as it really helped in anchoring those things which were taught.

By Jos D A

May 7, 2017

This course was fantastic. I am completely in awe of Positive Psychology and I am so full of gratitude for the opportunity to access to this information via Coursera.

By José F M

Jul 6, 2017

I think this the course has been great to me because currently I'm in a time of important changes and the course helped me to focus attention on the important things in my life: to be more aware of the things that I really care. I want to recall that thanks this course I have made many reflections and personal work that's going to be very useful for me.

I will continue with the learning and promotion of my wellbeing by doing the rest of Foundations of Positive Psychology courses, and applying the techniques and knowledge in the personal and professional plan that I'm working on, and of course savouring my accomplishments!

Finally, I'd like to point out that I think this course helped me to feel better and to strengthen confidence in myself and what I can do.

By Cendrine E

Nov 28, 2019

Excellent course! Very interesting, rich, and well-constructed. J. Pawelski is clear, simple, and uses a lot of relevant metaphors.

Just few things: find solutions to improve students participation and sharing; add some books and articles to read (can be optional); remove the automatic return to the line in the videos transcriptions.

Thanks a lot!

By Xavier L

Apr 17, 2020

A comprehensive introductory view of validated positive interventions in positive psychology, adopting a hands-on approach in assignments to allow all participants to engage in the practices timely.

By SH

Mar 29, 2021

AMAZING. I love Dr. Pawelski! The way he teaches is extremely easy to understand by using examples. This course itself was also entertaining and inspirational. It can definitely apply to real life.

By Michiko K

Sep 7, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed this course. I can use all I have learned in my personal life as well as in my profession. I particularly enjoyed learning about the goal-setting frameworks.

By Aruna J P

Jan 11, 2019

I am able to apply the learning at both work and life

By Marc G

Sep 15, 2017

This course is superb! Very practical, extremely clear in its layout, very enjoyable overall. The topics explored are very relevant and I was happy that the course is very organized, with 1 week = 1 topic. Seligman's first course was (slightly) harder to follow. Perhaps I would have liked to see a bit more extended, scientific readings of actual scientific findings. This may just be me, but I feel that I don't go deep enough by just watching the lectures and I'd like some article to go with each lecture and delve deeper into that week's topic. Well done, instructors!

By Eric L B

Mar 18, 2019

This is a very good course. I enjoyed it a lot but I would like a little bit more on how to actually apply applications to not just myself but to others. I guess this is a taster and as a clinician I should look at more advanced courses.

By Wilma M - P

Jul 29, 2018

The course is so engaging, profound and realistic that it has always reminded me the importance of the basics in life, to focus on what really matters most to me and to redirect more of my attention into something that brings me and those dear to me a positive emotion. Dr. James Pawelski did a great job in this course! His thought - provoking inputs and wisdom just come out naturally and appear innate in him. Like Dr. Seligman, his countenance exudes so much positivity! Thank you Dr. Pawelski for making this course meaningful and substantial

By Mari A

Dec 12, 2018

Intervención y aplicación de técnicas de psicología positiva basado en evidencia. Me gustaría que sea en español sin embargo me ha brindado un gran beneficio en conocimientos que me forman para servir eficientemente en todos los aspectos de mi vida profesional, familiar, social.

By Jigisha S

Jul 19, 2019

Excellent course. It builds up in the first basic course. Besides theoretical understanding the course provides practical tips which are useful in ones own life as well as in guiding others.

By Evelisa Q

Jan 14, 2019

I love it! Thank you James, and everybody that made this course possible. I has given very valuable assets to my career and to my life. Hope to coincide in soon!

By Antonio S V

Jan 2, 2019

Experiencia de valor incalculable

Si estas buscando, encontrarás

Si esta explorando, te sorprenderás

Un proceso para disfrutar

Gracias, James Pawelski

By Hajra A

Jan 20, 2019

I liked every part of it, the way it was explained and guided to carry out exercises is really commendable

By Jianhua H

Oct 17, 2017

It is good course with certain level of exercise which helps a lot.

It shall be better if more reading material can be recommended, and more guests can be invited.

Some key concepts can be explained in more details although I know this is a course of introduction level.

By Kathy P

May 31, 2019

The information in this course seemed vague, repetitive, and poorly organized. Its focus was more on self-help than academic content. Many interesting ideas were introduced at the very end of the course, but they were quickly touched upon without enough information given to fully grasp the ideas. I considered not completing the specialization after taking this course, but the syllabus for the next one looks promising, so I will give it a try.

