Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science by University of Pennsylvania

4.9
stars
4,546 ratings
1,621 reviews

About the Course

Dr. Martin E.P. Seligman—renowned worldwide as the “father of Positive Psychology”—has led visionary leaps in the scientific research, empirical data and personal understandings of human flourishing. This course explores the past, present and future of positive psychology as a journey through the key scientific leaps led by Dr. Seligman and his colleagues at the University of Pennsylvania's Positive Psychology Center and Master of Applied Positive Psychology program. There are no prerequisites....

Top reviews

MK
Jun 16, 2020

A perfect course for aspirant Positive Psychologist. This course change the way I perceive the challenges of life. Learning the Theory of PERMA is very fascinating and beneficial for happy well-being!

JK
May 5, 2021

This is not a course for educational purposes only. This course will change the way you look at yourself and your relationship with society forever. Take it, and encourage your friends to do the same.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,611 Reviews for Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

By Patricia S

Mar 29, 2019

Excellent information in the groundbreaking field of Positive Psychology. The videos are incredibly informative and I highly encourage to participate in all of the exercises to help get the most from this course. Let this be the stepping stone in your journey into Positive Psychology, Health, and Education.

By Stacy K

Jul 2, 2020

The Positive Psychology course introduced concepts of Positive Psychology's impact on education, resilience, journalism, health, and theology. The areas of Positive Education and Resilience were the most interesting to me. I am interested in applying these practices with my grandchildren and young people.

By JoAnn T

Nov 2, 2017

Excellent course! The lectures are interesting, with multiple speakers. The articles helped with understanding the bigger picture of the subject material, while the quizzes were useful to pinpoint what I had absorbed. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to know more about Positive Psychology.

By Kimberly K

Jan 3, 2021

This was a fantastic course. I loved the feel of sitting in a lecture hall with Marty Seligman. The knowledge checks were useful for recall along the way. I appreciated hearing the perspectives of the graduate students who are studying related topics. And I thought the "take home assignments" were useful.

By Chris L W K

Mar 18, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course conducted by Dr. Martin Seligman. The course lessons and materials were easy to understand and assimilate in order to apply them in our daily lives and monitor our state of Well-being. I am greatly encouraged and motivated to complete the four remaining modules. Thank you.

By Dila W S

Jun 9, 2020

The course is very easy to understand, and the best thing is the exercises are given to the participants so that they can apply them in real life. I hope I can study Positive Psychology at the University of Pennsylvania in the near future and learn directly from Prof. Seligman and the other instructors.

By Shilin L

Sep 25, 2020

This is such a well-designed overview course to help me for the first time understand what Positive Psychology entails as a academic field. Moreover, I started to explore more tools and resources to carry my study. Hearing directly from Prof. Seligman in a virtual setting is such a pleasant experience.

By Vince T

Mar 19, 2018

Wonderful overview of the current state of the science of Positive Psychology. The work has advanced sharply since Seligman's first couple of books on the topic, and this course covers a high-level overview of all aspects of the science and applications.

Can't wait to move on to the next in the series.

By Tofail A

Jun 18, 2019

Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science: It will be very helpful for all of us. But especially those who are working in field of of MHPSS they will get a concrete knowledge of positive psychology for sure. I am doing this course with full of hope. You can get this opportunity .

By Tierney B

Jul 13, 2020

This is a thorough overview and a great introduction into the world of Positive Psychology, the intervention, and some of the areas of study! Learning from those currently in the field helping to shape it into the best that it can be is inspiring. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Highly recommended for all!

By Nora S

Dec 29, 2019

What an amazing course! Mesmerising, eye-opening, life changing. Can highly recommend for anyone. The nuggets of information is relevant for becoming a better partner, better parent, better co-worker, better founder, better politician, better neighbour, better human citizen. Well-done Martin & team.

By Anna Y

Jul 25, 2018

This course in such a short time provides a huge amount of knowledge and information. It's not just theory but a lot of techniques and exercises that you can apply in your life. I'm very grateful to the whole team and Prof. Martin Seligman especially for the huge work they've done. It's incredible!

By Angela E

Aug 4, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the diversity of perspectives on this topic, as well as the abundant incorporation of research results. Also appreciated hearing from a variety of people. I will be internalizing and practicing what I have learned with a plan to move forward in taking the next course. Thank you.

By Denise W

Sep 1, 2021

In taking this course I was surprised at how much data is being collected on how to achieve well-being. It is much more of a scientific field than I realized. The course was easy to understand and made me think of ways to apply it to help myself and others live a life that will serve them better.

By Ronan C S

Feb 16, 2019

This is an excellent over view of the foundations and pillars of Positive Psychology.

The videos are short and engaging and there is plenty of supporting information to take away for further reference. In addition there are examples of some of the most recent ground breaking research material.

By Lingfei S

May 24, 2018

It is a great course. Dr. Seligman started from his own personal experience and offered us a full picture about how he was guided to the theory of positive psychology. From the learned helplessness to the notion of positive psychology, it is helpful to understand the initial ideal of his theory.

By Sharon D

May 5, 2017

I recently read Martin Seligman's book, Learned Optimism, and Flourish (both fantastic)! This course reinforced many of the concepts in the book with many additional anecdotes and details. The information was both relevant and useful - can't wait for the rest of the classes in this certification!

By Tanvi A

May 10, 2020

This course was amazing. I have learnt so much from this. This course not only gives you insight into positive psychology, but also helps you grow as a person. Martin Seligman is a wonderful teacher and has really taken alot of time and consideration to make this course interesting and fruitful.

By Rebecca W

May 2, 2020

Fantastic introduction to positive psychology. I took this during Covid-19 while in isolation and I found it useful on two points. 1. For allowing me to take stock of the good going on around me in the chaos. 2. Motivating my coaching career and helping to boost my enthusiasm again in this area.

By Violeta L

Jun 10, 2020

A truly uplifting and inspiring course which encourages you to explore further into this amazing field of Positive Psychology. It excites you to learn more, improve your knowledge and your understanding but also your practice of well-being and flourishing, of yourself and the world you live in.

By Priya S

Sep 20, 2019

excellent course, I feel this is the best way to get to know about positive psychology. Certain courses when you complete you tend to forget after it gets over, but this certainly doesn't. It keeps you engaged throughout and even after the course gets over the lessons become part of your life.

By Susan M

Jul 23, 2018

Great course. Felt I learned enough to help me understand something about this field and the direction it's going in. It also gave me some wonderfully useful tools for improving my own life. Well worth it - felt like I learned from the very best - the one and only Martin Seligman! Thank you.

By Hardik J

Mar 17, 2021

A course that every individual should do to understand how their thought process can be molded for the betterment.

Martin Seligman is no less than a magician. Thank you, Coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful learning journey.

By Rye

May 4, 2020

I have learned a lot from the founder of Positive Psychology himself Marty Seligman from the PERMA framework of wellbeing to the evolution of Positive Psychology from Past, Present and Future applications to the world. Keep up the good work and more power to the team who put up this course.

By A. S

Apr 2, 2020

I absolutely LOVED this course!!! It was so inspiring at all levels, so enlightening. It was a pleasure to listen to all the presenters. I have never had a course before in which I just never wanted to stop listening. Thank you so much for this big gift you have given to us and to the world!