By Cesar F

Mar 2, 2020

The subject matter is really interesting but the way is transmitted do not help me progressmon the concepts more than if I just would be reading a book. Sometimes even less. .

I was and I am really interested but I was expecting much more in respect of training techniques

By Ketevan K

Mar 27, 2023

The course was interesting, I learned what is a positive intervention, I am pleased that there was once told about data science because I am going thought the pass of data science. Worked on 3 blessing experience and made PANAS test, I explore that positive emotions are hard to measure and when psychologist researched negative emotions they explore phenomena of specific action tendencies , those emotions have a high survival value while positive emotions don't necessary lead to specific actions and don't have a survival value and legitimacy there was a question does that mean that it is unimportant ? Then we explore broaden and build theory of positive emotions and learned that positive emotions are not that much narrow as negative and they are allowing us to be more creative, also explored Barbara Fredrickson 10 positive emotions (Joy, gratitude, surenity, interest, hope, pride, amusement, inspiration and love ) , we learned that it is important to cultivate positive emotions and learned about "Green" and "Red" cape and how they both are important for well-being. during the course was sheared many interesting books in the field of positive psichology. We Explore " Fred Brayang & Joseph verofs "Savioring" and its benefits . Worked on charapteristing strengh from our perspective and from scientisti

By Florinda d O F

Apr 6, 2022

Este curso foi maravilhoso. Trouxe-me muito mais conhecimento sobre a Psicologia Positiva.

Foi um curso que eu considero de alto nível, com ensinamento de inúmeras intervenções que pude aplicar em mim mesma, com familiartes e amigos. Consegui através do curso fazer novas reflexões e ter novos insigths a cada semana através das lições, saboreando cada etapa principalmente os pontos fortes, as metas á serem alcançadas tornando-as mais eficázes, focadas e objetivas em minha vida. Percebi como identificar minhas metas que foram importantes para meu bem estar expandindo meus conhecimentos.

Aprendi a melhor meus objetivos com otimismo, com foco maior aumentando minha criatividade e meu pensamento exploratório, utilizando a capa reversível . As intervenções positivas são mais realistas me ajudaram a ver o lado verde da capa com mais frequência e um enorme florescimento.

Vou continuar aprendendo com a contuidade do curso. Sou muito grata.

By Sakshi A

Aug 9, 2022

This course is great, and I must recommend it to everyone!

1. The Course Structure - I personally loved the interactive course structure as it gave more time for reflection. The writing assignments helped me to apply the class discussions in life and also created a conversation with my friends and family.

2. The Course Resources - The course external resources like StrengthsFinder 2.0 and HopeScale helped me to gain perspective and develop a stronger sense of self. I could see my premonitions about myself being reaffirmed or reasoned with.

3. The Goal Setting Final Activtiy - This perhaps was the most important take away for me from this entire activtiy. I really loved taking away something concerete from this course like my goals and have a better ubderstanding how to apporach them. Now, I do not only have goals, but i have the proper tools to understand how to achieve them.

By Carina Z

Sep 13, 2021

What a wonderful course! I will keep moving forward in life what the positive interventions I've learned here! My husband (He did not take this course) bought 2 books: Happy Together by Suzann Pileggi Pawelski and James Pawelski, as soon as I mentioned to him that we do not have to have lots of issues and struggles in our marriage to read this book, I told him that this book might help us to build strong foundations in our marriage, to help us understand our relationship a little bit more and then he surprised me with this. We decided to read the book at the same time, meaning we go to an area of the house and read 1 chapter, so we can discuss it as we go, instead doing it in separate ways. My first language is not English, so it helps me also to understand common American expressions. Thank you Suzann and James P.

By Karla L V G

Mar 17, 2021

I loved this course, I enjoyed watching all the videos and doing the assignments that always helped me in my day to day. This course have helped me to start applying positive interventions in my life, to get to know myself better and thus help others. Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions has influenced me so deeply that I continue to learn about it and even study a degree about it. I am very grateful to James because his lectures have inspired me so much and I began to love positive psychology also I appreciate James' course variety to talked about topics that I really needed to learn and practice. I am very grateful to The University of Pennsylvania for offering this well focused course.

Thank you so much. It's an excellent course to take!!